We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rajpoot Tandoori Indian Restaurant

Rajpoot Tandoori Indian Restaurant
4 Argyle Street, Bath BA2 4BA, England
+44 1225 466833
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #183 of 465 Restaurants in Bath
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: A Serial Award winning Restaurant with International reputation.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

When on holiday with my family, we never eat at the same restaurant twice. I can't say that anymore as we ate at Rajpoot two nights in a row it was that good! I can't give any higher recommendation!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    83
    53
    35
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evesham, UK
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Average food and slow service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This is the third time I have eaten at the Rajpoot - the first 15 years ago and the second last summer.
I was quite disappointed this time. The restaurant was reasonably busy but we had booked. They make you sit in the waiting area when you arrive and you are not shown to your table until you have ordered your food. So, even though our table was ready, we had to spend around 20 minutes in a too hot crowded waiting area sharing a table with complete strangers.
The food took a while to arrive. The quality was OK - not amazing but average. The service was slow, especially when we asked for the bill - in the end we gave up waiting and went to the desk to pay. And ANOTHER compulsory 10% service charge? What is it with restaurants in Bath? The service did not deserve a 10% tip. There seemed to be lots of staff members but I don't think we saw the same waiter twice.
They had some 'ambient' music playing in the background but it was so quiet I initially though I was listening to someone playing music through headphones, and once I had tuned into it was really distracting and hard to ignore.
It was a disappointment after the two previous visits to the Rajpoot, but I don't think I will eat there again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely food and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

I had a meal at Rajpoot last week and enjoyed it immensely. All fresh ingredients used which make all the difference. I am happy to recommend this restaurant. My only minor gripe was after we finished our meal we had to wait quite a while before we could get a waiter's attention for the bill. Food is lovely so you won't be disappointed.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fascinating layout, lovely meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

A single doorway leading to two flights of stairs (down!) might not seem like an auspicious start to an evening meal, but it is well worth it. Built into the basement, and spilt into several differently decorated eating areas, this will be a definite must on my next, and subsequent, visit to Bath.

The food was delicious, with courteous and attentive staff, making it a thoroughly enjoyable dining experience.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Better than the ranking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

I am surprised by the comments. Have visited Rajpoot on last two visits to Bath and both times have been really, really impressed with the food. really authentic tastes, excellent variety in the menu and great flavours. I can understand the comments on service as the restaurants home in the basement means there are a lot of separate rooms so some must get lost! We got great service though both times. I will be back next time I am in Bath!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rajpoot Tandoori Indian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rajpoot Tandoori Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rajpoot Tandoori Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.