We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Truly fantastic meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kilted Chef - CLOSED

The Kilted Chef
7A Kingsmead Square, Bath BA1 2AB, England (Formerly Kilted Chef)
+44 1225 466688
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $26 - $86
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Kilted Chef is an independent restaurant in the centre of Bath, serving contemporary British food with a Scottish twist. Our warm and ambient dining facilities provide the perfect venue for a relaxed lunch or memorable dinner in the heart of Bath. All our dishes use only the finest ingredients whilst reflecting the varying seasons. Our set lunches and pre-theatre dishes offer particularly good value for money and we have received many favourable reviews of our A La Carte and bespoke taster menus which can be prepared on request.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Truly fantastic meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We went to Bath for a surprise treat for our Mother on 7th December.There was a warm welcome and what else can I say but the meal was truly delicious and lived up to all the reviews.We will definitely be visiting again on our returns trips to Bath.Thankyou

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiltedChefBath, Manager at The Kilted Chef, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you 611sue for your review, we are so pleased that we made your Mothers birthday a memorable one and that your experience lived up to the previous reviews here on tripadvisor. We look forward to seeing you again soon, Best Regards, Sue Chalmers, Front of House Director, Kilted Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    159
    31
    20
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely, wish them luck, and will be back soon.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Visited Nov 29th.
On entering I was warmly welcomed by the manager. Had some great banter at the bar with her while I waited for my guest.
The food was great, I'm not going to write some erotic food pornography about it. It was very delicious.
Definetly worth a visit. Was so disapointed I couldnt have a return visit on Weds 5th December. I ended up going to an old favourite, which failed to impress. I've given up on the other place(very close to theatre). WILL DEFINETLY be back to Kilted Chef.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiltedChefBath, Manager at The Kilted Chef, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thanks antbiggy for your review, we are glad you gave us a try from your old favourite, and that you hope to return to us again soon, and we loved your comment on 'erotic food pornography'!! We look forward to welcoming you back, Best Regards, Sue Chalmers, Front of House Director, Kilted Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, South Wales
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great vlue lunch and delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We visited the Kilted Chef on Saturday 17th November after I found it listed on the Bath restaurants site the week previously. We were in Bath for the day on a shopping trip and wanted to eat somewhere independent with quality food without spending a fortune.
The food really lived up to the billing on their website and the atmosphere in the dining room was calm and relaxed. The wine was delicious and not overpriced, which is a trap that small venues often fall into.The waitress seemed a little inexperienced, but they had only been open a few weeks and I'm probably being a bit picky, and there was a genuine welcome from the front of house staff.
We had a lovely relaxing break from the trauma of Christmas shopping and I would recommend The Kilted Chef to anyone who knows the difference between food made with care and attention, and formulaic dishes produced by all the chains out there, many of which pose as independents. Eat local! and support chefs and restaurateurs who care.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiltedChefBath, Manager at The Kilted Chef, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thanks Karen S, we are glad we could be your sanctuary from the hustle and bustle of Christmas shopping, and that you truly enjoyed your meal. We have been very busy these past few weeks, hence our delayed reply, but we value your comments, especially regarding our staff, of whom we will be doing further training with in the new year. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Bath. Best Regards, Sue Chalmers, Front of House Director, Kilted Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Scrumptious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Fine dining at its best. An explosion of delicious flavours at every course. Artistically presented. Definitely, a return visit is called for.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiltedChefBath, Manager at The Kilted Chef, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you Tarzia G for your review, greatly appreciated, glad you enjoyed and are considering returning soon. Best Regards, Sue Chalmers, Front of House Director, Kilted Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Could go Far”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We went to the Kilted Chef on a recommendation and overall we were pleased, we got there and were greeted by the lovely front of house team, it did make us laugh that they all did try and seat us. We got our menus and ordered our food, we were a bit surprised that seeming they only do 4 or so dishes in each bit they had run out of things/ changed dishes and could not re-print the menu, as it was just on paper. Anyway the food was delicious, I would recommend the Belly Pork, my girlfriend had the shoulder of lamb and really enjoyed it except it has a large bit of gristle in, we would have said something but we had just about finished before we were asked is everything was ok. Dessert was lovely and could have eaten more (but we all could do that), then the paying part, we were really surprised what good value it was and thought it was extremely reasonable, we did feel sorry for them as the phone lines were down so they were asking people to pay cash and some people were just rude and I felt they dealt with this extremely well.

Overall seeming it has not been open long, they are going in the right direction

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiltedChefBath, Manager at The Kilted Chef, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you Localboy23 for taking the time to write your review. We are grateful for your comments, but wish you had mentioned the lamb at the time, so that we could have dealt with it there and then, and can only apologise that you were not completely satisfied. We do thank you for your understanding and patients on the day for the lack of phone line, and can now confirm that BT have completed their engineering works due to the flooding, so hope that when you return you will experience a smoother payment service. Best Regards, Sue Chalmers, Front of House Director, Kilted Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kilted Chef also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kilted Chef, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.