We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff were so friendly and helpful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seafoods Fish & Chips

Seafoods Fish & Chips
Kingsmead Square, Bath BA1 1EN, England
(01225) 465190
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #268 of 459 Restaurants in Bath
Cuisines: Seafood, British
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Staff were so friendly and helpful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Mayday bank holiday weekend, I arrived with my kids for a very late lunch, they didn't want the kids meal as they wanted classic fish and chips. The staff made them a meal to share and as I have an egg intolerance they were careful to check the batter ingredients and steamed a piece of fish with mine. Shame there was no allergen free batter in site though, as the chips were amazing and I'm sure the battered fish would have been, my 7 year old polished off a whole medium meal. Thankfully they gave my son an additional meal that had been made in error for another customer. Really pleasant experience and good location.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    25
    6
    22
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, Channel Islands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very over-rated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Fish ok chips pathetic.

I come from Glasgow and you could go into any old fish and chip shop there which would be much better: voted 5th best in SW?!

Try the "wee chippie doon the lane" in Glasgow and then comment.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southam, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We had the misfortune of stumbling on this place last week on a visit to Bath. Firstly, the staff seemed quite surly and impatient. Secondly, I know that the food is cooked to order but come on. A 20 minute wait for 3 portions of Fish & Chips!. Thirdly, having received said food the chips were just bits and the fish was absolutely swimming in grease. One of the top 5 in the south west? I wouldn't like to visit the establishments further down the list.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ian33Bath, Owner at Seafoods Fish & Chips, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
sorry you where not happy, but over the weekend we cooked over 2000 portions of fish and chips which was very busy. If you where not happy, all you have to do is talk to us so we can FIX IT. the only way the fish has a lot of grease on is if the fish has not drained as it comes out of the fryer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Seniors Special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Don't leave Bath without a visit to Seafoods for your Fish and Chips, which are the best in the West. Always a cheerful; greeting from the staff even when they are busy. the tables are cleared and cleaned quickly and the fish and chips are cooked to perfection. Lee and Angie deserve a special mention as nothing is ever too much trouble and their light hearted banter makes you feel very welcome. Gwen

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ian33Bath, Owner at Seafoods Fish & Chips, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
sorry you where not happy, but over the weekend we cooked over 2000 portions of fish and chips which was very busy. If you where not happy, all you have to do is talk to us so we can FIX IT. the only way the fish has a lot of grease on is if the fish has not drained as it comes out of the fryer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What amazing service ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

I vist bath once a month and I alwas go to the same fish and chip restaurant called seafoods. when I went in I was greeted with a lovely smile from a young lad" I think his name was will" his customer service stood out from the rest.

After I sat down at a table I was greated straighy away but I was asked if I needed a min. the place has such lovely food and I would tell all my collagues at work about it becuase you feel wanted to come and sit down with a bit of a laughing from the staff which is good

WEll DONE SEAFOODS

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ian33Bath, Owner at Seafoods Fish & Chips, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seafoods Fish & Chips also viewed

 

Been to Seafoods Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seafoods Fish & Chips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.