We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely evening meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roman Baths Kitchen

Roman Baths Kitchen
Abbey Church Yard, Bath BA1 1LZ, England
01225 477877
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Roman Baths Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #183 of 459 Restaurants in Bath
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Neighboring the iconic Roman Baths and Bath Abbey, The Roman Baths Kitchen is a stunning Georgian townhouse, lovingly transformed into a contemporary restaurant in the heart of Bath. The restaurant is open daily for breakfast, coffee, lunch, dinner and bar drinks. With a large outside seating area, The Roman Baths Kitchen is perfectly positioned for a spot of alfresco dining amongst some of Bath’s most beautiful architecture.
1 review
“Lovely evening meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Went out for a meal friday night and decided to try the romans bath kitchen, wasnt dissapointed. I orderd the rump of lamb whilst my partner orderd the sole. Whilst waiting we wer served an appetiser of praline popcorn and a very refreshing Gazpacho. The lamb was perfectly cooked with a lovely spiced aubergine puree, presented beautifly. My partner said her sole was nice and moist with the creamiest mash she's ever had. Service staff where very attentive. We Shall definatly return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    111
    42
    31
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Gorgeous reasonably priced food, varied menu, good service and friendly staff. What more can I say?
Close to the Roman Baths and the Abbey so ideal location.
The staff were very helpful when we had to check if the dessert had fresh cream due to an allergy.
I will certainly return if visiting Bath again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing - won't be going again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I arrived with an elderly lady for an early evening meal. The staff were welcoming and helpful. We ordered a much needed cup of tea and it was very good although wooden sticks to stir the tea rather than teaspoons was rather odd. The choice of food on the menu we were given was poor. The only vegetarian option I was offered was a Risotto and my elderly companion ordered the Smoked Mackerel sandwich. The food was extremely disappointing. The Risotto was salty and so highly coloured that the e-numbers were positively jumping off the plate! The sandwich consisted of two pieces of dry bread with pieces of dry fish chopped up on top of the lower slice. Accompanying the fish was the most inedible greenery that was icy cold. This was served with some edible chips which had to be replaced after the waitress dropped them.
Altogether a forgettable experience

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Overpriced and a little lacking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We went as a party of five for my mother-in-law's birthday and I have to say we were a little disappointed. The waiter was delightful and helpful but the food was a bit of a letdown.

Not a big enough choice on the menu really and personally I feel it was overpriced. With his chicken my boyfriend had a salad....which turned out to be about 7 little gem lettuce leaves! The triple cooked chips look anaemic and barely cooked once let alone 3 times. Food was not hot when it arrived. Overall not brilliant will not be returning as not good value for money.
If you want to be a fancy pantsy restaurant with prices reflecting this then you really need to eliver the good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Terrible, cold, bland, undercooked! DO NOT VISIT!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Went here for a coffee and some light lunch on Friday. The coffee was very good. Unfortunately that was about it!

We ordered artichoke soup. It was cold, very watered down and tasted much like hot milk! Perhaps they had watered it down as just after they changed the soup to tomato.

We had one side of triple cooked chips and one of frites. The triple cooked chips were very greasy and under cooked. To be fair the frites were OK.

We didn't complain, to be honest for the sake of £20 worth or bad food we didn't bother.

Won't be going back and would advise anyone who wants a decent meal to give this one a miss.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roman Baths Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Roman Baths Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roman Baths Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.