We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel fine, Service utterly superb.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Milsoms Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Milsoms Hotel to your Saves list
Milsoms Hotel
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   24 Milsom Street, Bath BA1 1DG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #117 of 193 Bath B&B and Inns
Haslemere
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Hotel fine, Service utterly superb.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Situated in an old bank, the Milsom hotel is in fact a small number of rooms attached to the Loch Fyne restaurant. So far, so good; Loch Fyne's a favourite so we were confident of a reasonable stay. We were greeted by Matthew, who, convivial and charming as he was, was also running the restaurant at the same time; he was flustered by neither task, and made us feel very welcome.

Hiking up a number of flights of stairs with a number of pre-Christmas dinners already weighing in on my cardio-vascular capacity was not exactly amusing, though that was entirely my fault. For those with an aversion to exercise, you might request a room on the lower of the 3 floors... Or lose some weight...

Our room was lovely. Big windows looking out from two walls onto Bath gave us superb views; the bathroom was the highlight- well-lit, modern and clean, it was perfect. The main room suffered somewhat from a very 'green' approach to lighting (i.e. there wasn't very much of it), that while environmentally sound was not particularly conducive for application of Mrs' application of her (admittedly awesome) maquillage.

Brilliant night out followed at Komedia (see separate review), followed by good night's sleep; next morning, however, disaster struck- no hot water, coinciding with no trains running due to floods. Erk. Manager informs that engineer on way.

Two exhausted, lapsed party-kids (now parents) fall asleep at 1100, waking blissfully at 1800 to a somewhat chilly room and still no water. Does nothing work outside of London? Quick call to reception reveals that our children and booze induced coma precluded the staff from being able to wake us to let us know that following the boiler failure, there had been a burst pipe that flooded the restaurant and rendered the hotel temporarily uninhabitable. Not to worry we were told; they had paid the difference for us at an alternative hotel and thrown in a taxi to get us there. Could they recommend somewhere for a romantic dinner? Absolutely; their choice, incidentally (Allium Bistro) was a superb place to eat, and subject shortly to another review...

It's worth mentioning that despite gallons of water flooding through from above, Loch Fyne was running a smoothly as ever, as if nothing had happened; lesser teams might have closed for the night...

The management simply could have done nothing more to make our stay as comfortable as possible, to the extent that when we realised we'd left something behind once ensconced at out new hotel, we let Milsom know we'd be back along to collect the items on our way to dinner. 20 minutes later, a call from reception let us know that the bits had been dropped of by Milsom staff; above and beyond, and truly a reflection of diligent customer service.

We will be back. Comfortable, value-for-money accomodation in the middle of Bath, run by a very rare and dedicated team. Thank you; Matthew, your employer is extremely fortunate to have you over 'the alternative'; brilliant.

Room Tip: Go up high to escape noise and get a decent view; stay low if you're chubby and can't be bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    70
    40
    17
    14
See reviews for
11
111
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

We booked in for 1night for the Christmas Markets. Great location! However, I was concerned over the reviews on the noise due to The Slug and Lettuce pub being opposite..the reviews were right. From midnight through till 4am you could hear drunk people screaming and shouting. Then around 6.30am you could hear the delivery for the seafood resturant below, then around 8.30am people stomping around for breakfast. No sleep was had. A shame as the room was nice and clean, it's just unfortunate being an old building you have sash windows which lets all the noise in.
However, great reviews on breakfast on this site so we had this to look forward to..or not. We were seated and helped ourselves to juice, they took our order for tea/coffee and breakfast, we then waited for nearly 40mins for the breakfast to arrive. Tiny full English, one bit of bacon, one sasauge, about 10 baked beans. Scrambled egg was great though.

I think overall they perhaps need to invest a little more time on the hotel element than just the resturant. It could be great!
If we came back to Bath we wouldn't stay here due to the noise.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed for two nights in December 2012 at this small Hotel which is very well situated at the top of Milsom Street above the Loch Fyne restaurant. Although we arrived much earlier than formal check-in, we were greeted by friendly staff and James who checked us in was more than happy to take care of our luggage whilst we went off exploring. We had a double room on the 2nd floor - there isn't a lift, due to the age of the building so it can be a bit of a trek up the stairs - something to bear in mind if any of your party will find stairs difficult. The room was very comfortable, clean and decently equipped with tea, coffee and biscuits, a hairdryer, wall mounted television, iron and even an electric fan. The bed was comfortable, and spare pillows were also provided, which is always nice to find. There was a selection of fresh magazines focused on Bath which were informative, attractive and more pertinently - current, so you could help plan your stay and make the most of events taking place (such as the winter ice rink and the Christmas market).

The bathroom was well lit, and the shower (fixed shower head) had good water pressure. The water was always hot, and there were ample towels available. Liquid guest soap, hand cream, shower gel and conditioner were provided, and well placed in wall mounted dispensers.

It was also very welcome to find the room was warm, with radiators that could be adjusted to suit by the guest - not something you find everywhere. Yes, it's true that some of the rooms could do with a lick of paint and freshening up - one lamp in our room was a bit tricky - it wouldn't come on unless you wiggled the base - and one of the heavy curtains had come off it's hook - easily put right so a shame it hadn't been attended to, but all in all, the hotel is of a decent standard for the price paid. You access the hotel through the restaurant, but guests are provided with keys to a side door to facilitate access when the restaurant was closed late at night, so no problem there. The breakfasts were good and are served in the restaurant below - there was a wide choice, from kippers or eggs benedict to a full English, and portions weren't skimped. Tea and coffee were available and as much as you wanted, and there were jams, yoghurts, toast and at least three varieties of fruit juice (apple, cranberry and orange during our stay). The staff were attentive without being intrusive.

There is one drawback with this hotel, and it's not really the fault of the hotel, as it's common to a number of hotels in Bath. It is situated on a main thoroughfare, with brilliant central access for all parts of the city, which is a bonus, but - and it's a big BUT. It has no double glazing.

Again, understandable due to the age and listing of the building, and you may think I'm being a bit picky mentioning it. However, it means that noise is a significant issue. During the day, less so, because most people are out and about and not in their hotel room, but at night, this is a massive problem. The traffic noise is not least of the noise problem, as once the traffic eases off, you have the comings and goings at the various bars and music venues in the area - and there are a lot. And the later it gets, the worse it gets, and the rowdier and more raucous the late night drinkers become. Be aware that this will go on until 3 or 4 a.m. in the morning. When the drinkers have eventually retired to bed, you may get the shop alarm which goes off, or the car alarm, or the bin wagons or the scaffolders working nearby, who turn up for work creditably promptly.

I know this isn't unique to Milsoms Hotel - I've experienced the party atmosphere and its after effects elsewhere in Bath, in a world without double glazing - and whilst it wouldn't stop us from returning, it's a significant issue if you need your full 8 hours, because you won't get it, and unless you're a very heavy sleeper, I suspect it may irk and irritate many a guest.

Secondary double glazing may help alleviate the problem without compromising the integrity of a building this old and this beautiful.

Room Tip: All of the rooms appear to be comfortable but the rooms on the second floor don't have a bath, o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mousehole, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel every year for the last 5 years and we love it, it does need a lick of paint here and there and a bit of updating but the staff are very friendly and we always find the beds clean and very comfortable. The breakfast is very good too. For the price we think you get what you pay for, it is very reasonable. Also it is in a great location although can be a tad noisy at night but you would get that in any town centre location. All in all we love it and will be going back next year!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royston, Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for one night on the 27th October 2012. We arrived at midday and were able to leave our bags at the hotel until we checked in at tea time. During the afternoon, we had a two hour spa experience which was lovely sitting out in the elements, on top of the spa roof, in a lovely hot spa, with spectacular views over the city.
We arrived back at the hotel around 5pm. Check in was via the Loch Fyne restaurant and was quick and easy; staff were polite and friendly.
The building itself is stunning, built around 1865 and was a bank originally (apparently they still have some of the old bank safes in the basement !). The communal stairs were clean and tidy as was our room (Room 4). I was initially disappointed at the size of the room and the bathroom (the bathroom was narrow and in need of a bit of a make-over), especially as other rooms had roll top baths and were much bigger ! Lighting in the room was quite dim, as there are no main ceiling lights, just bedside lamps.
On the plus side, the bed was very comfortable however, as per previous reviews, it did get a bit noisy at night - the hotel is opposite the 'Slug and Lettuce' pub - I can imagine how noisy it gets on a weekend or in the summer months when you are trying to sleep with the windows open !
We ate at the Hall & Woodhouse pub in Old King Street that evening - an excellent ambiance with great food too - thoroughly recommended.
The following morning, we had breakfast in the main Loch Fyne restaurant - it was very good and freshly cooked for guests.
As our train wasn't until after 6pm, the hotel were more than happy to look after our bags again whilst we visited the Christmas market and shops. All in all, a pleasant stay except the noise and the size of the room !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed for three nights at beginning of the week in late October.

This hotel is located within fifteen minutes walk of everywhere you need to visit in Bath.

Right from the start the staff were most accommodating. Even though we'd arrived hours earlier than check in starting, they were more than happy to keep hold of our bags while we went out and explored. Also on our last day they held our bags after we checked out so we could explore Bath further while waiting for our train.

We were told all we needed to know at check in and the staff helped us with our bags up to our rooms.

I would say if you have health issues this is not the hotel for you as the stairs are steep and there are alot of them however there are chairs to stop and rest along the way for if you get too tired.

Our room was immaculate and they made sure we had enough tea and coffee in the room for when we returned from our travels. The bed was really comfortable and we slept soundly through the night we couldn't here a sound from outside or inside the hotel.

Breakfast was beautifully cooked and ample. You could have both cooked breakfast and the buffet.We found after the breakfast we did not need to think about lunch till around 2 or 3 in the afternoon. The servers were very attentive ensuring you got as much tea and coffee as you needed.

There is no room service at this hotel however there are so many eateries open till late close by in central Bath that it doesn't matter.

We couldn't have had a better time. We have recommended it to both friends and family and it will be our first choice when visiting bath again.

Room Tip: Request a room with a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham Abbey, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Milsom in Bath is in the perfect position for site seeing as it is so central - 5 mins from the Roman Baths, Cathedral etc. However, as you walk in there is a very unfortunate smell of fish - not the normal from a fish restaurant (it is part of the Loch Fine chain), but as if someone has put a fish behind a radiator. the smell lasted for our whole visit. The room was 50 stairs up and needed redecorating. But, it was only £85 a night for the centre of bath so you get what you pay for. Be prepared for it to be incredibly noisy - people still stagering home shouting at 3.45.Yhe staff however were lovely and the breakfast was also lovely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Milsoms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milsoms Hotel

Address: 24 Milsom Street, Bath BA1 1DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Milsoms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Milsoms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milsoms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.