We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Theatre Cinema

Little Theatre Cinema
1-2 St. Michaels Place, Bath BA1 1SF, England
0871 902 5735
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 91 attractions in Bath
Type: Movie Theaters
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Little Theatre Cinema was built by community theatre pioneer Consuelo de Reyes and her husband in 1935. It initially functioned as a news theatre open from midday and showing hourly programmes of documentaries and newsreels. Feature films were first shown in 1939, the first two being "Peg of Old Drury" starring Anna Neagle followed by "Oh Mr Porter" starring Will Hay. The cinema thrived on local support throughout the years as other Bath cinema venues closed and in 1979 the former scenery store and lounge area were converted into a second screen. In spite of many refurbishments to keep the cinema up-to-date with digital sound and the latest projection technology, and a renewal of the seats to give the very best comfort levels, The Little Theatre has retained the charm and welcoming warmth of a 1930's cinema, including a luxury balcony with sofas in the main auditorium.
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We love this place! it is so small and cosy. you can have a glass of wine too while you watch the film. it has a real eclectic mix of films and not necessarily what you hoped or expected to see but it means you can watch a film you may not have ever dreamed of weeing but glad you did! Well worth a visit!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    20
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Small theatre with a homely feel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Certainly a friendlier alternative to a multiplex. Felt like we'd joined a film society. Good screen and sound.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Half the price of London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

A great stop-off on a rainy afternoon in Bath. Friendly staff and less than £13 (including one student card) for two tickets - at least half the price of what we have to pay where I live. Comfy seats and the volume was good, too - I didn't come out feeling I'd been deafened. Well done, Little Theatre.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Theatre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

It was my first visit to this super theatre. We had seats in the balcony, which were a two seated settee. There were books to read while waiting for the film to start and you can accompany this with a drink from their small bar. It really did feel like you were sitting in your own lounge apart from the couple in the next seat talking!

I will most certainly visit again.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Perfect.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is the perfect place to watch a film, especially during the day. The staff are lovely, and are very knowledgeable about cinema.

Haile Selassie used to watch newsreels here during WWII, so there's a lot of history in this little building.

It's just been taken over, so I hope it manages to maintain its traditional approach to film. Basically, it shows all the films that the nearby Odeon wouldn't dare. Plus a few mainstream recent releases you may have missed. So, perfect if your tastes are broader than the standard Hollywood fare.

Make sure you carefully look at the times/screenings, but some films are shown at Komedia, up the road - which was the old Beau Nash cinema. This is fine, and they have a lovely cafe. You can sit upstairs, or they've just started letting you sit on bean-bags downstairs, which is cool. So, don't be put off.

I'm also a member, so a bit biased!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Theatre Cinema also viewed

 

Been to Little Theatre Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Theatre Cinema, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Little Theatre Cinema to your Saves list