We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of No. 5 BISTRO

No. 5 BISTRO
5 Argyle Street, Bath, England
01225-44-44-99
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
No. 5 BISTRO is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 436 restaurants in Bath
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Meh...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Entirely unmemorable meal, badly timed service and too expensive for what we got. I can cook as well. A true shame as it has one of the best locations in Bath. Quick one course lunch, maybe. Romantic evening meal, not recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    95
    34
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Authentic French bistro - ideal for lunch.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We visited No.5 on a weekday lunchtime. It was fairly quiet and the service was very prompt. The food was excellent and the place had an authentic French atmosphere - unfortunately this extended to the basement loos! If you are visiting the Holburne Museum (which I recommend) No. 5 is only a short walk away.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were looking for something a bit special for our last night in Bath and had read good reviews of this place online so decided to give it a go. We went on a Tuesday night and they had live jazz music. My wife and I both had the french onion soup to start and steak frites for our main. The food was all very good - our only criticism was the steak came with thick cut chips, not what we would consider as frites. Food was quite expensive but overall, a very enjoyable experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great little bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We dropped in for a snack on our way home from a pub or two and had a really delightful meal with excellent service, altogether exceptional.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Don't miss it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is a very small restaurant which could easily be missed but look out for it if you want a very good meal out. We had just arrived in Bath and it was recommended by our hotel. We were warmly welcomed and the atmosphere was very friendly. The menu was very imaginative and it was difficult to make a decision. We were given a complimentary dish of olives, dips and bread while we were perusing the menu. I opted for the smoked duck, Parmesan cheese and green beans as starter followed by a steak which was cooked to perfection. We liked it so much we returned a couple of days later and we greeted like old friends. This time we all went for the Beef Bourguignon and all agreed it was the best we'd ever had. We were certainly look them up next time we visit Bath

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed No. 5 BISTRO also viewed

 

Been to No. 5 BISTRO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage No. 5 BISTRO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.