We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sophisticated relaxation with attention to detail” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bath House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Bath House to your Saves list
The Bath House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   40 Crescent Gardens, Bath BA1 2NB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 193 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Japan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sophisticated relaxation with attention to detail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2008

The decor at this hotel was modern and classy. The comfortable beds with nice duvets which made it very homely. Much nicer than scratchy old blankets that hotels often have!

Breakfast was served in our rooms which was nice, and the room had an extensive selection of drinks available as well as iced water and Marks and Spencer biscuits. This attention to detail made it stand out from other hotels I have stayed in for a similar price.

Staff at the hotel were very friendly and available for local information when necessary and were very helpful prior to arrival also.

I would thoroughly recommend combining this hotel with a relaxing spa at the Bath Thermae Spa, which is a short walk away.

  • Liked — the beautiful rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,331
    107
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
89
1,085
20
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2008

What a place! Great innkeepers. Very friendly and helpful — there when you need them, but otherwise they leave you alone. More like a boutique hotel than a B&B. Plus a great location. About 5 minutes from all the action. We had Room 1 on the First Floor. The shower/bath was to die for. When you die and go to heaven, this is the shower that awaits you. Like most British plumbing, you will need a masters degree in Thermodynamics and Physics to learn how to operate it. However, UNLIKE most English plumbing where you have to learn the equivalent of starting up the Starship Enterprise for only a trickle of water, THIS shower is well worth your efforts! It goes to Warp 9! It’s got all the bells and whistles you’ll ever need or want. Rainforest shower head, side shower jets, a handheld shower head with GOOD water pressure and a HUGE bathtub. Loved it! They also provide little niceties like cotton balls, plastic bags, a hair dryer, shower gel and shampoo.

The toilet was a bit dodgey but then what English toilet isn’t? You flush fine for about 5-6 times then you have to give it a go for several times before it will flush all the way. I thought maybe something was wrong with it so I mentioned this to the manager but he said that's pretty much status quo in England. Not a big problem, just FYI.

One note for you light sleepers. I had called several weeks before our trip and asked the innkeeper which room was the quietest. He recommended Room 1 and he was right. We loved this room. However, it is in the back and doesn’t have a view (see photo). Overlooks some trees and a parking lot. So if having a view from your room is your Jewel in the Crown and a top priority for you, then this isn’t the room for you. Otherwise, it’s a FANTASTIC room!! With a bed and bathroom like this, who needs a stinkin’ view? Plus they have a nice thick shade you can pull down if you want. We were awed when we first saw the it. Beautiful molding. Rich, warm colors. Deluxe, comfortable 4-poster bed that made me feel like Queen Elizabeth, I... or II, take your pick. Oh and did I mention the chocolate biscuits? LOVED the chocolate biscuits. My husband and I would fight over those every night.

The Bathhouse also has a good breakfast menu where you can choose what you want the day before. In fact they are overly generous with breakfast and we felt a bit wasteful with not eating all the food. It was great that they just give you your breakfast tray at the time you want it then leave you in peace. It’s a nice change to be able to eat in your room as one usually has to eat communally at B&Bs.

When we were there, they were remodeling a really swank (or posh as they say over there) looking room in the front. However, as I mentioned before, if you are a light sleeper like me and must have quiet at night in order to get a good night’s sleep, then you really want to go for Room 1 or perhaps one of the side rooms. The Bath House is on a fairly busy street and I know that the traffic noise from the front rooms would have driven someone sensitive like myself mad. So fair warning. Talk to the innkeeper. I found he is very helpful with suggesting the right room for your needs. We couldn’t have been more pleased with Room 1 and the Bath House.

  • Liked — The Shower!! The Room!! The Biscuits!!
  • Disliked — The traffic noise with the window open
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2008

We stayed in at The Bath House for 2 nights during our honeymoon and loved it ,wish we had stayed longer, we had booked to stay another 2 nights some where else and regretted this greatly. . I loved the fact you could have breakfast in the privacy of the room and the room looked exactly as it did on their website. The rooms were very well decorated modern but classical don. Room and bathroom very clean bath room put my bathroom to shame at home. Well worth the money and have recommended to several others. Definitely will be returning.

  • Liked — Situation and great rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2008

We stayed here in January 2008 (not a good time of year as it rained the whole weekend!) and had a great stay in room two of the hotel. The breakfast is excellent and the accomodation spacious, clean and well furnished. I would definitely recommend it and would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2008

Stayed at this B&B for two nights over the new year in 2007/8, and the location was perfect for getting around Bath, taking about 5 minutes to walk into the centre. The room itself was lovely, and was like a home away from home. The breakfasts were great, served to your room everyday! Great B&B, would stay again!

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2008

We stayed in room number one during a weekend visit to Bath. The room was well decorated and clean, with a lovely four-poster bed, and the en-suite bathroom had a large bath with a drench shower (wonderful!). The staff were attentive and knowledgeable but not intrusive, and were able to provide tickets for the Thermae Bath Spa, a trip to which should definitely form part of anyone's stay. And a cooked breakfast was delivered to our room at the requested time. As far as location goes, it is only a 5 minute walk to the centre of the city and the shops and sights. All in all, we had a really enjoyable time. The only negative points, which are minor, were that the room was rather expensive (£99 a night if paid by cash, but this probably simply reflects the high cost of hotels in the area), the room itself was rather small, and the bathroom could have been a little warmer. Also, although it is claimed that there is parking space for four cars, getting in and out is very difficult, and parking in the nearby public car park is very expensive. We had to do this for a few hours because The Bath House car park was full (someone had checked out but had not moved their car). Despite these reservations, we would certainly recommend this place, and we hope to visit it again in the future.

  • Liked — The shower!
  • Disliked — Car parking
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2008

After a busy Christmas we decided to stay away for a couple of days over the new year to wind down. We found the Bath House on the tourist board site and thought it looked good, but of course you never know. When we arrived we were delighted to find it looked exactly like it does on the web site. The place was immaculate, the room large, the bed comfortable, the breakfast delicious and the little finishing touches like shower gel and good chocolate biscuits gave that extra touch of class. What more do you need when staying away. We even were able to park which we understand in Bath is like hen's teeth! The B&B is close to the centre of the town so you can walk everywhere which was another bonus. Loved the place.

  • Liked — Location, bed, breakfast, room size
  • Disliked — liked it all
  • Stayed January 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bath House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bath House

Address: 40 Crescent Gardens, Bath BA1 2NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bath House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique B&B (and serviced apartments) in the heart of Bath, just five minutes level walk to all major attractions including the Crescent, Spa, Abbey and Roman Baths. Stylish AIR-CONDITIONED en-suite B&B rooms with king-size beds, free Wi-Fi, LCD TVs, iPod docks, fridges, hairdryers, fluffy towels, information guides and a generous hospitality tray. For extra pampering, breakfast is served in the PRIVACY OF YOUR OWN ROOM. Luxury 1 and 2 bed Apartments also available - ideal for families, couples, small groups or corporate bookings. FREE PARKING. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Bath House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bath House Luxury Hotel Bath
The Bath House Luxury b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bath House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.