We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clayton's Kitchen

Clayton's Kitchen
15A George Street, Bath BA1 2EN, England
+44 1225 585100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 459 Restaurants in Bath
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Late Night
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Superb Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We dropped into Clayton's Kitchen without a reservation on our way back from visiting the Royal Crescent. The staff were very welcoming and the food was delicious - packed with flavour and perfectly presented. We'd certainly recommend them for lunch!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sachi N, Reservations Manager at Clayton's Kitchen, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Hi Steve,

Thank you for the feedback! We are so glad you enjoyed your meal.
With best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    53
    7
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
“More Attention to Detail”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

The Porter is clearly evolving and needs a little more time to be really special. Nowhere to hang coats; staff really nice but need to be more efficient; heating needs to be turned up a few degrees and the wooden kitchen chairs need cushions! Also since when has a burger been slices of meat?
Easy to try the wrong door - always embarrassing! Other than that - promising.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“perfect party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

My mum and I were celebrating our birthdays and had booked the library for a private dinner of 19. It was the perfect evening, Food and service were great, Organising the menus and emiling the events team was simple. Nothing was too much trouble. They gave us a very memorable evening! Thankyou.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sachi N, Reservations Manager at Clayton's Kitchen, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Hi Hayley,

We are so glad you enjoyed your party. Happy Birthday!...... and we look forward to seeing you and your family again soon. With Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We popped in for a drink in Porters upstairs liked the friendly staff and decided to go downstairs to Clayton's kitchen for lunch. The sandwiches were fantastic so we booked to come back in the evening for dinner. The meal didn't disappoint, it was one of those meals that you just don't want to finish as it was so good, great flavours, cooked perfectly and served by staff who looked after you throughout the evening. We are planning our next visit to Bath and Clayton's Kitchen will be on our list to visit again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sachi N, Reservations Manager at Clayton's Kitchen, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Mike,

Thank you for taking time to feedback to us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Defiantly worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

After the new refurb I had to try out the offerings at the porter and I wasn't let down, started off with the smoked ham hock and purée which was amazing and followed by the partridge which was cooked to perfection , finished off the meal with a great cheesecake cocktails. 10/10 will be back

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sachi N, Reservations Manager at Clayton's Kitchen, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Hi,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us some feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed your meal here and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clayton's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Clayton's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clayton's Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.