We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Cinema for Miles Around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Theatre Cinema

Little Theatre Cinema
1-2 St. Michaels Place, Bath BA1 1SF, England
0871 902 5735
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 73 Activities in Bath
Type: Movie Theaters, Amusement
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Little Theatre Cinema was built by community theatre pioneer Consuelo de Reyes and her husband in 1935. It initially functioned as a news theatre open from midday and showing hourly programmes of documentaries and newsreels. Feature films were first shown in 1939, the first two being "Peg of Old Drury" starring Anna Neagle followed by "Oh Mr Porter" starring Will Hay. The cinema thrived on local support throughout the years as other Bath cinema venues closed and in 1979 the former scenery store and lounge area were converted into a second screen. In spite of many refurbishments to keep the cinema up-to-date with digital sound and the latest projection technology, and a renewal of the seats to give the very best comfort levels, The Little Theatre has retained the charm and welcoming warmth of a 1930's cinema, including a luxury balcony with sofas in the main auditorium.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Cinema for Miles Around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Independent, quirky, comfortable and friendly. In addition to the latest blockbusters, the Little offers much more choice than the big cinema chains with old favourites, classics, foreign and art films included in the programming.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    36
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good art house cinema”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

This as a cosy art house cinema. The new seats are excellent. Good selection of beers available. Membership makes good sense over the year and gives you discounts.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A little odd theatre.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I wanted to love this place. I like retro places and the old cinema feel all was well unill we sat down unfortunately my knees started to hurt 20 minutes in and never stopped. The picture was good and sound was decent. I'm 6ft and struggled with being to big my partner is only 5ft 3 and she was unfortunately too small to see over the edge banister. If they change the seating I would love to go back again

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cute, Cosy, But now different”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

The last time I went i loved it. I went to see an old old film and sat in a retro themed old time cinema. It was brilliant. However i will need to be taking a new trip as the seats have changed so i hear! hopefully for the best but i did rather like the old ones. This is almost pointless to write this. Very kind staff and lovely sound and picture quality.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

The Little in Bath is a hidden gem tucked away in the city centre. Carefully chosen films and live opera and ballet performances are screened here. A small counter sells superior snacks. Staff are friendly and the atmosphere is relaxed. They also now have an extra screen at Komedia nearby where you can watch films from the luxury of a bean bag! They hold Silver Screen shows of current films at reduced rates for oldies and Big Scream shows where kids are allowed. This lovely cinema house has a great following with membership advantages and a wedding licence. Enjoy.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Theatre Cinema also viewed

 

Been to Little Theatre Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Theatre Cinema, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.