We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So glad to find this lovely little shop!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ora Et Labora

Ora Et Labora
3 Church Street, Bath BA1 1NL, England
01225 481111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 48 Shopping in Bath
Type: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“So glad to find this lovely little shop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We were visiting Bath for the day and so pleased to come across this lovely little shop situated just a stone's throw from Bath Abbey!

The shop sells some fantastic produce from the monastic communities in Europe including chocolates, cheeses, drinks and our favourite the Lindisfarne mead! We were fascinated to find out more about Bath's monastic past as well as the present day monasteries who supply the produce to the shop.

This shop is a must if you're visiting Bath and want a unique shopping experience! Thanks so much and we'll be sure to pop in again next time we're in Bath!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

The lovely window display caught our eye as we were walking past and we called in. What a cheerful, bright and attractive little shop! It sells high quality produce from monasteries in various places and has a lovely little exhibition downstairs including a replica scriptorium. We enjoyed tasting the Lindisfarne mead while chatting with the very friendly and welcoming staff. A joy to visit.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Mead all about it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Poked my head in to see what it was all about and was really glad I did. I tried a medieval recipe Bath pudding, which was great and then saw the Lindisfarne Mead 'A Legend in a Glass', amazing stuff, and I'm having a sip of it now.

The lady working there was really friendly and knowledgeable about all things monkish, it's great to see an unusual shop selling really interesting things in a world dominated by the likes of Starbucks.

Thanks for the Mead & the Pudding, I'll definitely be going again soon, theres something for everyone.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Having spent every Christmas shopping in the heart of Bath we thought we had seen it all before; we were wrong! This little gem in the heart of Bath balances the history and culture of the Bath Abbey with authentic produce from the monasteries of Europe. A wonderful must see visit in Bath, with a wide selection of produce including cheeses, alcoholic drinks, scarves, hot mead and the home of the BATH PUDDING! A must have for every Christmas table served hot with a warm mead poured over the top - a real treat! I have already recommended it to all of my friends!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Christmas shopping solved!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Loved the medieval pudding-Mum couldn't get enough of it! Great for buying Christmas presents.Really unusual treasure trove.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ora Et Labora also viewed

 

Been to Ora Et Labora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ora Et Labora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.