We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abbey Rise Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abbey Rise Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Abbey Rise Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   97 Wells Road, Bath BA2 3AN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 190 Bath B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Relaxed and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Travelling with a 2 year old can be a little stressful but we were immediately at ease on arrival at Abbey Rise with a lovely warm welcome from Katherine. We had a gorgeous weekend in Bath and enjoyed 2 nights accommodation in the family room at Abbey Rise with a lovely view over to the town. The room was very comfortable with a king bed, a single bed and a small ensuite bathroom and tea/coffee-making facilities. There are nice touches like current magazines and lots of DVDs available from downstairs to watch in your room. 
Breakfast was provided in the dining room with lots of options including a choice of a full English breakfast which was a treat. Our son was well-catered for with his own place set at the table and had a lovely time even ending up in the kitchen and back garden with entertainment provided by Katherine's son! 
Getting into town by foot is an easy walk and there is a car park to leave the car which is great. Katherine can provide plenty of suggestions on where to go and places to eat.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
43
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

Katherine made us feel at home from the moment we arrived. She stopped and visited with my nieces about her time working in Buckingham Palace and answered all of their questions. She fed us an excellent hot breakfast with fresh fruit and bread. The house was clean and comfortable and only a short walk into the City Centre. Katherine gave us some great touring tips and treated us like family. We will certainly stay again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

One of the cleanest B&B's I've ever stayed at! Very comfy beds and very quiet, despite the fact that we had the window open all night (we had a room facing the garden).
The owner Katherine had put out a chocolate cake for her guests and it was lovely!
Good location, only a short walk to the city centre and buses / railway station.
I really liked the fact that breakfast was served at one long table, it gave great opportunties to talk to other guests from all around the world.
Katherine runs a great B&B here and I strongly recommend it!
Our room was on the smaller side, but we didn't mind as everything else was so great.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed for 2 nights and it couldn't have been better. We got there quite late on the Friday but it was no problem for Linda, who was looking after the place while Katherine was away. We did get a cab to the place from the train station but it took less than 5 minutes and, as we discovered, is easily walkable.

The B&B is around 10 minutes walk from the centre of Bath, which is ideal, and meant we could head back after a day's sight-seeing and go back in to town for dinner.

We had a room in the top floor, which gave us a great view over the city. The room was comfortable, with a nice little en suite bath room, and some shortbread!

Breakfast was a continental one, rather than cooked. But this was no problem as it probably did us more good to have a more healthy breakfast! Cereal, toast, fruit, tea and coffee were all we needed. Linda was a lovely host, she even let us have breakfast late on the Sunday, and let us leave our bags there to collect before our train left later in the day.

I'd highly recommend a stay here, great value, great location.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

We had a very comfortable three night stay at Abbey Rise. The owner Katherine was very welcoming and helpful. We had the family room at the top of the house which was tastefully furnished and decorated and very clean. The breakfasts were freshly made with plenty of variety and options for vegetarians and gluten free diets (requested by other guests also staying there). Katherine provided home made cakes during the day, which was a nice touch. It was just a short walk into town, so we could leave the car in the carpark until we left. We would recommend this to others looking for a short break in Bath.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

The B&B is situated next to the city center and is a good value.
The room was nice and clean.
The bathroom was small and we had a problem with the sink.
The breakfast was very good with a lot of choice.
The staff was nice but not that friendly.
Private parking

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

We stayed in Abbey Rise for 2 days and had a good time. Katherine, the owner, is very friendly ands gives good advices about Bath. The rooms are charming, the house has character. In the morning all the guests have a healthy and fresh breakfast together at one table. We know for sure that we'll be back here.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbey Rise Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Rise Bed and Breakfast

Address: 97 Wells Road, Bath BA2 3AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 190 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbey Rise Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Abbey Rise b&b
Abbey Rise Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbey Rise Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.