We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walk, run or cycle the old railway tunnels” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Two Tunnels Greenway

Two Tunnels Greenway
Bath, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 91 attractions in Bath
Attraction Details
Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Walk, run or cycle the old railway tunnels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I loved to travel up the Linear Path, past the old brickworks, long gone clay pit and coal bakery sidings on the old track bed of the Somerset and Dorset Bath to Bournemouth and Burnham railway, closed in 1966. Gentle inclines of 1 in 50 maximum, pose no problem. There are two busy weekend tunnels now opened with very nice tarmac surfaces connecting Bath to the Midford Viaduct and Council maintained track bed open to Wellow, with links to Radstock, Midsomer Norton & Frome if you are really keen. The first short tunnel is the Devonshire Tunnel, then you reach the Combe Down Tunnel, just over a mile long and both fitted with Council lighting; Feels a mild 10 C on a cold Winters day ! Many people return on cycles by a road link to the Somerset & Avon Canal towpath, via the Dundas Aqueduct gently downhill back to Bath; a round trip of 13 miles. The Hope & Anchor pub at Midford, for lunch, nicely breaks the journey with spectacular scenery, civil engineering and history, pubs also in Limpley Stoke. This was part of the route now long gone for the weekdays Pines Express from Manchester to Bournemouth and the Summer Saturday Exmouth to Cleethorpes Express etc."

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic! Unique experience on (or under) or doorstep.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Congratulations to the people who raised the money and got this cycle way built, it's a great experience. We live in Combe Down (and the tunnels run under the village).

I cycled with my 2 kids (aged 7 & 8) from Oldfield Park (start) for dinner at the Rose and Crown pub at Midford, a great pub for food. My wife met us at the pub on a lovely summers evening.

It was so nice to be able to cycle on a safe pathway and going under ground was great. The kids enjoyed yelling to get an echo and we all bombed along quite nicely. The valley between the 2 tunnels is a great hidden gem for walks, so closecthe the centre of Bath. It was also lovely to hear music play as we zoomed along - an unexpected delight. We'll be trying the entire length and the pub at Wellow next time.

You do have to be alert for walkers and other users but no more so than anywhere else.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Brillant safe cycling for the whole family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

cycled the two tunnels trail from Wellow to Bath with my family including our 6 & 9 year old children. This section of cycle trail is away from any traffic and suprisingly a level trail into Bath when compared to the road access. The trail is excellent perfect if you have children who are perhaps to young to cycle on roads.
The Combe Down tunnel is long! - taking us 10 mins or more to cycle.
We parked at Wellow which made the trail a good cycle ride - about 12 miles return journey.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“An attraction in its own right!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Did this as part of a large cycling group and it is impressive for sure. I was slighly concerned that it is shared with joggers and walkers though. The joggers are the worst danger both to the cyclists and themselves as they approach with no visability of them at all. Walkers will see and hear bikes and move to the gravel area if they need too, joggers hear nothing!
The whle route is well worth the effort to Radstock which has a really good cafe oposite the bike shop. Great cakes :)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Dramatic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

This whole venture was clearly a huge undertaking but one that has been well worth the time, money and effort. The surface is a high quality tarmac and all the bridges have been replaced so there are no roads to cross. The tunnels themselves are like nothing I have experienced on other cycle trails. You have to experience them to understand, just make sure your bike has a bell and lights so others know you are coming because it is easy to pick up speed especially going south.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Tunnels Greenway also viewed

 

Been to Two Tunnels Greenway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Two Tunnels Greenway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Two Tunnels Greenway to your Saves list