We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very filling food, nice atmosphere.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Palace

Crystal Palace
10-11 Abbey Green | Bath, Bath BA1 1NW, England
1225 482666
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 42 Nightlife in Bath
Type: Bar/ Clubs, Bars
Attraction details
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
73 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Very filling food, nice atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

My friend and I were looking for somewhere to have a late lunch whilst in Bath and decided that we wanted a pub lunch. On entering the Crystal palace we were pleased to see it maintained a welcoming feel with the lighting and was full of interesting pictures on the walls. The seating arrangement was cozy on the side we were in, although maintained enough space for you to feel separate from other diners. We both chose to have starters and then one of us ordered from the menu and the other from the specials board. No problem with ordering. They were even happy to add a side order when we decided we wanted one after a little while. The starter was served hot and was very filling. Although we had a wait for the main it came out hot so gave the impression it had been freshly prepared.
The only sneaky thing was when paying by card they start by asking if you want to pay a service charge/ tip. I didn't realise this and found myself on a page asking how much I wanted to tip. However if you were paying attention you could have said no to this. It is a pay before you eat place. I thought the food was of a reasonable price due to the location right near the Abbey and the portions were worth it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    28
    3
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bath
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good food, great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We've eaten on here a few times, everytime has been good.

Great pub food at reasonable prices, really nice home made chips! can get really busy so you need to hunt for a table.

Outside has big patio heaters so you can sit outside in the winter, which can be needed when busy!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Location, Average Menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Working in Bath The Crystal Palace is easy for lunch breaks. It's in the centre of bath, literally a minute's walk from the Abbey.

There are four main spaces; two original pub rooms, an extension and a courtyard garden with large canopy cover.

The standard menu is traditional pub food (ham, egg & chips, fish and chips etc), but popping in for lunch I find the light meal options a little limited (though it is good some main meals are offered as smaller portions too!). They have a special board which usually has some nice options...again often a little big if just after a snack and they tend to sell out quickly and early. There are sandwich and jacket potato options too...which are a usual "go-to" at lunch.

The staff are friendly and light lunch with a soft drink would cost about £8-10, which I think is a little expensive for what it is (generally).

DO BE CAREFUL IF YOU ARE ON LIMITED TIME - CHECK FOOD ORDER TIMES FIRST!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Could've been better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We were four adults and ordered a variety of meals - none of these was spectacular.
One of us ordered the brie and bacon baguette. This was probably the most unimpressive, as the baguette was not even sliced, let alone buttered - the guest had to make the sandwich himself! It is possible to achieve both presentation and taste without expecting the guest to do half the work for you.
Another guest had a meal with mashed potatoes, which were very dry.
In the end, we didn't stay for dessert in case this was as disappointing as the main meals.
Skip.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great pub grup with back patio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We always come here for a pint and lunch sitting outside in the rear patio area. Great when it is sunny. The food is pretty good too.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crystal Palace also viewed

Bath, Somerset
 

Been to Crystal Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.