We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dorset Villa Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dorset Villa Guest House to your Saves list
Dorset Villa Guest House
31 Crescent Gardens, Bath BA1 2NB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #170 of 190 Bath B&B and Inns
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“First night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Having recently traveled to the UK we spent our first night in Bath at the Dorset Villa. We were well satisfied with both the accommodations and the service. We saw nor encountered any bugs. Our room was clean and adequate. We did not stay there for any reason but to sleep and have breakfast. The rest of the time we spent seeing as much as we could in beautiful Bath. Our only complaint is the weird traffic patterns and lack or parking in Bath, which is certainly not Dorset Villa's fault. Our host was most accommodating and helpful and sent us for dinner at the Raven Pub that will stay in our memory for a long time! We walked everywhere and have fond memories of Bath.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    10
    7
    8
    22
See reviews for
8
20
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cannock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We stayed for one night - before reading reviews! - BIG mistake!! The web site refers to 'recently refurbished' rooms, they haven't seen a lick of paint for years. The bed sheets, carpets and towels were theadbare and stained. The shower head in the ensuite could have been sold to terrorists to make biological weapons - it may never have been cleaned since installation. The car parking on offer is also a joke - very hard to get into and more expensive than the large easily accessed public car park at the rear of the property. The breakfast was just as disappointing, poorly cooked and presented. We have stayed at lots of B & B's and hotels both in this country and around the world - this is by far the worst we have ever set foot in! If you still book after reading this and other reviews you have only yourself to blame for what you encounter.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

The reviews of this B&B being dirty and dusty are all true. Unfortunately it gets worse. Having returned from Bath this weekend, my sister-in-law is totally covered in bites!! She woke up on Saturday morning having been chewed by bed bugs !! Needless to say she didn't pay for the pleasure. Beware.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Whilst planning a short trip to Bath my partner and I were strugglling to find any accomodation which was cheap and within easy reach of the city centre. We found Dorset Villa by chance on line and were delighted with the bargain price of £55 per night and the fact it was only a short walk to the centre! We didnt read any of the Trip Advisor reviews until we had already booked our nights stay and as i'm sure you can imagine were somewhat dubious as to whether we had made the right decision or not after reading some of the horror stories. However, we were pleasantly suprised with the B&B - it was clean and comfy and the gentleman who owns it was extremely friendly and cooked a tasty full English breakfast! I will admit it doesn't compare to the big hotel chains, could do with a lick of paint or two,some black out curtains and was extremely noisy at night due to the fact its located on a main road. However, if like us you are merely looking for somewhere to sleep at the end of an extremely busy day sightseeing and you want something on the cheap side then this ticks all the boxes. The two pieces of advice I can give you is take some earplugs for the traffics noise (or ask for a room at the back of the building) and dont reserve a car parking space as there is a massive carpark directly behind the B&B and the spaces they offer are a bit of a squeeze!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

We recently stayed at the dorset villa as it was cheap and there wasn't much else available, having read the previous reviews we were slightly dubious but hoped for the best. When we first arrived all seemed fine the bedroom was average and clean enough, everything was in working order. However we woke up and found a dead bug in our bed but seeing no bites on us at the time and the fact it was dead we didn't worry too much. We went down for breakfast which was fine until we found mould on the bread!! We were only staying for one night so left after breakfast only to discover in the evening that we were covered in bites. DO NOT GO THERE UNLESS YOU WANT TO TAKE AWAY BEDBUGS WITH YOU!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

I was on a 12 day whirlwind tour of the uk with family and stayed in many many B&Bs that were not the greatest~ but this one is charming. Yes, its lived in, yes, there may be some dust, and a cobweb here or there, but it was comfortable and the couple running it made me feel like part of the family.

Big smiles at breakfast and plenty of food and coffee. John, the owner even helped us get our minivan out of an impossible park position, lol...and he had a wickedly funny sense of humor.

It's a close walk to dining, but we moved the car to a car park close to the downtown area to enjoy Bath. An excellent value for the price. Its not a Hilton, its a house, and if you're okay staying with your "great uncle john and his lovely wife" , then this is for you. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

This hotel does not present very well in person. I depended on the pics on-line when booking. When we got to the hotel, no-one was there to meet us. The door was open, all of the keys for the guest rooms were in the doors and we were able to walk through the entire place without encountering anyone. it was creepy. The rooms were rundown and not very clean. Many of the rooms do not have a shower, only a bathtub. There are only two parking spaces in the back and parking is an extra charge. You cannot access the hotel from the back but must walk down the lane, cross over using a private yard, walk back down the block to get into the hotel...not very convenient when carrying luggage. We waited almost an hour and no one came. We looked for a note or something to indicate that we were expected but found nothing. We called the number that was posted on the sign out front and the call was re-routed to a voice message box. Being that this was our only day in Bath, we finally left to try and find other accommodations, thinking that something must have happened to the owner. After searching for another hour and a half, we finally found a hotel that was not fully booked, although it was considerably more expensive. I called the phone number again for this hotel and was again re-routed to a voice message box. I left a detailed message, saying who were were and that we were intending to book other rooms because we could not reach the owner. I did not receive a response to my message. The next day the hotel billed my visa for the full cost of the two rooms and I later found out that we were billed for "NO SHOW". There are other reviews of this hotel and I wish I had read them before booking. It seems that this is a pattern for this establishment and justified by the owner, as he explains, he is " a one man show".

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dorset Villa Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorset Villa Guest House

Address: 31 Crescent Gardens, Bath BA1 2NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 190 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Dorset Villa Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dorset Villa Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.