We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Circus Cafe & Restaurant

Circus Cafe & Restaurant
34 Brock Street, Bath BA1 2LN, England
+44 1225 466020
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 436 restaurants in Bath
Price range: $33 - $39
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Busy, family-run restaurant; serving seasonal, carefully sourced, freshly cooked food; honest prices; charming staff; well-chosen wines; located in a Georgian house in Bath's most beautiful setting between The Circus and The Royal Crescent. Bookings essential.
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very pleasant experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

My wife and I had been given a meal at this restaurant as a present by a colleague who rated this restaurant highly. We were warmly greeted and led to our table on the lower floor which is warmly decorated and comfortable. You always know you are in for a good experience when you see that the glasses on the table are sparkling clean. We had three courses all of them delicious and generous in proportion. My wife particularly enjoyed her artichoke and fig starter and Sea Bream. My John Dory on curried lentils was also fantastic. The lovely Gabrielle, our waitress, served us with effortless grace, which added to an already lovely evening.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eatyourgreens, Owner at Circus Cafe & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for your review and kind words. I will pass the message on to Gabi that she added to your pleasant experience! Do come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    559
    163
    40
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Never fails to delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

I love this place. The team consistently deliver regardless of whether you visit for lunch, dinner or just pop in for a coffee. Every morsel of food is delicious and cooked beautifully. As a vegetarian, I am always confident there will be an unusual and creative choice. The staff are unfailingly friendly, polite and attentive. Overall, it's a great pleasure to dine here. Just remember to book in advance!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eatyourgreens, Owner at Circus Cafe & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you so very much for your review. You are obviously a regular at the restaurant so thank you again for supporting us. We couldn't do what we do without our regular guests and it is vital to us to get their feedback and to tell us what we are doing right and wrong. Do keep coming and we are thrilled that you are delighted so far.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Organised and delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is tucked away amongst some beautiful buildings. We hadn't booked but the guy running the door found us a table and got us menus straight away. The wine was good, food yummy and service attentive.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eatyourgreens, Owner at Circus Cafe & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your succinct and kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent, warm and friendly restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I picked this restaurant for my birthday meal based on trip advisor and other online reviews. A few days before it was recommended in The Times so I was optimisitc. The food was excellent; interesting and delicious. Service was warm and friendly. Seemed to be a mix of locals and tourists. Shame I don't live in the area or i would be going back very soon,

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eatyourgreens, Owner at Circus Cafe & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. Do come again when you are next in Bath.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This restaurant is situated just off the the Circus with its stunning plane trees – one of the joys of the public places in this beautiful stone city. The restaurant itself is welcoming, with friendly staff. From a menu that clearly reflected the onset of winter we chose a terrific Jerusalem artichoke salad with grilled figs in a walnut pesto dressing. For the main course, one of us had sea bass as the fish of the day (okay) ; the other had squash roasted with tomatoes, smoked garlic and chestnuts. Although delicious this was perhaps too much of a squash-fest. The lime sorbet to finish verged on the mouth-puckering.
The cooking has a home-made feel to it rather than being chef-y. If TripAdvisor had a category beyond average and below very good I would have chosen it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eatyourgreens, Owner at Circus Cafe & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. I've noted your critical points and we do try to act on them swiftly. As we change the menu monthly, it sometimes takes a few days to polish the new dishes we've introduced to achieve the best result we can in the time we have to prepare them and I think you were absolutely right to point out that the sorbet was too sharp! Thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Circus Cafe & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Circus Cafe & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Circus Cafe & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.