We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Henry Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Henry Guest House
Save
You added The Henry Guest House to your Saves list
6 Henry Street, Bath BA1 1JT, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 193 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Saint Paul,MN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2006

My wife and I stayed here for a few nights. In over two weeks of travel about the U.K. this was by far our best experience for lodging. Within an hour of a arrival Sue had us reservations on a Mad Max tour for the next day (very good), dinner plans at The Wife of Bath (good) and One Fish, Two Fish (fabulous!), and scampering off to the laundry with complimetary detergent.

Sue and Derek have found the formula for perfection with clean, quiet, efficient inn keeping, wonderful hearty breakfasts and a seasoned knack for knowing exactly what their guests require to make for a wonderful stay, not just at The Henry, but in Bath as well. The location halfway between the rail station and the town center is spot on and an easy walk.

Bottom line: Not only would we stay here again, but we'd bring family as well. You'll feel like it staying here.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    156
    23
    8
    3
See reviews for
111
181
80
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2006

This is a great little guest house that deserves all the positive reviews it gets. You can't beat the value, the rooms are very clean and cheerful (lots of sunlight). TV and sink in the room, bed was comfortable. The hosts are very friendly and helpful and have lots of brochures and recommendations. Breakfast was good and is included with the room. It's geographically desireable, being 5 min walk from lots of places:

- 5 min from the train station and bus station, very convenient esp if you're doing day trips around the area
- 5 mins gets you to the old city center, Roman Baths, and Abbey, with lots of tourist shops, restaurants etc.
- 5 mins from the locals' shopping area, with lots of practical (not tourist) shops (like Boots, Marks and Spensers), and a cinema

I had three downsides with the guest house. First downside: it can get rather stuffy and hot in the room at night, even with the window open (that's a risk for any small room with no way for air to circulate). Fortunately there's an easy fix: the air flows freely in the stairwell, so just hold the room of your door open for a few minutes to get the air in your room circulating.

Second downside: with your window open, you get all the street noise, and it can get very noisy unfortunately. Bath has lots of younger people around, and some of them wander around in the streets talking and laughing VERY loudly late at night. One night, there were a dozen people standing in the street right in front of the guesthouse, making a godawful racket for a half hour, at 2:30 am. Earplugs would definitely have helped.

Third downside: there are toilets only on every *other* floor, so if you're the unlucky guest who ends up on a "wrong" floor, you can end up having to schlep up and down the stairs every time you use the toilet.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2006

If you are going to Bath in UK and are looking for a place to stay, try to make a booking at "The Henry" B&B. It is very popular so early bookings are advisible! The location is excellent (3-5 min. walk from the roman bath and severel excellent restaurants) , the rooms are very nice, the included breakfast is tasty. And, the family who runs it are very friendly! Sue, Nici and Derek are doing all they can to make your stay in Bath enjoyible, and they have a lot of information about what to see and where to eat :-) Why not try "The wife of Bath" (who takes it name from the The Canterbury Tales) for an excellent dinner?

Contact details for The Henry:
+44 (0) 1225 424052
----

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2006

My husband and I spent 5 days in Bath and were extremely pleased with The Henry. The value for the price is unbeatable. Location is ideal, you can walk everywhere, and you start the day with a hearty, delicious breakfast. Sue is efficient, knowledgable and a wonderful resource. Her B&B is spotless & charming. Shared bathroom facilities are no problem whatsoever. I have recommended The Henry to everyone and would definitely stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2006

An easy short walk to pull luggage from either the train or bus station, in a great downtown location, this is an immaculately kept establishment with quality bedding and linens. We found our twin room on the front of the building spacious and the beds comfortable, tea-making facilities much appreciated, our own tidy sink unit unobtrusive in an elegant room with high ceilings . Excellent breakfast with care to personalized requests ("jiggly eggs"), orders taken by Sue in her bright, brisk morning style, reminiscent of her school teacher past organizing the troops, served in a very pleasant front room. Daughter Nikki recommended pubs with good food, like the Raven. Beyond the control of owners was the unfortunate night noise from youths hanging around the corner into the wee hours, and a dumb American fellow guest who didn't understand that the light on and the door locked of the shared hall toilet meant that it was occupied! Other guests managed the shared facilities with grace and tact, and rare short waits, the toilet and shower always remaining very clean, facilities modern. But for our night noise, I would rate the Henry "excellent."

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2006

When we arrived too early for check-in, Sue was most welcoming (let us stash our bags) and directed us to the City walking tour immediately--a wonderful introduction to the British Visitor Guides Association--and handed us a list of recommended eating establishments for supper. Our visit to Bath was off to a great start.
The Henry House is very convenient to the train station and the Pump Room/Roman Baths and the Abbey. It is also clean and shiny: I had to compliment Sue on the absolutely sparkling windows!
The lack of en suite was no problem; our room at the rear of the building overlooked a lovely warren of back gardens and was clean and quiet.
The breakfast was generous and delicious and served in a bright airy diningroom with a view to the kitchen.
We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

Stayed April 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton, WA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2006

We spent three nights at The Henry Guest House in Bath, England. It was an easy two block walk from the train station and located close to very good restaurants and the river Avon.

Sue and daughter Nikki were most helpful and informed us of places to go and things to do. The breakfast was freshly prepared and plentiful. The rooms are spacious with excellent beds. Fresh towels were provided dailey.

It was noisy at times during the night with people talking outside on the street. My husband used his earplugs which helped. Our room was located on the street side and on the first level. Perhaps some rooms are quieter.

Stayed May 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Henry Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henry Guest House

Address: 6 Henry Street, Bath BA1 1JT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Bath's city centre, during your visit our home is your home. The Henry is ideally situated, close to the superb shopping centre and tourist sites of this beautiful city. We are just a 2 minute walk from the railway and bus stations and a brief stroll to the Roman Baths, Pump Rooms and Abbey, The Henry is the perfect base from which to explore this truly beautiful, magical city. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Henry Guest House Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Henry Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.