We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bailbrook House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bailbrook House to your Saves list
Bailbrook House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eveleigh Avenue | London Road West, Bath BA1 7JD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Bath
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

This hotel is special. It's secluded, well located, plenty of character, comfort and style.
The room was big and comfortable, the bed was very big.
Breakfast was very good. Iwish I booked at least another night.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bailbrook, Manager at Bailbrook House, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Bailbrook House should you visit Bath again in the future.

Kind regards
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    107
    28
    7
    0
See reviews for
41
257
Solo
0
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Short stay only, hotel looks great on web, claiming "commanding views over Bath" .

It is a shame, there were only 3 rooms with that view, no restaurant, terrace or lounge. You could walk down a grass field and see Bath. But that was the only disappointing thing. Rooms are great, spacious, beds comfortable. minibar only has water, but roomservice will bring you drinks by the glass.

Service was good, breakfast a bit basic items, but good quality/taste, friendly staff.
Overall an excellent stay.

Room Tip: As above, there are only 3 rooms with the "bath view". Otherwise don't book this hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bailbrook, Manager at Bailbrook House, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry that you felt you were unable to enjoy the views. Guests are able to enjoy views of Bath from the Duke of Clarence lounge and tables in the loggia of the Cloisters Restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Bailbrook House should you visit the area again in the future.

Kind regards
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storrington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

It's not often that I don't find some fault with a hotel (!) but all in all, everything we experienced with the Bailbrook House hotel was done very well and we could find nothing wrong at all with the room, the service (which was impeccable) or the food, and throughout all was clean and well-maintained.

We had a young child with us and he was accommodated well, with the cot in the room already set up on arrival, and the room itself was spacious and clean.

Overall, it's a lovely hotel that's clearly very well run and we shall be returning in the future when in Bath.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bailbrook, Manager at Bailbrook House, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Bailbrook House when you next visit Bath.

Kind regards
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

If you want all round good value and not pay down town Bath prices I would really recommend this hotel which is on the edge of town. We really enjoyed our stay here, the rooms were excellent, the staff friendly and food was very good what more can one ask for. It is also one of the better hotels I have stayed in recently but just remember it is on the edge of town so you you will have get transport to see all the sights of Bath. Next time I am in Bath I will definitely stay here.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked great to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bailbrook, Manager at Bailbrook House, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and visit to Bath.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Bailbrook House in the future.

Kind regards
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We booked a two night stay and were warmly welcomed with our bags taken to our room in a very attractive extension to the main building. There are some very attractive public rooms in the main building, including a bar and separate restaurant and two lounges overlooking Bath. Our room was large with a seating area and was very well appointed. The air conditioning was welcome on a hot Summer's day. When we came back on the first evening the restaurant had closed but they very helpfully produced some light refreshments on request. The bathroom was very modern with large towels, but the water pressure was disappointing and the hot water wasn't entirely stable. Inclusive breakfast in the morning was served buffet style, and the range of fruit and yoghurt on display was limited but it was entirely acceptable.

Bailbrook House is very well positioned, only 15 minutes from the centre of Bath by bus. There is also a water taxi service nearby. The Reception staff were very helpful with maps and local information.

So why not 5 stars? Because of the problem with the card swipe! When we arrived we were told that the hotel needed to swipe our credit card for the cost of two nights at £144 per night, plus an estimated £100 for extras during our stay. I've stayed in lots of hotels where they take a swipe, but it's never had this outcome. We paid the bill in full on departure on the Wednesday morning, and later in the day I found that the £388 was still showing as a pending transaction on our card app. I rang the hotel that evening to be told that it would be removed overnight. It wasn't. I rang back on the Friday afternoon and was asked to send an email with the details, which then wasn't acknowledged. I rang again the following Monday, to be told that it wasn't the hotel's fault but that of Handpicked Hotels whose policy is to take a swipe on arrival which can take up to 10 days to clear. It actually took 7. We've never had that experience, all the other hotels we've stayed in both in the UK and abroad swipe a card in case of extras but don't actually hold an amount which then takes up to a week to be cleared after you check out. Maybe we've just been lucky, but it was a disappointing end to the stay. We'd certainly use the hotel in the future but would pay for the room on arrival to avoid this happening again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bailbrook, Manager at Bailbrook House, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. I was pleased to read that on the whole you enjoyed your stay.

I was concerned to learn of the issues that you experienced regarding the release of the pre-authorisation amount. I understand that the Reception Manager kept in regular contact to update you concerning the transaction. Please accept my apologies that you were not advised on check-in that an approval would be sought on your credit card for an amount equal to your total room nights plus incidental charges. Pre-authorisation amounts are generally released by the bank within 48 hours after departure, however very occasionally this has taken 7-10 working days. I am sorry for the inconvenience caused on this occasion.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Bailbrook House in the future

Kind regards Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

One night business trip - excellent service and overall quality of hotel, beds and food were all outstanding. Could not ask for more. Would highly recommend as an excellent 4* hotel to anyone staying in Bath

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bailbrook, Manager at Bailbrook House, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel on a business trip.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Bailbrook House on another occasion.

Kind regards
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stayed at Bailbrook for one night en route from Bristol to Southampton and only chose it because we like the Hand Picked brand. We must try a 'proper' stay next time as arrived at approx 6.30pm, went to our room, had dinner, went to bed then had breakfast the next day and we were off!

Check in was very efficient with everything covered, even asking if we needed a map of Bath, if only!

Our room was in the new part of the building and was excellent, it had everything we wanted for our stay.

My only little gripe would be that we waited far too long for I drinks in the Queen Charlotte room before dinner in the Cloisters Restaurant. There were only 2 other couples having drinks in there so I'm not sure what the hold up was. Dinner was excellent but with only 4 tables being used we were all seated close to each other which offered no privacy. This wasn't a major problem but we could hear the conversation of the table next to us which in a half empty restaurant is something that can be avoided.

All in all a great hotel, just need to return when we have more time.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bailbrook, Manager at Bailbrook House, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I was sorry to read of the unnecessary delay with drinks service and have noted your suggestion concerning table allocation, thank you for this constructive feedback which I have discussed with our Restaurant Manager.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Bailbrook House on another occasion.

Kind regards
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bailbrook House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bailbrook House

Address: Eveleigh Avenue | London Road West, Bath BA1 7JD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#8 Business Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bailbrook House 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bailbrook House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bailbrook House Hotel Bath
Bailbrook Hotel Bath
Bailbrook House Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bailbrook House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.