We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bank Holiday in Bath” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roban House

Roban House
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Roban House to your Saves list
Roban House
4.0 of 5 Hostel   |   26 Lower Oldfield Park, Bath BA2 3HP , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Bath
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bank Holiday in Bath”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

After arriving in Bath to find our original B&B had double booked us we luckily managed to get a room last minute at Roban House. This was our first B&B experience in the UK and I have to say Ana is the perfect host! Really made us feel at ease and at home, a great sense of humour and the full english breakky in the morning was delicious! The location is very easy to the centre of bath (a short 5 min walk) and there is a delicious looking smokehouse restaurant down the road - which was unfortunately fully booked the night we tried to go (next time!). Would recommend Roban House to those looking for a nice relaxing weekend away in Bath.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    15
    3
    11
    13
See reviews for
5
59
13
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We have stayed at Roban House three times, experiencing the same friendly welcome each time. Parking in the resident zone was easily arranged on arrival. Our room was immaculate and of a very high standard. The breakfasts were excellent. It's situation is very good, only a short walk into the city centre.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed at Roban House for a couple of nights for a birthday weekend break in Bath in January.
Having read numerous reviews of other accomodation in town, we chose Roban House as it had consistantly good write ups. We were not disappointed. We had a double room on the front which was lovely, bright and well appointed. Arrival and access was very easy and Anna made us feel very welcome throughout our stay. On street parking was made available in the cost, which is definitely a bonus when visiting Bath as parking is at a premium. It was approximately a 10 minute walk into town and very convenient for either the day time tourist attractions and the night time bars and restaurants. A good cooked breakfast was included.
Anna was very knowledgable, and helpful with advice and tips about Bath.
We would certainly stay with Anna and Rob again, the next time we visit, what we consider a lovely city.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oelsnitz
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The Roban House is a quiet accommodation with a nice and familiar atmosphere – perfect for recreation. The air contains a pleasant smell of citrus and the interior is tidy and very cosy. Also you can find anything you need: There are as well a hair dryer as an electric kettle with some tea bags and coffee in the room. We even could set the room temperature.
The breakfast is mouth-watering and rich.
You can reach the town centre by walking but still can enjoy a quiet night.
Anna and Robert are very friendly and helpful. They gave us tips about the sights and told interesting stories about England. During all this they were very patient with our lacking knowledge of English.
We really felt at home and recommend the Roban House to any other visitor of Bath.

Das Roban House ist ein ruhiges Haus mit angenehmer, familiärer Atmosphäre, perfekt zum Erholen. In der Luft liegt ein leichter Zitrusduft. Die Einrichtung ist sauber und sehr gemütlich. Man findet alles vor, was man braucht, auf dem Zimmer ist sogar ein Fön und ein Wasserkocher mit Teebeuteln und Kaffee. Die Zimmertemperatur konnten wir selbst regeln. Das Frühstück ist reichlich und lecker.
Das Stadtzentrum erreicht man zu Fuß, trotzdem ist es auch nachts leise.
Anna und Robert sind sehr freundlich und hilfsbereit. Sie gaben uns Tipps zu den Sehenswürdigkeiten und erzählten Interessantes über England. Dabei hatten Sie viel Geduld mit unseren geringen Englischkenntnissen.
Wir haben uns sehr wohl gefühlt und empfehlen das Roban House gern weiter.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We selected Roban House in part because of its convenient location. We really enjoyed our room, the breakfasts, and the helpful owners, Anna and Rob. We asked them for input on our planned sightseeing and appreciated their suggestions. For example, we had planned to visit the Thermae Spa but would have missed the extras of the Twilight Package if Anna had not suggested it. Roban House was ideal for us. We are Americans in the 60+ age group.

Room Tip: Our room was in the front, on the street, and university students were noisy a couple of times. Sinc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We arrived in Bath on Friday to find our pre-booked accommodation was not up to the girlfriend's standards. So on our smartphones we went and found the reasonably priced Roban House. We spoke to Anna over the phone who was extremely helpful in describing the Guest House and facilities to us.

On arrival (5 mins from Bath station) we were pleasantly surprised by the Guest House. It was kept in immaculate condition and smelled amazing. Anna showed us to the room and the bathroom and luckily the girlfriend's tears turned to a big smile (FINALLY). The room was beautiful, with lovely furnishings and all the essentials (including a kettle and hair dryer). The sheets and towels were soft and new of good quality.

Anna was extremely helpful and imparted her knowledge of Bath to us, we knew exactly where to go and even learnt about places that otherwise would not have crossed our paths.

There is also a vast library of books, for when you have an argument with your partner and need an escape :-)

The shower was my highlight, overheard rain shower head. Perfecto :-)

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This place is just perfect! I was staying in Roban House for a month and during this time I was never disappointed. Anna and Robert were very nice and the room (single ensuite) was comfortable and clean. Also, the location of the house is excelent (just 10 minutes walk from the train/bus station, 15 minutes walk from the Roman Baths). If you are planning a longer stay in Bath, you should definetely choose Roban House.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Roban House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roban House

Address: 26 Lower Oldfield Park, Bath BA2 3HP , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Roban House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Roban House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roban House Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roban House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.