We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Henry Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Henry Guest House
Save
You added The Henry Guest House to your Saves list
6 Henry Street, Bath BA1 1JT, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 193 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Henry for 3 nights (June 11 through June 13). Clean accommodations with a good breakfast. The location is PERFECT. Only 300 yards from the train station. The owners were very accommodating with our late arrival (10:15pm) which was much appreciated. Price for the room is competitive for Bath. The neighborhood is very quiet at night.

Our only complaint was the size of the room. We were on the top floor (no problem as we are able to walk stairs without issue). However, between the slanted ceiling (on one side), extremely small room and a 7 1/2 foot ceiling (at it's highest point) we felt like we were in an attic closet. Unfortunately, the Inn was full and we couldn't change rooms. They do have other, larger rooms (I asked and I toured two different rooms in case we come back). Would we stay again? Yes, but not in the same room. The room was way too confining for us and we are not big people. My wife is 5' 4" and I'm 5' 11" (175 lbs)

Room Tip: My rating given to the room was solely due to the size and ceiling height. The Henry is a fine plac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    156
    23
    8
    3
See reviews for
111
181
80
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is a wonderful guest house. High class and comfortable with welcoming staff and a proprietor who is second to none. We have stayed here on more than one occasion. The most recent being for a family wedding. Nothing was too much trouble for those running The Henry and the rate was extremely reasonable for the service they provided. The rooms are clean and well appointed. The location is excellent for connections and for the many tourist attractions in Bath. I would recommend this guest house to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My family of five recently enjoyed staying at the self service apartment just around the corner from the B&B. The location near the baths and train station was ideal and the nearby supermarket made it easy to stock the well appointed kitchen. Accommodations were spacious and the 2 bathrooms were welcomed after our cramped stay at a Paris apartment the previous week. Liz was very gracious, waiting late for our arrival after traffic delays and finding and mailing my son's Murano glass necklace he mistakenly left in a drawer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My partner and I took an overnight trip to Bath while in the UK to attend a wedding. We were late in booking our accommodation in Bath, so I'm sure we paid a premium as a result. We found The Henry online and booked after reading the mostly positive reviews here on TA.

Overall, the stay has been great and I've got no real complaints or gripes. We stayed in Room 1.

Pros: no set check-in time (you name it when you book), great central location, rooms are VERY clean and well presented, beds a super comfy, shower is quite large for what you usually get in the UK, breakfast menu was small - but made to order and yummy with fresh fruit and cereals also available, guest house is quite (as our room was on the first landing, I was worried we'd hear all the foot traffic), and of course, free wifi.

Cons: no parking (but reasonable parking rates available just across the main road - 12 quid for 24 hours), bathroom is quite small (tricky to even dry off without whacking an elbow), rooms can get very bright at sun up which is early in summer (we had our eye masks from the flight to mitigate this), and finally, the tv reception is pretty bad - but that is fine since you should be walking around the city and no in your room.

Room Tip: On your key ring there will be a Big Ben (staying in Bath) tag. Make sure you have a read through th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had a reservation for this B&B and several days prior I fell in London injuring my hand and leg leaving us with no recourse but to cancel our reservation.

Their stated policy is to refuse to refund any reservation based on "strict order from Mr. Barton to charge you, because you did cancel your reservation 2 days before your arrival." I inquired about an exception and told this was the owner's decision. It still seems, with a valid reason, that an exception should be granted--but that isn't the case at this establishment. Regardless of the fact that we were totally unaware of this cancellation policy, which we did not receive until the reservation was confirmed.

I am left with no avenue to appeal and since we have been billed for the entire reservation fee, we have no other recourse but to complain about the unresponsiveness of the owners. We are severally disappointed in the Henry House policies.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehenry, General Manager at The Henry Guest House, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Helen and Bob LaBouy,
you could not book a room at the Henry without seeing and reading our cancellation policy. You are the first guest ever who did not find our cancellation policy which is right in the front of your eyes before you confirm your booking. You did provided your credit card details which means that you accepted our terms & conditions and (again) the cancellation policy. Looks like you might not be very experienced travellers if you call our cancellation policy 'archaic'! It is actually very,very soft cancellation policy comparing to the rest of the world (hotels,hostels,air lines,travel agencies....).
THE HENRY GUEST HOUSE CANCELLATION POLICY:
'If you cancel more than 7 days before your date of arrival we will not make a charge and refund any deposits paid. If you cancel after 7 days and we are able to re-let your room we will make a charge of 40% of the total cost of the first night’s accommodation. If we are UNABLE TO RE-LET the room, we will CHARGE you THE FULL RATE of your stay.'
I'm assuming that you have got adequate TRAVEL INSURANCE which would cover all your cost in case of an injury including cancellation fees. We are more then willing to assist you and help you to stake a claim for the cancellation fee.
I also spoke to the owner of the Henry,Mrs. Barton, who spoke to you on phone and she assured me that you did not mentioned any injury as you cancelled your booking 1 day before arrival.I don't have any doubts and trust her limitless.
Sincerely Jana Ziegler, manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at The Henry Guest house during our self guided tour of SW England. Our bedroom was rather large as seen in the photo. It had room enough for 2 large stuffed chairs. The bathroom is also rather large by European standards, although the floor in the room didn't seem to have a flat and level place in it. The guest house is just a very short distance from the Bath Abbey. Breakfast - good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We've only travelled to large cities before so are used to staying in large chain style hotels (think Marriots, Westins etc.) so an 8 bedroom old guesthouse was a change, but our experience here was very sweet. (We did only stay for one night so perhaps the cramped quarters would've gotten to us had we stayed longer!)

The positives: The owners were very sweet and helpful. We arrived well before the time we said we would and so had to call the owners and they very quickly returned (out walking their dog I think!) and accommodated us so politely even though it was our own mistake, not theirs. The location was excellent and Bath is very small so everything was walkable. The hotel provided us with some info on the area as well as a pamphlet of discounts and recommendations. Having the bus station so close by was a huge pro since we had to walk to it with our big backpacks. Breakfast was very tasty and we were not disappointed by the options. The room was very cute, the chocolates on the pillow and cookies were a welcomed treat, and the bed was comfy.

Noise was not an issue for us, but we had read in a travel guide to request a room at the back because of potential student street noise and so we did.

The negatives: It was rather pricey for what it was. We looked at A LOT of hotels though and Bath is just an expensive place. The climb up the narrow uneven staircase with our backpacks was awful, but expected, and the owner did kindly offer assistance. The room was very small and could use some touch ups, the hair dryer was in the bedroom not the bathroom and it didn't really extend far enough to be able to see in the mirror. But none of that really mattered because the owner was just so kind and charming and so was the house, we loved our short stay here!

Room Tip: There's no elevator and the stairs are somewhat steep but if you're reasonably fit request a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Henry Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henry Guest House

Address: 6 Henry Street, Bath BA1 1JT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Bath's city centre, during your visit our home is your home. The Henry is ideally situated, close to the superb shopping centre and tourist sites of this beautiful city. We are just a 2 minute walk from the railway and bus stations and a brief stroll to the Roman Baths, Pump Rooms and Abbey, The Henry is the perfect base from which to explore this truly beautiful, magical city. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Henry Guest House Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Henry Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.