We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Located and Great Breakfasts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Milsoms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Milsoms Hotel to your Saves list
Milsoms Hotel
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   24 Milsom Street, Bath BA1 1DG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #118 of 193 Bath B&B and Inns
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Well Located and Great Breakfasts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We tried this place when we visited Bath in September, booked it online based on reviews and it didn't disappoint. The hotel reception is the bar at the Loch Fynn restaurant downstairs but don't let that put you off. The rooms surround a typical Georgian stair case that goes all the way up to the roof of the building. Each room has a Georgian feel with modern touches.

The hotel is located just a 4 minute walk from the Roman Baths and the breakfast downstairs in the resturant were really good too.

No lift though, so if your not good with stairs then this place won't be ideal.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    70
    40
    17
    14
See reviews for
11
111
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel has the potential to be brilliant as the building is beautiful,
but unfortunately that is not the case at the moment. The entire building (except restaurant) needs a good clean, paint and tatty furnishings replacing.

We paid £115 instead of the standard £85 for what we thought would be a superior room with a roll top bath. Instead we got an added sofa and a grotty shower. When we enquired we were told we should have requested it as only 2 rooms had one, and only one of those was a dearer room. To add insult to injury our room was referred to by a member of staff as 'the noisy room', when we were checking out and mentioned our sleepless night.

On the positive side, it is ideally located for all the touristy things (although so is the travelodge next door but one for almost half the price). Plus the breakfast included was delicious, not your average greasy fry up.

Overall, I don't think I'd recommend this hotel and would advise anyone who books it to ring ahead to ensure you don't get room 1.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We really had to hunt around for the hotel which was not far from the railway station; even very close neighbours knew nothing about it-the numbering is not very logical in that area it seems; we could not find a name board (I don't know if it is because this is a protected area) and we were billed against the restaurant on the ground floor which is part of the same entreprise. The room was upstairs in a traditional building so lugging suitcases is a bit of an ordeal, but it was clean, with a view and with a reasonable bathroom. We didn't have breakfast which was included in the cost as we had to leave pretty early. GourmandBangalore

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I booked this hotel for my husbands birthday for a weekend break away. The price of the hotel was brilliant (especially for Bath), the rooms were lovely and the location was excellent! I requested a room at the top as I'd read on here that due to the location, it can be quite noisy. We didnt hear a thing! Anyway, the breakfast was beautiful, all cooked fresh for you. There is a lovely fish restaurant below which is worth visiting for some lunch - but there are so many lovely restaurants in Bath, you'll probably want to explore like we did. Would definatly go there again!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the higher level floors Beware, there is no lift in this hotel, so there are lots...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The hotel has a great location in the centre of the city (ear plugs recommended) although the rooms are a bit tired and the lack of a lift made it difficult as we were on the top floor.
The breakfast is to die for but quite dissapointed by the restaurant when we dined there on our last night.
Staff were very friendly and helpful so overall a possitive

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a fantastic location really central to the shops, bars, restaurants and sights. The park and ride bus stop is right near which was our choice for parking. The room is big and has all the luxuries of an expensive hotel for half the price!!! Lovely toiletries in a bathroom with included a fantastic stand alone bath. Nice touch with choice of teas and bottles of water in room. big mirror, hair dryer, ironing board and even a fan in the room.. perfect!! The bed was really comfy too!!! Great breakfast with lots of choice!! one of the nicest breakfast we have had in our hotel stays. really friendly service with helpful staff who were attentive and smiling offering a warm welcome!! if I was to mention one negative it would be that the ladies sitting on the stairs waiting to clean rooms before we had even had breakfast and telling us they were waiting to start wasnt great!! They were knocking on the door at check out time when I was a couple of minutes away from leaving the room... I appreciate that they have to clean rooms for new guests but perhaps they could hold off a little!! would not hesitate to return in fact coming back at Christmas.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This hotel was spot on for what we needed great location in the centre. The parking is a bit of an issue due to this however. The noise from bars opposite could be a problem if you are a light sleeper but didn't bother us to much as this is what you expect with a centrally located hotel. The rooms were clean and had everything we needed. The stairs were a bit of a mission but the fact its such an old building makes up for that and they are willing to carry your bags for you when you arrive and leave.
The best bit for me was the breakfast i have never had a breakfast included in the price that was as lovely as this. The catered for my gluten allergy and brought me bread, the fried breakfast was so lovely not the typical greasy you might expect.
All in all i would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Milsoms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milsoms Hotel

Address: 24 Milsom Street, Bath BA1 1DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Milsoms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Milsoms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milsoms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.