We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and so friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brunswick Cottage Bath

Save Saved
You added Brunswick Cottage Bath to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brunswick Cottage Bath
42 Combe Road, Bath BA2 5HY, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
CALL DIRECT FOR BEST RATE
Ranked #59 of 187 Bath B&B and Inns
Yorkshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely and so friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed here recently when visiting bath. The location is about a 25minutes walk from bath centre and takes you through the lovely park and gardens. Its situated just far enough away for you to choose to take a leisurley stroll or catch the number 1 bus at the stop which is directly outside. The Brunswick Cottage is situated on a quiet side street with free parking which is always a bonus. The place itself is clean, comfortable and has everything you need such as wifi, tv, tea and coffee a very good shower and a decent hairdryer as the other half was impressed. The views out the back are again very nice and there is just a general comfy feel to the place. Breakfast is cereals full english anything you want really within reason. Carole the owner even made us one of her smoothies. This is where Brunswick Cottage stands out from most. Carole make its so so friendly that it feels like your staying with a friend. She really cant do enough and seems to run about the place with an almost wanten need to make your stay as best as it can be. We would certainly recommend this place to anybody wanting a quiet comfy and friendly base with which to explore Bath.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
24
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

I booked this last minute and had a great experience. The owner was really helpful and friendly with some good tips about the surroundings. We had breakfast in the conservatory which was lovely. We only had a light breakfast but there were plenty of options we could have chosen from.
Location is great, we walked just a short distance and did some of the Bath skyline walk, and there was another national trust nearby as well.
We booked the garden view room with small ensuite which was perfectly adequate for one night. The room and communal areas were really nicely decorated. Would happily stay again

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My partner and I stayed in the attic room. It was very cosy and fun, especially the fact that there was no shower, only a bath. Removing soap with a jar was very amusing. The hostess is a lovely lady and we spent hours talking to her during breakfast. I would definitely come back.

Room Tip: There are 3 rooms in the B&B, the attic is small but very cosy. The other two I did not see, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley on Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband, myself, and our 17month old son just spent an evening at Brunswick Cottage in the Four Post Bed room and it was gorgeous! Carol, the owner, couldn't be nicer, and was very welcoming to our family. We were even able to fit our sons pack'n play (portable crib) in the adjacent bunk bed room!! The lady running the B&B while we were there was so kind and even brought a basket of toys for our son to play with. We just found they did everything they could to make us welcome and comfortable. The decor in the home is really lovely, which was one of things that originally set it apart for me when I did my search. We felt like royalty sleeping in the four post bed with gorgeous gold mirrors and beautiful linens. I would recommend this home to anyone looking for a cozy, welcoming place to stay in Bath!!

Room Tip: The four post bed room was excellent for our family with toddler in tow. He got his own room so mom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My fiancee and I stayed here late September, for one night. Located on the outskirts of Bath, Brunswick Cottage is in our opinion, a real find. Lovely, clean, comfortable room and run by an equally nice, friendly lady who made the best breakfast we've ever had in a hotel/guesthouse. We'd definitely return!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed two nights at Brunswick Cottage on 1st and 2nd December 2012. We initially booked the four poster room for our stay but were contacted to say there had been a double-booking for that room and instead we stayed in another room, which was nice and we were offered a discounted rate. Carole was a very welcoming host and it was nice to be able to chat to her and ask her questions about the local area; she gave great advice about getting to the city and recommended a fantastic local pub where we had a lovely meal on our second night. The room had all the facilities but was probably slightly small for everything in it. The breakfasts were tasty and were tailored each day to what we wanted. I would recommend Brunswick Cottage to anyone looking to stay in Bath who wants a friendly welcome, great host and to be out of the city slightly. Parking outside was free and available also, which is always a bonus!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambourn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We only found Brunswick Cottage after a last minute cancellation and having now stayed there we can see why it's so popular. The room was clean and comfortable, and whilst being in a quiet side street still was accessible to the town centre. Carole was the perfect host, making us very welcome and being a mine of information on the town and its entertainments. She cooks a very good breakfast too!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brunswick Cottage Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brunswick Cottage Bath

Address: 42 Combe Road, Bath BA2 5HY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Brunswick Cottage Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brunswick Cottage Bath, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.