We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb ambiance, great food and excellent value.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bathwick Boatman

The Bathwick Boatman
Forester Road | Bathwick, Bath BA2 6QE, England
01225 428844
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 436 restaurants in Bath
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb ambiance, great food and excellent value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my partner had a wonderful valentines meal at the boatman last night. From the welcome we received on arrival until our departure I can honestly say that this is one of the best restaurants I have ever been to. The food was excellent. Simple, well cooked and using fresh produce. Ben does not over complicate things and lets the ingredients speak for themselves. The ambience was brilliant, nice and relaxed, not overcrowded and we were not hurried at all. We had 2 courses each and shared a dessert and washed it down with two bottles of wine and the total bill was less than £80! Excellent value and we'll definitely be returning. Our only regret was that we could not pay our compliments to Ben before he left. Thank you Rosy and Ben for making our first valentines together a truly memorable one.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose36Bath, Owner at The Bathwick Boatman, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Pete, Happy and positive reviews like this, put massive smiles on all our faces! We are delighted you liked it so much - THANK YOU! Rosy and Ben and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    156
    31
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent venue, with attentive staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We used this restaurant for a family celebration (eleven of us) and we weren't disappointed. The service was attentive and courteous and nothing seemed too much trouble. The orders were executed promptly and the food was excellent. I always think that steak is a good method of judging a restaurant. It will always show how much care the chef takes in sourcing the meat and what care is taken in preparing and cooking it. Two of our party had steak and both said that it came cooked as requested and was tender and flavoursome. I guess we must have sample most of the items on the menu (there were six to seven items offered for each course). There were no complaints, only praise. Main dishes are vary up to about £15.00, with starters and desserts at £5.00 to £7.00. I felt this was reasonable considering what some country bistro pubs are now charging.

The wine list is varied and provides about ten different wines in red and white, with a couple of roses also on offer. If there is any adverse comment, it is that the wines seemed on the expensive side.

In summary, we had a great evening, were well looked after and everyone enjoyed themselves.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Is there a nicer place in Bath to have Sunday lunch? There is such a lovely relaxed atmosphere, great food, great value and exceptionally welcoming to all the family. A beautiful setting. And a car park! A winner all round.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Just fine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

On a cold winter night this is a waarm friendly venue. Pleasant staff and a varied menu. Good value and we will return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“A Lovely Evening Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

The Boatman sets high standards in service, quality of food and ambiance, so it is always a pleasure to visit and this time was no exception. The food was excellent and the house wine was good quality. The fish stew and the steaks were excellent and the 'puddings' finished off an excellent evening. I would say that the prices were in the medium range yet I left feeling that I had had value for money. In summer you can eat outside with lovely views of the River Avon.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bathwick Boatman also viewed

 

Been to The Bathwick Boatman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bathwick Boatman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.