We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food & atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of No. 5 BISTRO - CLOSED

No. 5 BISTRO
5 Argyle Street, Bath, England
01225-44-44-99
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Boston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous food & atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

This little gem on the bridge served the best food I had in England, causing me to return for a 2nd night, when I was greeted like an old friend with a complimentary Kir Royale. I can't be effusive enough about the Coq au Vin! The aspargus & goat cheese salad was also excellent, & the Boeuf Bourgignon was delicious comfort food, though a tiny bit too salty for my taste. The jazz trio from Bristol plays standards w/ a French swing two nights a week.
I loved the warm attention by the staff & owner while I was traveling solo. Unlike other reviewers, I had no problem being seated without having made a reservation, but I was on Continental time, so I didn't arrive until 8:30-9:00pm, so perhaps it is more crowded earlier in the evening.
Please be sure to dine at No. 5 Bistro while you're in Bath - you will be delighted with your evening and will wonder why there isn't a line out the door at this charming bistro.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    41
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent little bistro - book in advance!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This is a lovely little bistro, cooking authentic French classics. Great value, good food and pleasant service - happy to make a small change for me. Worth making a reservation as I have tried a few times in the spur of the moment and it was fully booked.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“What a find!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

If you are in Bath and enjoy Classic French food with a true bistro atmosphere look no further!! From the warm welcome to the classic French dishes this place is a class act. Go and try it you will not be dissapointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“No Complaints”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The best decision we made was to book in advance. On arrival we were expected and were delighted to be escorted to the window table. My wife and I enjoyed a 3 course experience that did not disappoint. I always opt for soup and was pleasantly surprised. My wife chose venison for her main and was overwhelmed by the generous and well sliced strips. Usually dry, the venison had maintained its texture and was beautifully presented. Our choice of Savaignon Blanc complimented all 3 courses. The staff were well presented and very courteous. The restaurant is well worth a visit if in Bath as you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fully satisfied”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I cannot disagree more with the last review.

I have been a regular customer of No. 5 Bistro over the last 2 years,
and have not once left feeling dissatisfied.
I have always found the food to be of quality, an excellent choice of wine,
the service to be prompt and friendly,
+ above all I have always enjoyed the charming ambiance.

The last review was 'blatantly' malicious - ulterior motives at work there I'm afraid
I don't usually submit reviews on restaurants, because as a general rule if I don't like them
I just leave it as it is and never go back.

I was last in the restaurant just 2 days ago. I had king prawns, and my main course was pork belly.
It was very well cooked, and tasted delicious as usual !
I promise to write another review the next time I go in there.
In the meantime I highly recommend this fine restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed No. 5 BISTRO also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage No. 5 BISTRO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.