We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crescent Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Crescent Guest House to your Saves list
Crescent Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   21 Crescent Gardens, Bath BA1 2NA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 193 Bath B&B and Inns
W&J
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2006

We just want to share our great experience with other tourists who want to stay in the historic city of Bath. We stayed at The Crescent and found it to be very well located with only a 5 or 6 minute walk into Milsom Street. When we arrived at The Crescent John welcomed us into their beautifully restored Victoria House. He was so informative of what we could do and where we could go. We were given a very attractive room, with our own en suite – everything was just spotless and shiningly clean. The room was lovely and, most importantly, had an extremely comfortable bed – just superb. Next morning we enjoyed one of the most fantastic breakfasts on our travels. The other guests were from offshore countries, like us, and after John and Gilly introduced us to each other, they managed to keep up repartee between us all in between serving the best English breakfast we have enjoyed on this trip. The conviviality of us all sitting round one table was really special and is one of the real travel experiences we will remember for many a day. Really a 5 star experience and one that I look forward to repeating.

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    48
    19
    15
    5
See reviews for
19
81
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2006

Well, what a relief the Crescent was!
As a self-employed person who spends a lot of time away from home I could give you a long list of places to avoid (and an even longer list outlining why) but I have no hesitation in recommending this friendly and comfy B & B in Bath.
It's central, clean, cosy and welcoming (and how rare is that??) with Hosts who made me feel valued (don't start me there!!) and comfortable.
It was recommended to me by a friend and I have no hesitation in recommending it myself.
I only hope next time to have the opportunity to have a look around Bath during the daytime; what a gorgeous place!

  • Liked — I felt welcome, comfortable and secure.
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask Gilly about parking! .. it was easy but I fell into a trap for young players!!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2006

We stayed at The Crescent in June 2006. The Crescent B&B is conveniently located within a block of a car park, 2 blocks from The Crescent and a flat, easy 15 minute walk from the center of Bath. Our room was spotless and well decorated, with an ensuite bathroom, TV, hospitality tray and free standing wardrobe. There was also a binder with helpful information such as the location of various resturants, laundrette and grocery store - which are all quite near.

Our hosts, John and Gilly are super - great senses of humor!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2006

i hate to disagree with the lovely people who have so far written reviews but i have to disagree with them maybe it was because the owners were away on holiday when we were here but i did not find this guest house very good at all firstly room was small but that was not the problem the way the furniture was laid out meant i have numerous bruises on my legs and shins from bumping them agsainst the sharp corners of the bed also the room was very noisy i cannot fault the cleanliness of the place but i have to laugh at the "special touches of flowers in each room"" a couple of tiny things of a kind which last months without having to be changed we were very disappointed with the breakfasts especially the vegetarian option 2 tiny sausages dollop of semi cooked scrambled egg and 4 mushrooms!!! 2 kinds of chea; cereal to jhoose from and som e unripe fruit!!!! also the legendery bon homie at breakfast was not in sight we walked into the dining room the first morning and said a cheey hello only to be completely ignored!!!! the other mornings werent much better i had an almost uncontrollable urge to giggle it was that atmosphere of being in a doctors waiting room or dentist etc ...save your cash and go elsewhere as you are clearly just another piece of cattle trundling through the door £225 for this ??????never again

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2006

thanks to all the reviews on Tripadvisor we found this lovely B&B!!.The hosts are very welcoming,& give you lots of helpful information.Our room was small but very cosy & homely just what we wanted! Breakfast was lovely!

We'd definatley stay again

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2006

John and Gilly Deacon are superb hosts. They make the experience. The advice they gave us concerning trains and historic sites saved us money and time and their breakfast is the best in the UK.

The House is tastefully decorated, extremely clean and the rooms are well appointed. Yes, the rooms are a little bit small but if you are going to Bath you won't be spending the day in your room, there is far too much to see.

I will definitely be back. Don't hesitate about booking with these people.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crescent Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crescent Guest House

Address: 21 Crescent Gardens, Bath BA1 2NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crescent Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning, city centre guest house offering smaller but very well appointed rooms, a great breakfast menu and lots of fun. We are proud of our high service standards, our rooms which retain most of their original features and our attention to detail. We know our city, its restaurants and attractions very well, so advice is there if you need it. We're also happy to make theatre bookings, or to help you plan your excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Crescent Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crescent Guest House Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crescent Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.