We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and unimpressed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Bath

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Bath to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Bath
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lower Bristol Road / Brougham Hayes, Bath BA2 3QU, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Bath
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Overpriced and unimpressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed here on 23rd December for 1 night costing £90. There was a £10 charge for the car park which should be free of charge due to price of the room. The staff were miserable and definetly not in the xmas spirit! The room was clean and tidy but the bathroom smelt of damp. Breakfast was awful, powered scrambled eggs, cheap beans and sausages I wouldn't even give to my dog. I would not stay here again and would choose a travelodge or premier inn over a holiday inn

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    389
    207
    48
    14
See reviews for
228
313
28
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Was in Bath for a day visiting the sights. We put up at this hotel which is about 10 to 15 minutes walk to the Roman Baths and the city centre.
Also nearby is a Sainsbury's outlet which makes it convenient if you need some snacks and drinks.
The family room which we stayed in was quite small with the sofabed in.
Breakfast was provided and was your basic scrambled eggs, sausages, bread, juices etc. but was not bad as it was a hot meal to start the day off.
Overall, it is a nice hotel and if the family room was a little bigger it would have been somewhat perfect.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BathGuestServiceMgr, . at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for writing a review of your stay. It is lovely to hear you were sightseeing in Bath which is a UNESCO World Heritage Site, with lots of charming sights and impressive attractions.

There is a store close by and also our hotel has a bar snack menu which has a choice of pizza and in addition to that we have a selection of sandwiches, pastries, crisps, soft drinks and confectionery available 24 hours.
Our Express Start breakfast is included and we are pleased to offer 3 hot options to give a great start to your day.

Thank you for staying and for giving a review.

Kind regards
Sara Shepherd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

From start to finish I was very impressed with this hotel. We arrived before our check-in time but were able to park (for a fee, £10 per day) and so able to go off and enjoy a day of Christmas shopping. Bath town centre is only a 10min walk away. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a family room which was perfect for our needs. It was clean, tidy and comfortable. Having two teenagers in tow with us was no problem as there was free wifi in the rooms (we like free!!). Breakfast was in the cost of the room and had everything you could think of to choose from. We had a wonderful overnight stay and I would go back like a shot.

Room Tip: If you are an ihg member you can have a late room check out (2pm)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BathGuestServiceMgr, . at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for you review of your stay. It is great to know that the accommodation had been just right and our Express Start buffet breakfast had all the choice you could think of. Our free Wi-Fi is popular with teenagers and adults alike and is available throughout the hotel for the duration of your stay.
All our staff are pleased to be mentioned as being friendly and helpful. Housekeeping are happy you are pleased with the cleaners and the standard of their work.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards
Sara Shepherd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My first visit here and I will definitely be back. No, you don't go for the quality of the breakfast. You go for price, convenience to the city centre, wonderful staff who cannot do enough for you, a comfortable bed, and extreme cleanliness. Well done! This morning I appeared for breakfast 45 minutes late. They were still so sweet and found me yogurt, fruit etc. I love it!

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BathGuestServiceMgr, . at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you had a wonderful stay and that our all round service made such a good lasting impression. Our housekeeping team keep the hotel extremely clean, and our front of house team who provide a 24hour service to look after our guests experience and the hotel.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards
Sara Shepherd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was the third time we had stayed in the hotel which is ideally placed to explore bath and the Christmas markets. Previous stays have been great and whilst the hotel amenities were fine the bed in room 142 was the most uncomfortable ever.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BathGuestServiceMgr, . at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us. It is great that you have been able to stay at Holiday Inn Express in Bath on several occasions because we are in a great location to access the popular attractions of Bath and have a team that we assist guests at any time.

We are pleased to provide quality accommodation and for that reason we have mattress toppers subject to availability, for instances where additional comfort is desired.

Thank you for booking with us. On behalf of all the staff at the hotel "Merry Christmas"

Kind regards
Sara Shepherd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamabad, Pakistan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good hotel with Holiday Inn Express branding. Even though this is Holiday Inn Express but most of the facilities were equal to holiday inn. God helpful staff, 10 minutes by walk to city centre. Good room sizes with attach bath. Breakfast was really very average even much below to expectation regarding quality

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BathGuestServiceMgr, Guest Services Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our facilities met you needs. We are located roughly 10-15 minutes walk from the center. I hope we can welcome you back if you ever choose to visit the lovely city of Bath again.

Best regards

Graham Reynolds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have had to stay at numerous Holiday Inn Express across the country and always find the staff wonderful and helpful, the beds comfortable and lovely warm rooms. I sleep very well and feel very relaxed.

The thing that always lets down my stay is the quality of the breakfast. The eggs are ghastly and tasteless (this time with an awful texture) and the sausages taste like a gristle syrup! I hate that I am always cautious when I go for breakfast in the morning. As it is an express I totally understand that the choice will be limited but it shouldn't lack quality.

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BathGuestServiceMgr, Guest Services Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I am glad that you found the staff to be helpful and rooms comfortable, both at our hotel and other Holiday Inn Express' that you have stayed at. I am sorry you have not enjoyed your breakfast. Breakfast items are the same across all Holiday Inn Express hotels, we do review this and all feedback is most helpful. I will ensure your comments are noted.

Best regards

Graham Reynolds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bath

Address: Lower Bristol Road / Brougham Hayes, Bath BA2 3QU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Bath 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the popular Holiday Inn Express Bath hotel and explore Bath's historic city centre on foot. Holiday Inn Express Bath's modern interior contrasts with its warm, honey-coloured Bath stone exterior. We're a short stroll from the historic city centre, where you can take your time with a relaxing session at Thermae Bath Spa. We are also close to Bath Spa train station for regular trains to London Paddington and Bristol Airport is a 40-minute drive. We're 10 minutes' drive from meetings at Bath's 3 Ministry of Defence offices and the University of Bath campus. Bath Spa University is only 5 minutes from Holiday Inn Express Bath by car. Avoid the traffic when visiting Helphire Group PLC and Amdocs, minutes away on Lower Bristol Road. The convenient Holiday Inn Express Bath is a 10-minute walk to the elegant Pump Room at the Roman Baths and the Grade I-listed Royal Crescent. Learn how the city inspired one of England's favorite writers at nearby Jane Austen Centre. Kids love mini-safaris at Longleat's rambling estate, a 30-minute drive away. Wake up to sausages, baked beans, scrambled eggs and more as part of the free breakfast buffet and watch Bath come to life from the windows of the airy Great Room. Our friendly Front Desk team will give you information on day trips to Glastonbury and Stonehenge. 60 onsite parking spaces are available at a charge and allocated on a first come first served basis. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book direct with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bath Hotel Bath
Bath Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Bath, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.