We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special family meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nonna's Cucina Italiana

Nonna's Cucina Italiana
39 Gay Street, Bath BA1 2NT, England
01225 427919
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #110 of 458 Restaurants in Bath
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A special family meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Seven of us shared a very good dinner in Bath. The food was very fresh and the portions excellent. House wine also a very good standard. The staff were very attentive and beautifully turned out.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    43
    26
    16
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Keeps getting better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We took Australian relatives to Bath, and had lunch in Nonna's. We already knew it was excellent, but they not only pleased three of us who enjoy food, but also satisfied one very fussy Australian who does not like 'different' food or drink.
We all had a very good lunch, thanks again Nonna's for coming up trumps.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very disappointing.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We have dined at this restaurant on three occasions and we don't know why we returned the third time! Upon arrival we received a very cold reception and the waiting staff are not friendly.
My partner and I both ordered the tagliatelle ai funghi di bosco. The pasta was not well cooked and the mushrooms were chewy and slimy. While my plate had too much pasta to mushrooms, my partner's had hardly any pasta and too many mushrooms. He is a big eater but could not finish his meal.
Neither of us enjoyed our meals and won't return.
We spend a lot of time in Bath and there are so many fine restaurants there. Unfortunately this is not one of them.
I hate writing a bad review, but, in this case I felt I had to.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraLicata, Owner at Nonna's Cucina Italiana, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for your comments.

I am very sorry you did not enjoy your third visit to our restaurant as much as the first two.

The tagliatelle ai fungi is made using fresh and dried porcini muchrooms which may account for the texture you are referring to.

Regarding difference in portion size, this issue has now been raised with the kitchen team so we can hopefully do our best to avoid this problem in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Found hair in my food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Yesterday I went to have my lunch there and I found Hair in my food, absolutely disgusting.
I alerted the staff about this and asked for the bill, the bill came –everything was charged expect the returned plate with hair– no apologies just silent and strange looks from the waiters.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraLicata, Owner at Nonna's Cucina Italiana, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am extremely sorry this unfortunate incident occurred. I would like to reassure you that every effort is taken to ensure things of this nature do not happen. In fact, this is the first time (and hopefully the last!) something like this has happened.

I am pleased you were not charged for the dish that was affected but am very sorry you did not feel the waiters were sympathetic enough about this mistake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“this is what i call italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Friendly welcome, fantastic Italian food. The stuffed squid starter was excellent followed by the octopus pasta

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nonna's Cucina Italiana also viewed

 

Been to Nonna's Cucina Italiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nonna's Cucina Italiana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.