We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a lovely experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Theatre Cinema

Little Theatre Cinema
1-2 St. Michaels Place, Bath BA1 1SF, England
0871 902 5735
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 6 Fun & Games in Bath
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Little Theatre Cinema was built by community theatre pioneer Consuelo de Reyes and her husband in 1935. It initially functioned as a news theatre open from midday and showing hourly programmes of documentaries and newsreels. Feature films were first shown in 1939, the first two being "Peg of Old Drury" starring Anna Neagle followed by "Oh Mr Porter" starring Will Hay. The cinema thrived on local support throughout the years as other Bath cinema venues closed and in 1979 the former scenery store and lounge area were converted into a second screen. In spite of many refurbishments to keep the cinema up-to-date with digital sound and the latest projection technology, and a renewal of the seats to give the very best comfort levels, The Little Theatre has retained the charm and welcoming warmth of a 1930's cinema, including a luxury balcony with sofas in the main auditorium.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Always a lovely experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

A throwback in time in a great way. Soft, comfy seats, small and homely, beer and wine and sweets available on the way in, and a great way to see lesser-known but still excellent films, including foreign-language films, the like of which you'll never see in the nearby Odeon.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    38
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We love this place! it is so small and cosy. you can have a glass of wine too while you watch the film. it has a real eclectic mix of films and not necessarily what you hoped or expected to see but it means you can watch a film you may not have ever dreamed of weeing but glad you did! Well worth a visit!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Small theatre with a homely feel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Certainly a friendlier alternative to a multiplex. Felt like we'd joined a film society. Good screen and sound.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Half the price of London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

A great stop-off on a rainy afternoon in Bath. Friendly staff and less than £13 (including one student card) for two tickets - at least half the price of what we have to pay where I live. Comfy seats and the volume was good, too - I didn't come out feeling I'd been deafened. Well done, Little Theatre.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Theatre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

It was my first visit to this super theatre. We had seats in the balcony, which were a two seated settee. There were books to read while waiting for the film to start and you can accompany this with a drink from their small bar. It really did feel like you were sitting in your own lounge apart from the couple in the next seat talking!

I will most certainly visit again.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Theatre Cinema also viewed

 

Been to Little Theatre Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Theatre Cinema, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.