We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bath Aqua Glass

Bath Aqua Glass
105-107 Walcot Street, Bath BA1 5BW, England
01225 428146
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 73 Activities in Bath
Type: Factory Tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Watch the wonderful Bath Aqua Glass blowers in the Artisan Centre of Bath. Glassblowing Demonstrations Mon-Fri 11.15am & 2.15pm Sat 2.15pmSee our beautiful glassware made using traditional Roman techniques in our living museum of glass.WE OFFER BREATH IN A BAUBLE £12.50 THIS IS ONLY ON THE 11.15 AND 2.15 DEMOS. WONDERFUL CHANCE TO BLOW INTO YOUR OWN BAUBLE. During the interactive demos you can ask our glassmakers questions, learn all about how our glass is all made by hand and even have a go yourself and blow a bubble of glass (additional charge)Glass school is run every Saturday morning where you can participate in one of our glassmaking taster courses - Learn to Make a Paperweight. (advance booking essential limited places) Bath Aqua Glass is blown with copper oxide one of the main minerals in the bath Spa Waters. In the factory there are two antique stained glass windows and a collection of glass through the ages. One of the windows was found under Bath Abbey chambers it depicts artisans at work and we are still researching the history.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Interesting visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I visited Bath Aqua Glass Shop and Factory on a weekend visit to Bath. High quality beautiful glassware and jewellery. We watched an informative and impressive demonstration of glass blowing which we would recommend to any visitor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    29
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
“this glass blowing experience was amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

i took my little boy in who was mesmerised and i could not believe the wonderful studio with all its artifacts and the glass blowers before our eyes. it is so nice to see a local product from start to finish. we decided to put our breath in bauble, and now have a wonderful piece to remember Bath. advice for travellers, its the 11.15 and the 2.15 where you can blow a bauble, because we turned up and had to go back.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liphook, United Kingdom
1 review
“amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

It was a wonderful experience to see the glass blowing taking place right in front of you. Have seen some on TV but that is not the same as live like this. After the demonstrations we had the chance to blow our own bauble and have a name engraved on it. Something to keep as a reminder and to boast about later! The workshop is an interesting place to see and the shop is full of a huge range of handmade glass showing what can be done.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paralimni, Cyprus
1 review
“made my day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

What an amzing plus to our experience in Bath. I had no idea that you could visit a real glass blowing place. We even took advantage of their 'put your breathin a bauble!' Every one in our familly had a go. And we get to keep what we have blown!
I recomend to any one thats visting Bath.
Manolos Topollos

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful craft and workmanship”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

A group of us visited to experience the interactive glass blowing demonstration. An absorbing 45 minutes or so where we watched the two glass makers create some beautiful objects. The way a bowl or vase emerged from the blob of molten glass was quite magical. Using just wet newspaper to fashion some of the shapes is a sight that has to be seen to be believed. At the end of the demonstration came our turn. Blowing the glass into large bubbles that were incredibly thin and destined to be crumbled in front of our very eyes. For one of us though was the opportunity to blow a bauble. A really nice memento that was engraved with name and date (you have to collect it the next day to allow it time to cool). The workshop also has some interesting displays and the various items for sale. The demo was under £5 a head with an extra charge of £2.50 to try the glass blowing. The bauble was £12 and worth every penny.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annette D, Owner at Bath Aqua Glass, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to write a review for us. We are so pleased that your group enjoyed your visit at bath Aqua Glass, we really do aim for everyone to to have an educational and enjoyable experience.

We hope you visit again some day, maybe you could have a go at one of our glass courses.

Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bath Aqua Glass also viewed

 

Been to Bath Aqua Glass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bath Aqua Glass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.