We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely lovely from the moment we arrived!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hill House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hill House to your Saves list
Hill House
25 Belverdere, Bath BA1 5ED, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 190 Bath B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely from the moment we arrived!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I recently spent a 2 night stay here with my partner and I can honestly say it was a fantastic experience from the moment we arrived. We drove so we a little concerned about parking but all our concerns we alleviated upon arrival, our bags were taken in and we were given clear instructions on where we could scout out a space. It was such a warm welcome with a hot pot of coffee and biscuits presented to us as soon as we stepped through the door. The room was truly lovely, everything had been carefully considered and it felt like a comfortable yet luxurious place to spend a lovely romantic weekend away. Breakfast was divine and we loved the communal dining experience. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts and we were made to feel so welcome from start to finish. We will definitely be returning and I cannot recommend it enough, an amazing gem in the heart of Bath!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
191
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

From the moment we arrived in Hill House after a slightly weary journey, we were wholeheartedly welcomed, warmed and fed. When we arrived, our lovely host made us a cup of tea to warm us up before taking the time to give us a run-down of Bath's hotspots.

We stayed right at the top of the house in a very cosy room - the little touches of milk in a thermos flask outside and homemade cookies inside the room were much appreciated so you could make your own tea. Also the softness of the sheets and the fluffiness of the towels should also be given a mention. The White Company toileteries were also a great touch.

The piece to resistance however is the amazing breakfasts... fresh fruit, granola, yogurt and compote are available buffet style. In addition to this, you can also choose a breakfast special or a full english. I cannot commend the food highly enough, it was really tasty, plenty of it. Also I loved the communal breakfast table, it was really nice to talk to other guests and hear what they were up to and share tips. This was one of the best places I have ever stayed and will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Found Hill House on Trip Advisor. This was a one night stay over on Wednesday 5th March 2014. I can only reiterate what has been recorded by others. Perfect place to stay...and I wish to say a thank you to the Hosts...so pleasant and helpful ...The room was spotless and the breakfast very nicely presented. I only hope there will be accommodation available at Hill House on next visit to Bath. Perfectly placed too for the purpose of my visit. Thank you again Hill House.

Room Tip: I was a single occupant in double bedded room 3 on 2nd Floor....looking over a side street - very qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Wonderful place to stay - from service to room to food, it was all excellent! Our hosts were friendly and most welcoming. The rooms were well appointed and very comfortable. I appreciated very much the thoughts that went into the little touches that made our stay more pleasant. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Would definitely stay here again if we are in Bath. One thing to note about location - though it is not a long walk into town ( town being defined as where the Roman bath and shopping is), it is quite a steep climb back. Took us at least 20-25 mins to climb back up to the house. Having said that, there are places to eat nearby, without having to go all the way back into town.

Room Tip: The room on the top floor requires climbing a rather steep but short flight of stairs. There is a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Nothing is too much trouble for the owners Harry and Douglas - made us very welcome from the minute we arrived to the minute we left . Highly recommended for a short break its location is great the Royal Crescent is short walk away and so is the town centre.

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Recently stayed at the Hill House Guest House and what excellent service we had. From the moment I knocked on the door to ask about parking to the minute we left, nothing was too much trouble. Harry and Douglas were amazing. Attention to detail in everything. Rooms first class, location ideal. First hand knowledge of where to eat, what to do.
I would easily recommend the Hill House, Bath.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We spent several days at Hill House in September 2013 and found it a very pleasant experience. Hill House B & B was recently renovated - its tastefully decorated and very comfortable. Our hosts made us feel welcome and provided us with good advice about sightseeing in Bath. Their home-cooked breakfasts were superb and different every morning. Guests at Hill House were from various countries so breakfast had a wonderful international flare and lively conversation. We wouldn't hesitate staying there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill House

Address: 25 Belverdere, Bath BA1 5ED, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 190 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our home! Hill House was built in 1765 at the end of a Georgian terrace behind the Assembly rooms in Central Bath. Built originally as a hotel it later became a wine merchants and then a pub. The current owners purchased the property in 2011 and have updated the property throughout. The modernisation has been sympathetically undertaken to retain as much of the period of charm of the property as possible.The property now has six en suite letting rooms located one at the front and one at the back on each of the 1st, 2nd and 3rd floors of the property. All bedrooms are equipped with newly appointed shower rooms, 32” digital Televisions, hairdryers and free wifi. The more the stairs the better the views from the rooms across Bath to the countryside beyond!Breakfast is served in our dining room on one large table, where reccomendations of what to see and where to eat are shared. Besides a choice of cereals etc we also offer a choice of two cooked breakfasts per day which vary throughout the week. We are able to cater for most dietary requirements but ask for as much notice as possible as we do not carry some items as stock as we are only a small establishment.This is our home and we want you to be able to relax in it. We have ironing facilities and a house sewing kit to hand. If you need anything else please ask and we will see what we can do.Hill House is a 2 minute walk from the Assembly Rooms and five minutes from the main shopping centre and Royal Crescent. There are plenty of local places to eat and drink close by and we would be happy to give recommendations upon request.On street Parking permits are available but will need to be reserved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hill House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.