We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Home cooked lunch - can't fault it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forester and Flower

Forester and Flower
172 Bradford Road, Bath, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #150 of 459 Restaurants in Bath
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bath
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Home cooked lunch - can't fault it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I don't usually expect much at lunch time in an out of town centre pub - but this was excellent. Fabulous presentation, great flavours (I recommend the home-made tart if available) and wonderful puddings (grasshopper pie was delicious).

Everything was home made and it showed. Probably the best pub lunch I've had in a long time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
south devon
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“great place to meet... great "mine host" !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Lovely atmosphere here, great fun landlady... been here many many times. The food is very good, only thing to mention IT IS ALWAYS COLD HERE IN THE PUB,, so wrap up , and thats not only in the winter. ! Lots of locals mention it , sooooooooon Louise , PUT YOUR LOVELY LOG FIRE ON !!!!!

Hope to visit soon in, ( thats the only "gripe" I can think of !)

I hear the b& b is also good.....

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“warm and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I've been in Forester and Flower (Restaurant) two times now and I am more than happy from what the place has to offer. A very nice owner, friendly and with a smile for everyone, and tasty and descent priced food.
It will be definitely a place I will visit again

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food and original setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We came here to check out the refurbishment some years ago, and it is now a firm favourite. We love the fact that this pub has unique style. The decoration with soft furnishings in the bar area give it the feel of a Victorian salon. The traditional pub/restaurant area has nice wooden tables and chairs and art works on the walls - some pictures by local artists are for sale. Good selection of wines and beers and a real ale which is well kept. Food is better than the usual pub menu, prepared on the premises not from freezer bags. We usually share a starter and a pudding because the portions are so generous. Food is nicely presented and the staff friendly and obliging. The star is Louise Flower, the owner, who is welcoming and attentive to detail. And she has a wicked sense of humour and a laugh that is infectious - this place is fun to visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Just happened to chance on this restaurant / pub! A gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Wonderful ambience and good food and excellent service! Definitely a recommendation. The menu was interesting with a good mix of starters and mains and they tasted awesome!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forester and Flower also viewed

 

Been to Forester and Flower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forester and Flower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.