We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Losing its' way” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bathampton Mill

Bathampton Mill
Mill Lane, Bath, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #282 of 459 Restaurants in Bath
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Losing its' way”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Been going here for 104 weeks exactly. At leat twice monthly. New menu is awful. Sharing platter, belge frittes,pizzas, seafood ravioli like meal, loads of other favourites all gone. I drive 40 miles (80) for this wonderful venue. Claim they have a central body dictating menu but bristol's botanist is different. Staff admitted menu was reduced badly. My roast was cold- clearl prepared whilst they ran out of ingredients for partners pizza. By 1500 hardly any roast options left yet advertise a 3 joint dinner!!! 104 weeks, wont be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    90
    72
    50
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nothing else counts best getting it right fist time!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile


This was our choice to go having read the others on tripadvisor we should have taken stock!
The services team was good but that was it!
The food poor !
We were told it was a new menu and had high expectations for our chateaux briand. The fanfare from the staff and the presentation great buy that's where it stopped!
It was cold and tasteless! !!
When asked at the end of the meal and we explained they did apologise and thanked us for our comments and said they could work on getting it right next time as the chef had only prepared this once before!
So thanks for taking our money and we can reassure them there won't be a next time!
No one should be guinea pigs it should be right first time for any customer!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“a bit posh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

we took a boat trip and was dropped off here. the staff r young and quite rude and drinks r very expensive didnt eat as it was 2 expensive decor was awful wont go there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Sunday Roast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We were at a loose end on Sunday for the first time in months and decided last minute to have Sunday lunch out.

Passed this location many times and decided to give them a try. We were welcomed and seated in minutes.

Great location; roomy interior, friendly staff and a good Sunday roast.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
251 helpful votes 251 helpful votes
“Superb setting, lovely interior, passable real ale”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Just a little way down the road from St Nicholas Church and the vastly deteriorated George pub is the Bathampton Mill. It has all the ingredients for a perfect pub - a lovely vista overlooking the River Avon; a garden for the kids to play in and a very tasteful and large interior where you can eat and drink - lots of wood and exposed stone - you get the picture...

One slight dissapointment was lack of the range of beers - the ubiquitous Doom Bar that is no longer brewed independently by the once excellent Sharps - you can tell that Coors have got their claws in as it is no more than average these days.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bathampton Mill also viewed

Winterbourne, Gloucestershire
 

Been to Bathampton Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bathampton Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.