We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Jimmy Spice's

Jimmy Spice's
Dorchester Street | South Gate Shopping Centre, Bath, England
01225 426802
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #338 of 459 Restaurants in Bath
Price range: $11 - $23
Cuisines: Asian, European, Chinese, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations, Buffet, Late Night
West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

A very large party on a works Christmas do, we weren't expecting haute cuisine but definitely expected something edible.

Service was terrible, drinks taking half an hour to arrive and were then just dumped on one empty place.

Food was horrible, all the curries were watery and tasteless, all the "fresh" food to be cooked in front of you was nearly empty and never replenished - the dregs of what was there was limp and dry. Even the chips were disgusting!!

Will never go to a Jimmy's again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    22
    22
    14
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Huge selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

From American, to Indian, Thai, Sushi, Chinese, Italian. there truely is something for everyone, and the dessert post has some amazing creations. You need to go in hungry to make the most of it, so you can try everything.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Full of drunken teens in the evening so no place for a family or civilised party of friends.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Evening time was clearly a very bad time to come. Although we pre booked the table & chairs were dirty when we were ushered over so we had to stand rather uncomfortably twiddling our thumbs (so to speak) while someone wiped table & chairs over, we were also seated in the noisiest area where the music was so loud it felt like we were sitting in a night club & the roars & shouts of the drunken party next to us was awful.. We asked to be reseated but the answer was no, it's not possible, this was annoying as we'd passed by numerous empty tables by the quieter bar/entrance area on our way in.. We should have left at that point but several of our party were starving & just wanted to eat! The food was ok, not great.. The alcoholic drinks we ordered were served quite quickly but the water we requested didn't turn up until after we'd finished our meal & that was only after we asked about 20 times for it! Due to the loud music & shouting from the table next to us it was impossible to have any form of conversation.. Though saying this! A very young waitress came over & proceeded to 'chat my husband up' for over 20 minutes much to his, mine & our 3 children's embarrassment..she didn't even bring over the water so really had no business talking to him at all!! All in all a terrible night.. I would only recommend this place to drunks at throwing out time as an alternative to a kebab shop. Family bookings shouldn't have been taken. We won't be back.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Went with with 3 friends last week, no greeting at front door, staff lazy and reluctant to serve customers. Took more 30 mins to get drinks. The food quality poor and variety not wide enough. Make me sick after eating curries. Try to avoid by all means.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania Town, Greece
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Food from many countries”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I had visited it twice while I was in Bath for the academic year 2010-2011. The first time I was there, I enjoyed the dinner very much. It is impressive that there are more than 5 different cuisines to chose from, from chinese to greek and from indian to italian. Still, they cook everything in front of you. You just choose the ingredients you prefer and they do in front of you. Further, there were great desserts, such as the chocolate tower.
However, in the second time I visited it I was not so satisfied from the flavours.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jimmy Spice's also viewed

 

Been to Jimmy Spice's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jimmy Spice's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.