We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks, Les & Lynsay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apple Tree, Bath

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Apple Tree, Bath
Save
You added Apple Tree, Bath to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   7 Pulteney Gardens, Bath BA2 4HG, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 FOR 2 - SPECIAL OFFER
Ranked #11 of 190 Bath B&B and Inns
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Thanks, Les & Lynsay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

Excellent location - a short, picturesque stroll from the city centre. This means the B&B has a relaxed, residential feel - not too 'touristy'. Nice and quiet in the evenings which means you can get a good night's sleep.
Les & Lynsay are the perfect hosts and nothing is too much bother. All tastes are catered for on the breakfast menu. As a vegetarian i can thoroughly recommend the creamy scrambled eggs!
My partner and i had such a nice stay in May that we're returning this November!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    31
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
71
221
39
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

My two daughters and I stayed at the Apple Tree after an international scouting camp in Windsor. The owners of the Apple Tree were wonderful hosts. They were friendly, helpful and their brekkies were amazingly yummy. We felt pampered and rejuvenated. They love their city of Bath and it shows. They even had advice on how to drive in England. Many thanks for a wonderful and memorable stay!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

We had a such a great time at the Apple Tree Guest House that we booked ourselves in for another stay six months later! Les and Lyndsay are so welcoming that you feel you are staying in a home-away-from-home. The service is great - from the moment your suitcases are carried up the stairs to the moment you are waving "Goodbye", you know that Les and Lyndsay will do everything they can to make your stay comfortable.
The rooms are smartly furnished and spotlessly clean, and the bed was extremely comfortable.
Apple Tree Guest House is about five minutes walk from the Abbey and the mainline station. This was particularly good for us, as we came by train. You are in the centre of Bath, but Apple Tree Guest House is situated in a quiet residential road, so you have the best of both worlds.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

This is now our third visit to Bath and every time we've stayed with Lez & Lynsay at their fab guest house. They really do make it feel like a home from home. The location couldn't be more perfect. It's literally 5 mins from the centre with all its bars and restaurants. We cannot recommend the guest house enough.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

Very convenient
Good rooms
Fantastic hosts
good breakfast
All in all, a lovely place to stay

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen Scotland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

Our welcome was very friendly. We were given a map and recommended places to eat and visit. When we were shown our room we were disappointed at how small it was. There was barely enough room to put our small suitcase. The bathroom was tiny and there was hardly room to sit down on the toilet!
However, there was a nice touch of having a chocolate bar left for us with tea and coffee making facilities.
The breakfast menu was brilliant - it's very rare to be offered salmon for breakfast. However, when it came, it was disappointing. My bacon had been cooked some time before it was served and it was hard and cold and was swimming in the water left over from my watery poached egg. My partner's scrambled eggs were very under cooked and soppy. However, the service was very attentive.
When the heating was off and the room was freezing, the hosts couldn't be more helpful. Overall, it was a good central guest house with hard working hosts.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
appletree0, Owner at Apple Tree, Bath, responded to this review, October 29, 2009
We appreciate you acknowledging how friendly, helpful, attentive and hard working we are at Apple Tree. We are totally committed to ensuring that every guest has the best possible stay. On the extremely rare occasion that a guest is unhappy with any aspect of their stay, we do everything in our power to immediately rectify the situation to everyone’s complete satisfaction.

We take any feedback very seriously and always make a point of checking at various points during a guest’s stay that everything is OK for them, and that they are happy. We asked these guests at numerous points during their 2 day stay with us, and during their 2 breakfasts, if they were happy with everything, and we always received a positive response. This included various chats as they were coming and going and a long talk as they checked out. Had any issues been raised at any of those times we would have dealt with them immediately, which we feel is fairer way to deal with concerns rather than finding out afterwards, through a website.

When they had been out for the Friday night, and contacted us on their return to the guest house, at 10.30pm at night, to say that they were feeling cold, we immediately responded by giving them an extra heater. We also explained to them that, while they had been out for that evening, some other guests had said that the house was too hot, because of the mild weather, and we had turned the heating down slightly to accommodate the other guests’ needs. When we checked with them in the morning they said that their room had been “nice and cosy” and certainly not “freezing” as described in the review. When we serviced the room that same morning we also noticed that they had turned their radiator off and had all the windows open, as the room was obviously too hot for them at that time, with the extra heating they had asked for.

On the 2 mornings they had breakfast with us we again asked them at numerous points if all was Ok for them, and no concerns were ever raised with us. Had any dissatisfaction with the eggs or bacon been voiced, we would have of course replaced them straight away. We pride ourselves on our excellent cooked breakfasts, and are always complimented on the high standards we consistently deliver. All breakfasts are cooked fresh and to order, and certainly not “cooked some time before”. It also clearly states on our menu that our smoked Scottish Salmon comes with “creamy scrambled eggs” and we add a little fresh cream as a luxury touch in our eggs. We have received many good comments about this, and how well this compliments the rich smoked salmon. Had these guests not wanted their eggs creamy, they only had to ask, and we would have made them with a less creamy consistency.

Finally, with regard to room sizes, we are ideally centrally located in a Victorian town house, right in the middle of Bath, which is a compact city, where space is at a considerable premium. Our rooms and their private en suite facilities are regularly checked by Visit England to ensure they meet the standards required of a Four Star guesthouse. We exceed those standards on every occasion, and are regularly praised for our high standards of excellence in our rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

Bottom Line: Everything most folks are looking for in a B&B... Les and Lynsay are wonderfully gracious hosts, convenient location, fairly priced, superb breakfast.

We booked AppleTree as night two of a ten-night trek through the UK. It was my wife, and daughter (16) and daughter (8). I booked based on the strength of their TripAdvisor report, as they were willing to add an extra bed to their family room to ensure we had four spots to lay our heads.

We had a great stay (and very much appreciated the Cadbury bars in the room, which provided a welcome treat days later when the kids had forgotten them... :o)

Perhaps the best thing I could say about the trip is that within 20 min of checking out, I got a call on my cell phone, which was Les letting me know that I had left a t-shirt and shorts in the room (providing fodder for playful ridicule from my family, but I digress...).
We were late for a tour, so I didn't stop to turn back. Instead, I took Les up on his offer, and he sent the clothes to our last stop in London, so they were waiting upon our arrival. I offered to pay for it, and he wouldn't take my money.

If we were fortunate enough to get the chance to go to Bath again, I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apple Tree, Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Tree, Bath

Address: 7 Pulteney Gardens, Bath BA2 4HG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 190 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Apple Tree, Bath 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apple Tree Bath. Ling welcomes you to her Victorian period home in the centre of Bath, a World Heritage City with Roman roots, medieval abbey, Georgian city and numerous historic sites. Located in the Cotswolds, the City is within easy reach of the beautiful villages and views of this Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. The Apple Tree is 10 minutes flat walk from the train station and 5 minute stroll to the city centre, and it offers complementary on-site or off-site permit parking in front of the house in a quiet residential location. All rooms have individual elegant interior themes where East and West meet with a fresh mix of English and Asian artwork, fresh cotton bedlinen and modern facilities. All our guests are welcomed in a tranquil, homely, comfortable and warm atmosphere with a friendly personal service and two lovely cats . We welcome children above 11 years of age. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Apple Tree Guest House Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apple Tree, Bath, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.