We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming and relaxing, perfect.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hollies

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Hollies to your Saves list
The Hollies
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Hatfield Road, Bath BA22BD, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 190 Bath B&B and Inns
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very welcoming and relaxing, perfect.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Hollies last weekend, it was truly a lovely stay David and Jo were terrific hosts. This is a very clean house, in fact after leaving I feel I need to redecorate our bathroom at home. It was about a 15 minute walk into town which is slightly downhill not too bad. Breakfast was delicious, I would recommend having tea with it as its proper tea served with a tea strainer. Jo even makes his own jam which is amazing, we bought some to bring home. Amber the cat is so sweet and very well trained. The library is interesting as are all the pictures around the house. We slept in the English room, very comfortable. Would love to go back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    42
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
254
13
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

It was towards the end of last year (2012) that we spent a long weekend in The Hollies whilst visiting Bath for the second time. Therefore, I have had time to reflect on our time spent at The Hollies. Although it was November, the welcome we received could not have been warmer and we slept in the interestingly decorated Chinese Room. Our hosts were exceptionally charming and engaged us in much conversation especially over the breakfasts which were first class, especially the salmon in scrambled eggs. The bed was very comfortable with crisp linen sheets and the bedroom very quiet as it looks out over the enclosed garden. Car parking is provided so we easily walked into, and back from, town although the return journey is uphill - there is a good bus service for anyone who has some difficulty in walking. I can thoroughly recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone who enjoys comfort and tranquility.

Room Tip: Rooms looking onto the enclosed garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

It's the owners David and Jo's stylish and loved home. We stayed in the Chinese bedroom which overlooks the garden. A comfortable bed made all the difference after a day's exploring. The shower cubicle is fine for someone with a slim physic. A rather portly person might encounter a problem. The property was spotlessly clean and very welcoming. We enjoyed the English breakfast which is served in the dining room with guest sitting around an oval table. This encourages contact and we had some enjoyable conversations.
Full marks for style, comfort, service and friendliness.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Last week we booked The Hollies, the room is clean and each room has a private bathroom for shower.The servise is great as they provide us with free-wifi and tasty british breakfast.Besides, there is a amazing libraby inside The Hollies.I have recommend it to my friends and they would like to visit it too. Thank you for everything. We did have a great time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed in The Hollies, Bath UK for 2 night in the English Room. The room is comfortable with kingsize bed and large bathroom. The house is full of special things, details and pictures to discover. You can enjoy your time in quiet library or admire true English cat Amber :-) Hollies Breakfast is something special to keep English flavor in your memory, thanks to David and Joe! I wish i have a chance to visit Bath UK again, The Hollies will be in my route for sure!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

A bit of the old English charm of yesteryear. What an amazing place to find yourself in, the rooms are themed and the whole house is a Museum of interesting bits and pieces. I could have explored the library for hours if I had the time. Both David and Joe are great hosts and breakfasts reminded us of a proper English meal with all the best at the table. The home made Jams and marmalades were lovely and added that little touch of elegance to the beginning of each day. If we are on Bath again this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Hollies for 3 nights over the Easter weekend. We could not imagine better hosts than Joe and David. They are so helpful and the breakfast made by Joe is just superb. My boyfriend is vegetarian and Joe made him a delicious meat free breakfast, every morning giving him three options of what he could make. each option was lovingly prepared.
The house is stunning, different theme in each of the 3 rooms. We stayed at the Chinese room overlooking the gorgeous garden and a beautiful church.
The house is located about 20 minutes walk from town but there is also a bus service running quite frequently.
We are really hoping to go back to Bath one day and we will be definitely staying again at the Hollies!!

Thank you very much guys for a great stay xx

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hollies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hollies

Address: Hatfield Road, Bath BA22BD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 190 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hollies 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A pretty early-Victorian house about 15 minutes walk from Bath centre. We have three rooms full of antiques and character, all with en-suite or private bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Hollies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hollies Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hollies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.