We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Well Run Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Bath

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Bath to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Bath
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lower Bristol Road / Brougham Hayes, Bath BA2 3QU, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Bath
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
1,204 helpful votes 1,204 helpful votes
“Friendly and Well Run Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed here for 2 nights. The front desk staff were very friendly and efficient. Among other things, they provided us with very good restaurant recommendations and directions. They were also able to accommodate us with an early check-in.

The rooms were clean and reasonably good sized. The free W-Fi that worked well and the complimentary breakfast was very good. The price we paid was very reasonable.

The only potential issue is the location. It's about a 15 minute walk from central Bath. That normally wouldn't be much of an issue for us but it was pouring rain during our visit to Bath so the walk wasn't much fun. A taxi from the central Bath is around 5 pounds, however.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us.

I am so pleased to hear that you found the front desk staff to be friendly and efficient. They all go above and beyond with their customer service and take great pride in doing so.

I am glad to hear that you found the room to be clean and that it met your requirements for the duration of your stay.

Thank you for taking advantage of the complimentary, continental, express start buffet breakfast. This does prove to be very popular with our guests, so I am glad to hear that you enjoyed it.
As you mentioned, the location of the hotel is a 10-15 minute walk away from the city centre of Bath, and the main tourist attractions. As well as getting a taxi to the city centre, there is a bus stop directly opposite the hotel with a regular bus service going to the city centre and back to the hotel.

I would like to thank you again for taking the time to write a review and I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Lauren Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    388
    206
    47
    14
See reviews for
227
312
28
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Four girls hit the hotel in Bath for a weekend of shopping and sightseeing. We were made very welcome by the reception staff who went out of their way to find the location of shops and suggested nice places to eat. It was only a seven minute walk to the Pump Room via a shortcut through Sainsbury's. Overall ideally situated, clean, welcoming and good value for money. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone going to Bath

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the car ark can be noisier so ask for a room facing the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay.

I am so glad to hear that the staff made you welcome while you were staying with us, they do go above and beyond with their customer service and take great pride in doing so.

As you mentioned, we are lucky with the location of the hotel being only an easy 10-15 minute walk away from the city centre of Bath and all of its beautiful, historic tourist attractions.

I would like to thank you again for writing such a kind review, I hope you enjoyed your time in Bath and that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Lauren Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Staff very helpful and welcoming. Breakfast included cooked items or continental.

Rare to find a wheelchair accessible room with wet room in Bath (although on first floor!?), and parking is right outside. 15 mins walk into town centre. Hotel fairly quiet, but is near a main road.

The Bath one-way system takes a bit of getting used to - hurrah for satnav!

Room Tip: Wheelchair rooms with wet room on first floor - access via lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay.

I am so pleased to hear that you found the staff to be helpful and welcoming and that you took advantage of the complimentary, continental, express start buffet breakfast. As you mentioned, there is both the cooked and the continental items, the breakfast does prove to be very popular with our guests so I am glad you enjoyed this.

We have wheelchair accessible rooms on every floor of the hotel, however, as we only have the one wheelchair accessible room on ground floor if it is occupied, we do have to put guests in the wheelchair accessible rooms on the higher floors, as we do have a lift in the hotel.

I would like to thank you again for taking the time to write a review.

Kind Regards,

Lauren Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this lovely hotel with friends. We found the hotel very clean and comfortable, the staff very helpful. It was ideally situated for the city centre and Bath rugby ground, which is where we went. Will definitely use again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay.

I am so glad to hear that you found the hotel to be clean and comfortable. The housekeeping team work extremely hard to maintain the cleanliness and comfort throughout the hotel for our guests.

I am pleased you found the staff to be helpful, they do go above and beyond with their customer service and take great pride in doing so.

As you mentioned, we are lucky with the location of the hotel being only a 10-15 minute walk away from the city centre and all of the beautiful, historic tourist attractions Bath has to offer.

I would like to thank you again for taking the time to write a review, and I hope we are able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Lauren Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have just returned from 4 nights here, this being our second visit to this hotel. On arrival the staff were very helpful, our room was kept very clean during the whole of our stay, the soundproofing between rooms was good, we did not hear the occupants on either side, or noise from corridor.
Car parking was safe, but there is a charge of £8. per night, on the negative side, we did notice on two occasions people who were using this car park free and returning from Bath with shopping bags, and then driving off, as there is no barrier at the entrance. As we understand that there are less parking spaces than rooms, maybe Management could look into this ??
Breakfast was good, there was a choice of hot or cold food, and stocks were quickly replenished.
However there is a lack of tables at peak times, and it is better to eat after 9 am when the business people have gone.
Bath is only a 10/15 minute walk away, passing Sainsburys and the Green Park Brasserie, which we really loved for its good food and quirky interior.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay.

I am so pleased to hear that you returned to Bath and chose to stay with us again.

Thank you for your kind comments about the staff, they do go above and beyond with their customer service and take great pride in doing so. I am glad to hear that your room was clean and quiet, we have an excellent housekeeping team who work extremely hard throughout the hotel, maintaining a high level of cleanliness and comfort for our guests.

As you mentioned, we do have a secure, on site car park, for the small charge of £8 per night, guests are able to leave their vehicles until 4pm on the day of departure. With regards to people using the car park for visiting the city centre, we do have a parking patrol system in place. As people drive into the car park, a camera will take a picture of the vehicle registration plate and if people don't register their vehicle registration number into the terminal in reception, an automatic £100 fine is issued.

Thank you for taking advantage of the complimentary, continental, express start buffet breakfast. This does prove to be very popular with our guests, so I am glad to hear that you enjoyed it. As you mentioned, as our breakfast area is of a limited size, in peak times it can get quite congested, we do try to pre warn our guests upon check in the best times to come down to avoid the breakfast rush.

I would like to thank you again for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay and I hope we are able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Lauren Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I spent three nights here with friends on a college reunion. We were all very comfortable and enjoyed our stay.

We would have liked to sit downstairs in the bar to chat in the evenings, but found the foyer area where the bar was situated a bit uninviting, and we took our drinks to one of our rooms.

Our room was clean and our breakfast fine. However, I personally found the cost of my room on the Saturday night expensive for a budget hotel, and would not have spent this amount had I been on my own.

However, on the whole, I would recommend this hotel, and I did enjoy the proximity to the town centre.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay.

I am so glad to hear that you were comfortable and enjoyed your stay with us.

I am sorry to hear that you found the bar area uninviting. We welcome all of our guests to sit in the foyer area to enjoy their drinks and relax, so I am disappointed to hear that you found you couldn't do this.

I am glad you found your room to be clean, our housekeeping team are excellent and work extremely hard to maintain the cleanliness and comfort throughout the hotel.

Thank you for taking advantage of the complimentary, continental, express start buffet breakfast. This does prove to be very popular with our guests so I am glad to hear that you enjoyed it.

As Bath is such a popular city that attracts a large number of tourists throughout the year, the demand for hotels is extremely high, our rates reflect this demand and are competitive with other hotels throughout the city of Bath. Also, our rates reflect our occupancy levels, as Saturday is our most popular night, our rates are at the highest on the night unfortunately.

I would like to thank you again for taking the time to write a review, and I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Lauren Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Last year six of us stayed in Bristol, with the same chain and chose this hotel because we had been so pleased. We were not disappointed. The staff on reception welcomed us and directed us to our ground floor rooms which were spotless. Clean towels were provided daily and the beds were comfortable with a good layout to the room. We were never disturbed at night, though visitors must have been arriving at all hours.
There was plenty of choice for breakfast and no rush for us to leave. The hotel is conveniently situated with a bus stop opposite.
The hotel had a calm atmosphere and good value for money. We would all recommend it.

Room Tip: Our room faced the graveyard....quiet!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay.

I am so glad to hear that you weren't disappointed with your stay and that you found the staff to be welcoming. All of our staff do go above and beyond with their customer service and take great pride in doing so.

I am pleased to hear that you found your rooms to be spotless, we have an excellent housekeeping team who work extremely hard to maintain a high level of cleanliness and comfort throughout the hotel.

Thank you for taking advantage of the complimentary, continental, express start buffet breakfast. This does prove to be very popular with our guests so I am glad to hear that you enjoyed it.

I would like to thank you again for taking the time to write a review and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Lauren Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bath

Address: Lower Bristol Road / Brougham Hayes, Bath BA2 3QU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Bath 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the popular Holiday Inn Express Bath hotel and explore Bath's historic city centre on foot. Holiday Inn Express Bath's modern interior contrasts with its warm, honey-coloured Bath stone exterior. We're a short stroll from the historic city centre, where you can take your time with a relaxing session at Thermae Bath Spa. We are also close to Bath Spa train station for regular trains to London Paddington and Bristol Airport is a 40-minute drive. We're 10 minutes' drive from meetings at Bath's 3 Ministry of Defence offices and the University of Bath campus. Bath Spa University is only 5 minutes from Holiday Inn Express Bath by car. Avoid the traffic when visiting Helphire Group PLC and Amdocs, minutes away on Lower Bristol Road. The convenient Holiday Inn Express Bath is a 10-minute walk to the elegant Pump Room at the Roman Baths and the Grade I-listed Royal Crescent. Learn how the city inspired one of England's favorite writers at nearby Jane Austen Centre. Kids love mini-safaris at Longleat's rambling estate, a 30-minute drive away. Wake up to sausages, baked beans, scrambled eggs and more as part of the free breakfast buffet and watch Bath come to life from the windows of the airy Great Room. Our friendly Front Desk team will give you information on day trips to Glastonbury and Stonehenge. 60 onsite parking spaces are available at a charge and allocated on a first come first served basis. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book direct with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bath Hotel Bath
Bath Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Bath, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.