We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place with friendly staff and delicious food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tilleys Bistro

Tilleys Bistro
3 North Parade Passage, Bath BA1 1NX, England
+44 1225 484200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 414 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $23 - $61
Cuisines: Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent place with friendly staff and delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Very cozy place with interesting meals and very friendly staff. Have been there second time and the waitress recongnised us) It was very nice! Recommend butternut soup, crepes a la Greque, rose wine from Chili) And desserts!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    736
    197
    44
    28
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perigueux, France
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Lived up to all its previous reviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

During a short break in Bath, we stumbled across this restaurant, right next door to Sally Lunns Bun Shop. I recalled the excellent reviews I had read on Tripadvisor, so we dived in there for lunch rather than Sally's next door and we were so glad we did.

The menu was the best of Anglo-French cuisine and excellent value for the lunchtime menu choices. I cannot praise the "Chocolate St Emilion" dessert enough! Sheer heaven - in fact it was so good I am hard pushed to recall what else we had in the two previous courses but I do know it was all excellent!

Accompanying wine was good and the French Maitre D was very welcoming and friendly (bit of a change from French restauranteurs in their own country!!) as was the waitress serving us.

Excellent - I urge you to go!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Food....Very Good Value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We were in Bath as part of our holiday. My fiancé had been previously and knew of Tilleys.

I had the soup of the day which was so good my fiancé emailed the chef and owner for the recipe and he very kindly supplied this.

We both opted for the whole dover sole which were fresh and well cooked. The deserts were good too and not over phasing.

Lovely friendly service. Great food.. many thanks.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Special occasion made special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We celebrated my dad's 70th birthday at Tilleys and we couldn't have chosen a better restaurant. The staff hid my dad's cake until the right moment at the end of the meal and they made us feel very welcome. The food was delicious - I even tried snails for the first time and loved them. I can heartily recommend Tilleys.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great place to eat in Bath”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Just got back from a three day break in Bath. We looked around during the break at the various eateries while walking around the city of bath and concentrated on those that were highly recommended. We also looked at the menu's as well.
On one night we settled on the Tivoli bistro based on its location( centre of bath's historic area) next to Sally Lunns and close the the bath's and Abbey.We also like the look of its menu with a great deal of choice. There was a lunch menu and an early evening menu for 2 or 3 courses between5pm and 7pm but as we wanted to eat later and on the a la carte with much more choice.
We were not disappointed the food was excellent and well cooked and the service matched the food not to slow not to quick. The wine list was good and because it was so good we managed three courses and coffee. The staff are very friendly and this is one establishment out of the three we ate at that I would choose again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tilleys Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Tilleys Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tilleys Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.