We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Circus Cafe & Restaurant

Circus Cafe & Restaurant
34 Brock Street, Bath BA1 2LN, England
+44 1225 466020
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 465 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $27 - $35
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Small, busy, much admired, family-run restaurant; serving seasonal, locally sourced, freshly cooked food; charming and welcoming staff; sensible and honest prices. Set in a fine Georgian house in Bath's most beautiful position - between The Circus and The Royal Crescent. Voted number 4 in the United Kingdom by The Times "Twenty secret restaurants that foodies love". Bookings advised.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

visited this restaurant on a recent trip to bath. it is in a lovely area of the city but off the main drag. the menu is not extensive, but this is a positive as all the food is obviously really fresh and of an excellent standard. the prices are good for the quality of food - i had an excellent monkfish dish and my partners fillet of beef was perfect. my only small niggle is having to pay extra for veg, but that seems quite common these days. Make sure you book ahead to get a table upstairs.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    731
    203
    49
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Top class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We visited for a birthday meal for my wife. Between us we had nettle soup and rabbit to start, guinea fowl and steak for mains and rhubarb trifle and chocolate mousse for dessert. We cannot criticise a single thing about the restaurant; the staff were friendly but not overbearing, the restaurant itself is classy but not pretentious and (most importantly) the food was fabulous. As an added bonus, the prices were really reasonable too.

If in Bath again, we will definitely be back at this restaurant.........

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch with Mum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Had Saturday lunch with 89 yr old Mum - her treat! And it was a treat. I really enjoyed the kedgeree especially as the rice was separated so more like smoked fish and prawn curry. Great Belgium beer served with lemon. I wanted to order a portion of chips each but charming waitress advised us it might be too much......she was right. Mum demolished the egg salad. Lovely food, well presented, excellent staff - all good!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Another lovely meal...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We have visited The Circus Cafe 5 or 6 times. What we love is the changing menu with a seasonal and local twist. Outstanding dishes were the crab starter and the lamb main and the beef is always excellent. Will return when we can.....

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Third visit to The Circus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Visited the Circus for a birthday dinner. Full marks to the efficient and friendly waitress who noticed the card on the table and asked if it was a birthday and did we want to keep it low key, which we did. Delicious lamb, lovely rhubarb trifle. Hoping to return for a fourth visit soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Circus Cafe & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Circus Cafe & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Circus Cafe & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.