We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous food and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koh Thai Tapas, Bath

Koh Thai Tapas, Bath
36 Broad Street | Bath, Bath BA1 5LP, England
01225 311232
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 414 Restaurants in Bath
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Thai, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Koh Thai Tapas, Bath The Newest addition to the Thai Tapas Family. Discover the very best in rustic Thai cuisine - Tapas style! Good Vibes and good times - Koh Thai Tapas on Broad Street!We would like to introduce the newest member of the Koh Thai Tapas Restaurants group, Koh Thai Tapas Restaurant — Koh Thai Tapas, Bath is located at the old La Tasca site on 36 Broad Street, directly opposite Milsom Place. We are incredibly excited to be bringing our award winning Thai Tapas to this beautiful city!
UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“fabulous food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

we choice the £25 a head tasting menu. The staff asked for any allergies, preferences, likes and dislikes so they could cater int he choice and delivered at sumptuous banquet to us. For 4 people we had 4 plates of starters - spring rolls, vegetable tempura, etc. Mains was a further 3 vegetarian dishes, 2 curries, 2 meat dishes, rice and some vegetables! we ate like royalty. We drank cocktails but even so at just under £50 a head this was a great meal. All of the staff were young - but they were very attentive, nothing was too much trouble and even on a Sunday night the restaurant was quite full

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    97
    36
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Ok but food of variable quality and wouldn't visit again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Three of us ate at Koh Thai Tapas in Bath early on a Saturday evening. Service was very friendly although it took a long time for food to come to our table after ordering. The décor is good too and the place was full which gave it a nice atmosphere. Music was a bit odd for a Thai restaurant though - there was certainly nothing Asian about it.

We decided to go for the Thai tapas and found it to be fun eating that way though the food was of variable quality. We all really liked the fishcakes, crispy beef and squid while we had mixed views on the ribs. We had two types of spring rolls and they weren't very good at all - the duck ones in particular were almost inedible with very little duck inside and a not very nice texture to both the duck and the spring onions. The chicken wings too were poor - and I'm normally a big fan of chicken wings. We also had a dessert - banana fritters - and it was ok though nothing special.

Unfortunately we were also overcharged by £4 which I spotted but didn't want to point out because my Mother was paying. I'm sure it was an accident but it does show a bit of inefficiency to go alongside the slowness of food reaching our table.

All in all an OK experience, but with so many good restaurants in Bath we won't be visiting again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broughton Gifford, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Most Excellent Thai!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Interesting concept Thai Tapas !! However, guess it is in what was the old Spanish Tapas place......

We were very impressed by the food we received, had the Pad Tai which was great, the Lamb Curry which was immense !! the Dim Sum which was spicy Hot!!!! lovely....and fish cakes which were the only average aspect of the meal......good quick friendly service.

My only complaint.....and it is starting to get to me everywhere I go and eat nowaays; is the insistence of the staff calling you 'Guys'!!!!!! arrrgggg !!! HI, what can I get you guys ? How was the meals for you guys? Can I get you guys some more drinks? !!!!! I am saying this light heartedly of course ;-) maybe I am becoming curmudgeonly....will go back...grit me teeth lol

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A must for any Thai food lover!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Been here on more than one occasion now and have yet to be anything other than astounded by the quality of the food. Service has always been really friendly too. Have recommended loads of people to this place and they have all thanked me for it! TRY IT!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good food, badly dressed waiters! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Food fantastic as usual, but the young waiters really need to pull their trousers up and hide their undies! The waitresses have far more dress sense. Shame their are no authentic Thai waitresses.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koh Thai Tapas, Bath also viewed

 

Been to Koh Thai Tapas, Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koh Thai Tapas, Bath, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.