We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Roast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bathampton Mill

Bathampton Mill
Mill Lane, Bath, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #281 of 459 Restaurants in Bath
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Bristol
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Sunday Roast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We were at a loose end on Sunday for the first time in months and decided last minute to have Sunday lunch out.

Passed this location many times and decided to give them a try. We were welcomed and seated in minutes.

Great location; roomy interior, friendly staff and a good Sunday roast.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    91
    72
    50
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
251 helpful votes 251 helpful votes
“Superb setting, lovely interior, passable real ale”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Just a little way down the road from St Nicholas Church and the vastly deteriorated George pub is the Bathampton Mill. It has all the ingredients for a perfect pub - a lovely vista overlooking the River Avon; a garden for the kids to play in and a very tasteful and large interior where you can eat and drink - lots of wood and exposed stone - you get the picture...

One slight dissapointment was lack of the range of beers - the ubiquitous Doom Bar that is no longer brewed independently by the once excellent Sharps - you can tell that Coors have got their claws in as it is no more than average these days.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Went there for dinner and a few drinks fantastic location and amazing food 10 out of 10, we would recommend this place to any one!!!!!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food chilled atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

I have just got back after a very chilled and relaxed meal hear friendly staff and amazing food . I recommend the spit roast chicken very filling and tasty .highly recommended going there

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent pub/restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stopped here today on our way to drop our son off at Bath university and were delighted. This is a very tastefully decorated pub with a variety of different seating areas. We went into the main bar and were very pleasantly surprised by the delightful decor. We sat in one of the seating areas opposite the bar which consisted of a sofa and two armchairs and a lovely wooden table. The menu had a wide variety of meals all of which sounded inviting with a variety of price ranges and we all felt there were many dishes that we would like to try. My husband and son opted for gamon, egg and frites and I had the lasagne with slow cooked pork. We were able to open a tab at the bar and the bar staff were very friendly. We were impressed with the service and the speed in which our meals were served. The food was delicious, my husband and son said it was the best gammon they've ever tasted and they said the chips were crispy and very tasty, the eggs were perfectly cooked with runny yolks. My lasagne was really good, I've never heard of lasagne with pork but it was exceptionally good and the slowed cooked pork really did melt in the mouth. The tomato sauce which accompanied the lasagne was also really excellent. The three meals with 3 drinks was £40 which was very good value for the quality of the food. We will certainly visit again we come back to see our son.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bathampton Mill also viewed

Winterbourne, Gloucestershire
 

Been to Bathampton Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bathampton Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.