We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay in Bath” 5 of 5 stars
Review of One Three Nine Bath

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added One Three Nine Bath to your Saves list
One Three Nine Bath
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   139 Wells Road, Bath BA2 3AL, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3 FOR 2 OFFER!!!!
Ranked #3 of 190 Bath B&B and Inns
Wollongong
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay in Bath”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

As our stay in Bath was one of the last on our trip to Scotland and England, we had already experienced some wonderful B and B's, but this one topped them all! From the warm welcome from Mike (even though we arrived early), to the smart decor of the rooms, everything was first rate. Helpful advice on restaurants and walks, directions, email access...nothing was too much trouble. And the breakfasts! Mike and Rachel even offer daily specials, which were always delicious. Even though the B and B was full most of the time we were there, Mike always took time to chat and offer helpful advice,
Our double room was spacious and stylishly furnished, with a stunning view across Bath to the Abbey and the hills beyond.
One Three Nine's location on the Wells Road was in a quiet spot, extremely handy, with all of Bath's attractionst just a short walk down the hill, and (importantly for travellers without a car) a ten-minute stroll to the train and bus stations connecting Bath to London and Bristol.
When we return to Bath (staying longer next time!) we will have no hesitation in booking One Three Nine, and look forward to staying with Mike and Rachel again.

Room Tip: We had a room at the top with a great view over Bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,073
    53
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
105
759
11
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

What a lovely b & b - from the friendly welcome, to the large and comfortable room with an enormous bed, to the delicious breakfast, it was all delightful. 139 combined efficiency and informality in just the right mix. If you want to spend a couple of days in Bath, it makes the perfect base.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This B&B truly deserves its five star rating. It is a house full of character and as it is located on a hill, it has great views of Bath. The 139 is decorated with lots of care, love, and eye for detail. Nothing just serves the purpose, every little thing is there for guests to enjoy a great atmosphere. And you can certainly feel that: from the scented candles in the hallway to the DVD collection and breakfast in bed.
The owners are very nice people, very welcoming and they are always happy to help.
Breakfast is extremely delicious and offers a wide range of options. There is even a daily special and a bottle of cava if you want to spoil yourself.
The only little disappointment was that we heard quite a lot of the adjacent room/bathroom. When they decided to get up, we couldn't sleep anymore and found ourselves unvoluntarily listening in to their morning conversations. But I guess that's just what you have to expect in any hotel and really shouldn't keep you from choosing this excellent B&B. When we visit Bath again, we will surely stay at the 139 again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

139 bath is an amazing b&b, everything from start to finish was great. We booked 3 rooms for 6 of us for 2 nights. We had a lovely friendly welcome, loads of advise and information for our stay in bath.
The decor was lovely and up to date, all the rooms were different depending on price but were all spacious,comfortable, fresh and clean. Every detail has been thought of in your room from the molton brown products, magazines, tea and coffee to the dvd player and dvd rental library.
Two great nights sleep was followed by a gorgeous breakfast both mornings, and nothing is too much trouble for anyone that works here.
Would love to go back, easy to see why they are always booked up.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I booked a break for my boyfriend's birthday which is just before Christmas. We had vast amounts of snow and were very concerned about making it to Bath from London as the snow was still coming down as we were driving but we perservered and it was definitely worth it! The drive had been cleared of snow so we could park easily and we were greeted with warm mince pies, tea and mulled wine - perfect start!

We were given an intro to Bath and got some tips on restaurants and visiting the thermal spa before we went up to see our room.

The place is lovely and the bedroom and bathroom were lovely too - with beautiful views from our window.We spent the days out exploring the city and enjoyed two lovely evening meals out thanks to the recommendations but we also enjoyed the time we spent at one three nine. Breakfast was absolutely delicious, one of the best i've had and we took advantage of the DVDs available to borrow and watch in your room.

Overall, a really relaxing, friendly and beautiful place for a weekend break.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is a very smart B&B, we only stayed for 1 night but really enjoyed our short stay and would like to return. It's a steep walk from the Rail Station (I would recommend taking a cab if you have difficulty walking), but it was definitely worth it. Lovely staff and everything feels very luxurious, we had very comfy beds and a luxury shower room. I would definitely recommend staying here!

Room Tip: We stayed at the top of the house but the room was a very good size and didn't feel cramped - th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

You simply cannoy go wrong by booking One Three Nine. From the moment we arrived to leaving, we were truly spoilt. The decor is superb & the rooms spacious and luxurious. The beds are som comfortbale that I've decided I need a new one at home. The breakfast is amazing! Great location about 10 minutes from town and owners were able to help book restaurants (try sotto sotto!) for us. All in all a perfect 3 day weekend

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to One Three Nine Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Three Nine Bath

Address: 139 Wells Road, Bath BA2 3AL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 190 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — One Three Nine Bath 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious boutique B&B in an excellent location just 10 minutes walk from Bath City Centre. Chic modern interiors compliment this traditional Victorian House. The stunning bedrooms are all completely individually styled using contemporary English design. All rooms offer sumptuously comfortable beds by Hypnos, flat screen televisions with DVD player, air conditioning, complimentary tea & coffee and wireless internet connectivity throughout. Bathrooms are beautifully designed with warm toned tiles and luxurious fittings, power showers and Molton Brown products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your One Three Nine Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
139 Bath
One Three Nine Bath Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One Three Nine Bath, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.