We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Enjoyable experience of our first UK B & B"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chestnuts House

Save Saved
You added Chestnuts House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chestnuts House
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   16, Henerietta Road, Bath BA2 6LY, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 187 Bath B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"Enjoyable experience of our first UK B & B"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This was the first of many B & Bs booked for our UK/Scotland holiday. Criteria was location, car park for our hire car, free Wifi, breakfast, cost and how it was rated on trip advisor.
My husband and I really enjoyed our two night stay at Chestnuts. Our ground floor bedroom opened onto a lovely garden area at the back. Tony impressed us with the way he effortlessly took the breakfast orders and delivered them back to guests in such a quiet and efficient way. We did not want for anything. The food was good quality and enough to choose from. It provided us with a great start to the busy day of exploring. Would definitely recommend to others who want to experience a comfortable B & B.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    656
    40
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
96
429
11
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have just returned from an overnight stay at Chestnuts House,we wished it had been for more. Tony is an excellent host full of great advice on where to eat and what to do,the free walking tour he recommended was great we really enjoyed it,the room very clean,comfortable and modern but homely,the fresh milk and selection of cakes on arrival lovely touch,and the breakfast fresh,great selection and very tasty.Location less than 10 min brisk walk to Bath centre.We will for sure stay again and would recommend to family and friends.Also a big thank you to Tony and staff for finding our phone and sending it on to us a great help!Many Thanks Paula and Bill.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriottsville, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This was my fifth trip to Bath in the past seven years on business. I have stayed in other B&Bs, but this one exceeded all of my expectations. I would recommend it over any others in the area. Toni was an excellent host and greeted me each morning of my 4 day stay with a large assortment of fruits, pastries and cereals for breakfast. I took advantage of his great cooking a few times during my stay as well. The room was well-appointed with a large, comfy bed, 2 chairs and a TV. The bathroom had all of the expected toiletries for those that travel light along with a hair dryer and the towels were draped over a warming rack (nice added bonus). Tony also showed off his knowledge of the city by offering my recommendations for eating and touring. The small parking area is off-street and the location is an easy 5 minute walk to the heart of Bath.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed in August on a short weekend break. Good location for easy strolling. Pleasant room and spotlessly clean. Lots on information available in reception and the owners are knowledgeable about the area. Try the walking tour starting at the Abbey - worth it to see things you otherwise would not.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

we stayed 3 nights here in early Sept. & had a wonderful stay. The house is in a great location, is very clean & affords all the comforts of home. The host Tony (& staff) were most welcoming & after staying at lots of places on our trip, we would have to say that the breakfasts we had at Chestnuts House were by far the best & to come home after a day out sightseeing to find some home made cakes in our room was a lovely extra touch. We can highly recommend this place & would be more than happy to come here again. Many thanks Tony for your hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Well located, with off-street parking and an easy 10 minute stroll into the centre of Bath.
Not the cheapest B&B in the land, but it's spotlessly clean, comfortable. We'd stay there again.
Good sized bed-room (see below), light and bright dining room, and a community lounge room for a quiet read of the day's papers.
Tony is a first-class host, and a great source of local knowledge He does a damn fine breakfast too. (He had his bank manager helping out in the kitchen when we were there - either he owes them a lot of money or they owe him a lot of money).
The only reason I haven't rated it 5/5 is my recent resolution that a 5/5 is absolute perfection in all aspects, and one doesn't encounter that too often. But you're an 8.75 out of 10 Tony.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room, with a very well equipped and extremely large (for UK) bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Joining the chorus of others who have praised Tony for his great cooking and for the service, let me just say that the eggs Benedict or the smoked salmon eggs are reason enough to stay here. It is a pleasant brief walk from Bath Abbey. The modest exterior belies the comforts within.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chestnuts House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnuts House

Address: 16, Henerietta Road, Bath BA2 6LY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chestnuts House 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chestnuts House is a fine detached Edwardian house with an enclosed garden and private off street parking. It is ideally situated off the main roads and adjacent to Henrietta park, within a few minutes level walk of the city centre. The House is built of natural stone and has five excellent air conditioned guest rooms. warm and attractive decorations have provided well appointed, spacious and comfortable ensuite rooms. All are equipped with colour televisions, dvd players, radio/alarm clocks, free wireless internet connection and refreshments trays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Chestnuts House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chestnuts House Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chestnuts House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.