We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid guest house” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hollies

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Hollies to your Saves list
The Hollies
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Hatfield Road, Bath BA22BD, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 190 Bath B&B and Inns
Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
1 review
“Splendid guest house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. Admittedly, the room (ours was the English Room) was small, but it was very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was luxurious. The house is wonderful, and very close to the city center. The hospitality of David and Joe is impressive, as is the breakfast they serve. We can highly recommend the Hollies to anyone visiting Bath

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    42
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
254
13
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My sister and I spent 3 weeks driving through England staying at b&b's. The Hollies in Bath was lovely. A great location - only a 15 min walk into the town centre. We stayed in the India room and it was a decent size with its own ensuite. The room was clean and quiet. Breakfast was great - thank you Joe and thanks for the entertainment David. Joe was only too happy to bring our luggage upstairs and when we left he had it downstairs waiting for us! Much appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We felt uncomfortable in this place and were happy to leave. We had the English room and this is very small by any standard. There is no room to sit down and watch TV, if you want to do so on a.holiday, or to write emails or sit and chat.There is also no room for suitcases and the owners told us to leave them out on the landing outside the room. We felt that that had security issues, particularly for people who did not have locks on their cases. The private bathroom is across the landing and is quite large, particularly when compared to the room. The Russell room is next door and we did wonder what the bathroom arrangement would be when that room is rented as it also did not have an en suite bathroom.

This room is also on a main road and is very noisy at night with heavy vehicles and motor bikes passing at regular intervals. We both needed sleeping tablets to get to sleep although the traffic noise does subside around mid night. This is definitely not recommended for light sleepers.

The house is also hard to find. The street is blocked to access coming down Wells Street and turning left and this is not immediately apparent from the street signs. The only sign for the house is on the gate and that was open when we arrived and we missed it twice.Some better signage would not go astray.

The garden is pleasant and breakfast was nicely cooked by Joe. The house is well located and we were able to walk to the city, mainly downhill. Therefore the return journey is uphill and catching a
bus is recommended.

Given the disadvantages, we would not return if we were again in Bath.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road and check that it can accommodate suitcases and that it inclu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I stayed with a friend, it was a lovely B&B so much to look at as you wandered through the house, even a library that had photo albums to peruse if you were interested in the owners history (very interesting) clean and tidy, we had a very small en suite shower room but it stated this clearly when we booked and was spotlessly clean. The breakfast was lovely and tasty, tea in tea pots and with real tea leaves. Lovely hosts would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We couldn't have chosen a nicer place to stay. The Hollies, like its owners, David and Joe, is full of charm and character. It is well-situated (a 2-minute drive to the Park & Ride for those who don't fancy the uphill walk from Bath!), has a lovely, secluded garden and is full of fascinating memorabilia. Add to this a comfy bed, clean room and an excellent breakfast and you will see why we would happily return, and highly recommend the Hollies to anyone visiting Bath.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We received a very warm welcome from David & Joe. They couldn't do enough to help us with directions and information about Bath. It took us about 15 minutes to walk into the centre of Bath & a bit longer on the way back as it's uphill. We stayed in the English Room with a separate private bathroom. The house is really interesting so add in viewing time en route to and in the dining room for breakfast. Joe cooked wonderful breakfasts & we had the choice of four different homemade marmalades. The garden is full of a great variety of flowers - unfortunately we didn't have time to sit in it - hopefully next time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

David and Joh were the most gracious hosts we have encountered in our travels. They are helpful and very interesting. They were extremely understanding when we arrived very late and interrupted their dinner. The rooms are delightful and each is unique—full of their treasures. Breakfast was excellent. Tea was properly served—no tea bags. The jams and preserves are very tasty. We would make a point of returning to Bath just to stay with them.

Room Tip: We had the Chinese Room. It has a comfortable seating area. The India Room has a garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hollies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hollies

Address: Hatfield Road, Bath BA22BD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 190 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hollies 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A pretty early-Victorian house about 15 minutes walk from Bath centre. We have three rooms full of antiques and character, all with en-suite or private bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Hollies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hollies Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hollies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.