We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bailbrook House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bailbrook House to your Saves list
Bailbrook House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eveleigh Avenue | London Road West, Bath BA1 7JD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We stayed a night with my husband in February 2014. Our room was right at the ground floor. The room was a good size, very quiet and very comfortable.
The bed was super comfy with all the nice cushions and it had luxurious linen. The room had a tea and coffee making facilities, and the tea and hot chocolate on offer were rather nice!
I like the low level lighting in the bathroom, such a great touch for a hotel room!
The parking is very convenient, the surroundings of the hotel are very nice!
Unfortunately, I did not get to try the gym out, as I had to leave early.

Definitely worth visiting, it is very close to the town center!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bailbrook, Guest Relations Manager at Bailbrook House, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to be able to welcome you back in the future. Regards Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    140
    34
    7
    2
See reviews for
58
345
2
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Stayed for one night for my birthday after a lot of research and reading great reviews. We could not fault the staff, however was disappointed with our room in the new block. The bathroom was nothing special, reminded me of a premier/holiday inn and the shower had no power what so ever! Breakfast was good however the dining area we felt like we were in a conference type of facility. Stayed at many hotels and was expecting a little more luxury or wow factor for the money, I suppose you are paying a premium to be in Bath. Kept to the old original building this would be lovely - think the new part spoils the overall feel of the place. The taxi fares in and out of Bath also rack up the price of your stay so bare that in mind too.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bailbrook, Guest Relations Manager at Bailbrook House, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

I am sorry that you were disappointed with your room and the location of the restaurant for breakfast in Bailbrook Court, this wing was originally built as a training college and has recently undergone extensive refurbishment. The majority of the bedrooms are located in Bailbrook Court with the suites and feature rooms located in the Mansion House. I have noted your comments regarding the shower pressure and will ask a member of our maintenance team to check the pressure levels.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We stayed in the bailbrook house classic room, weekend away with the wife. On arrival otto took our bags (very friendly man) to our room and told us places to visit around bath.
The room was amazing, very large and comfortable bed,very clean bathroom.
Breakfast was very nice, staff very friendly.
One of the best hotels we have stayed in so far.
we walked into Bath town which took about 35 mins,
totally enjoyed our stay even if the the weather wasn't that great.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bailbrook, General Manager at Bailbrook House, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the special mention of Otto, I will make sure he reads a copy of your review. I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed at the Bailbrook at the end of April whilst attending a friends birthday party. Could not fault the staff, service or standards of this hotel.
It maybe a bit out of the centre of Bath, but you would struggle to find a better hotel for the price in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bailbrook, General Manager at Bailbrook House, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay.I hope you had a wonderful party too !

Regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esher, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Went down for a girls weekend away and we had a brilliant stay here-really lovely breakfast too! The location is fine and just a short taxi journey into town.
Staff very helpful-would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bailbrook, Manager at Bailbrook House, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor. It was great to read you had a brilliant time with us. Bath is a great city for a girls weekend away - so I am told !

I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hindhead
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

WOW a wonderful hotel - we had arranged a block booking for a wedding party - the communication and helpfulness of the all the staff was exceptional !! we were short a few tablecloths for the marquee half an hour away from the hotel - no problem to the fab staff at the Bailbrook they went out of their way to save the day by lending them to us. Every member of staff were superb - the best service I have ever come across and I have stayed in many hotels - I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel - the rooms, the food, everything = BRILLIANT

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bailbrook, Manager at Bailbrook House, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and that we could help you out with table cloths. I hope the wedding went well and you had a fabulous time.

Regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed at Bailbrook House for a long weekend and loved almost every aspect of it.

The hotel is really easy to find from the M4 and is only a short drive into the city. The lady on reception was very friendly and made us feel very welcome.

Our room was in the more modern block but this did not mean it was any less value for money. The coffee machine is a lovely touch in the room, the bed was massive (6 pillows!!) and incredibly comfy. We a slight issue with the rainwater showerhead, to my mind, if you fit one of these the water pressure should be strong enough to make it worthwhile, however our one seemed to trickle out. On a more postive note, we reported this to reception as we left for dinner and they had descaled it by the time we got back which certainly helped.

Breakfast was the the usual hotel fare, with some dishes such as pancakes and waffles available to order.

Our other "gripe" if you can call it that, is that despite leaving our room on the Sunday by mid-morning, housekeeping had only just started cleaning our room at 3.30 when we arrived back soaked through after walking round the city in the rain and desperate for a hot shower and a fluffy towel. We put this down to a one-off (it was the weekend after all) however we left our room by 9am the next day to get to the spa early and housekeeping were cleaning our room when we arrived back at 4pm.

The staff at Bailbrook are an absolute credit, nothing is too much for them and they are very friendly, special mention to "Andra" (I hope thats her name) who met us each morning for breakfast with a very cheery smile and a joke.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bailbrook, Manager at Bailbrook House, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Firstly sorry that we had to de-scale your shower, we do have this on a schedule and the room you stayed in is due next week; I am pleased though that we were able to sort it out for you. Thank you for the special mention of Andrada- she will be delighted to read you comments. I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bailbrook House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bailbrook House

Address: Eveleigh Avenue | London Road West, Bath BA1 7JD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#9 Business Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bailbrook House 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook and Agoda so you can book your Bailbrook House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bailbrook House Hotel Bath
Bailbrook Hotel Bath
Bailbrook House Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bailbrook House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.