We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing, would rather have spent money on a budget hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of YHA Bath

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added YHA Bath to your Saves list
YHA Bath
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Bathwick Hill, Bath BA2 6JZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Bath
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very disappointing, would rather have spent money on a budget hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Having seen pictures on the YHA website, I was very disappointed with our stay. We arrived early before check-in time and wanted to leave our luggage - we were not greeted at all, had to go looking for staff who didn't welcome us but just opened a door to the small luggage area. The staff were very unfriendly throughout our stay, never offering any information on the breakfast or bar or restaurant unless asked. Our room was a 4 bed dorm with extra charge for the ensuite bathroom. It was a very cramped room, hairs were found on the pillows and the window was broken. The ensuite bathroom was extremely small and dirty. The sink did not drain which meant we had to use the main bathroom facilities despite paying for the ensuite. The bin in the bathroom was overflowing and was not emptied even after we requested. Breakfast was very expensive so we did not buy it from the hostel as there were cosy little bakeries in the city which were better value and much nicer atmosphere.
Also they need to make it clearer that there is £3 supplement per person per night if not a YHA member, this was not found anywhere on our confirmation email with the total to pay and it was an extra £24 to the total.
The location is also poor, it is 1.5km at the top of a steep hill, with a steep driveway to follow on from the trek up the hill.
If I was to visit Bath again I would not be staying here and would rather spend the money on a budget hotel in the centre.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    43
    39
    23
    16
See reviews for
33
9
23
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork City
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We had booked a 5 room dorm for a weekend away in Bath. We had seen the photos and it looked pretty amazing. Our first impressions when we arrived were excellent. Its a beautiful period property on lovely grounds. When we booked in we were told our accommodation was actually outside the main house and in the "lodge", which is separate to the main house. When we entered the hallway we were hit with a damp,sock/underpants smell. As we got closer to the room the smell got more intense and when we opened the door myself and my buddy started empty reaching. The best way to describe the smell, is to say it was like leaving your wet training gear ferment for two weeks in a shed, and then strapping them to your face. Needlessly to say I ran outside and vomited. Now I have been in plenty hostels before and have roughed it in Europe, Asia and Oz in the past. I'm not someone who is used to the finer things in life. This was just plain disgusting. I could taste socks in my mouth for hours after the experience.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 19!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Everyone who stays here seems to mention the steep hill but I can't see why it was such a big objection. Granted when you first move in it can be a problem if you've come with a lot of baggage, but as you can get the bus straight there from either the bus or the railway station it shouldn't really be that much of an issue, particularly as they run so late. it's really not that far from the centre of town either, although the hill does mean you wouldn't want to be popping back and forth during the day. We both stayed in dorms and found them fine - immaculately kept and clean despite the inevitable smell of cheesy socks from all the keen walkers! The self-catering kitchen was an extra plus, with everything you need to cook for yourself, from a gas oven and microwave to a couple of hobs, a fridge-freezer and two kettles. The only problem we really encountered was the showers tended to be a bit temperamental - you couldn't avoid getting your hair wet in one and another had to be set at precisely the right setting or it would be either freezing or boiling. But at youth hostel prices in such an expensive city, we're really not complaining!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

I've stayed in several youth hostels in the UK and Ireland and this one was fine -- not bad, not great. There are actually 2 buildings -- the mansion and then the lodge out back. I stayed in the lodge, which was okay. My room was clean though there were no directions on how to lock the door from the inside (hint: pull the door handle up). It had bunk beds and one locker for a double room (presumably only people traveling together would be in the room). The en suite was fine as well. There was a slight odor in the room, which was probably from damp (it was rainy while I was there). Towels are not provided but are available for hire. If you want dinner or breakfast, you order it when you arrive -- the food was fine, but I'd probably rather spend the extra to eat in a restaurant from something a little more interesting than basic fare. The staff were very kind and helpful, though reception needs more than 1 person, especially for check-in; it took over a half a hour to get checked in. All in all, the hostel was fine, but nothing to write home about.

The big negative is the steep, 1/2 mile hill one needs to climb to get there. DEFINITELY TAKE THE BUS. Well, worth the 1.45 fare. The bus takes you up and down the hill in less than 10 minutes and drops you right across the street from the back of Bath Abbey. I cannot overstress this: TAKE THE BUS.

For the price for staying in Bath, it was worth it. Note: if you aren't a member of YHA, you will have to pay a 3 GBP per night supplement (standard at all hostels).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedford
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

A late booking brought me to The Youth Hostile which was surprisingly cheap for Bath, £30.00 + £3 as we were not members. My daughter and I stayed in a twin room which had fabulous views over Bath to the front and hills to the side and trees behind in this beautiful, splendid old Villa set away from the main road in a peaceful location. I had never been to this type of accomodation before but I have been camping (Although I am not too keen on camping now), Now, bearing in mind a pitch at Bath campsit with a small tent and electric hookup starts at about £22.00, I thought this option was very reasonable, sure you have to make your bed up and there are no luxuries like soap, shampoo, hairdrier, t v, kettle, etc. but once you know, you can work around it.

Good points are - Cheap, beatiful location and building, very friendly staff, sink in the room and plenty of storage, kitchen, restaurant, bar, tv room, garden and park for free.

Bad points - Competant cleaning and maintenance staff and possibly management required to raise the standard of this accomadation as this is sorely letting it down. At least 20 min brisk walk to town centre, bus required to get back - but not really a problem.

Room Tip: Room 1 is above the roof with no naighbours
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

I booked this as hotel but din'd know that is youth hostel actually doesn't say. 3 stars? i don't think so! no towels, have to pay extra £1 for towel. Plus some additional charge of £3 pounds per person for something. In room you have to do your own bedding. Bed are singles with old mattress. Showers are dirty and small, toilets in the same room as shower. Was having shower while some one else taking crap next door! no ventilation, imagine the the smell. If you wana have pleasant stay in bath do spend extra cash to get good hotel. Hot breakfast you have to order night before other wise is not available, didn't order .

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Dark rooms + Cold showers + blocked up sinks + Wet tea towels = a bad stay at a youth hostel
We weren't very impressed with our stay when Bath is such a lovely city with so much to do...
Friendly staff but limited amount to cope with the demand

Desperatly needs refurbishment

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to YHA Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Bath

Address: Bathwick Hill, Bath BA2 6JZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Bath 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your YHA Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bath Yha Hotel Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YHA Bath, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.