We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Bath

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Bath to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Bath
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lower Bristol Road / Brougham Hayes, Bath BA2 3QU, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Bath
old hickory tennessee
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“wonderful hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

i can't say enough about the holiday inn express in bath. th rooms were clean, the bathroom was great, the staff were so nice and friendly and helpful ,and location was great. if you are going to bath england, please check this one out!

Room Tip: get a good location for wlalking into town. we spent zero on transportation the entire 4 days we wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    413
    228
    51
    15
See reviews for
235
344
29
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
zooler1982
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed in this hotel last week. The hotel is about a 15-20 minutes walk from the train station, which I didn't mind (good weather!), but there are taxis available outside train station, too. I arrived not long after 2pm and the room was ready! The reception staff were friendly and check-in was quick and efficient. However, I was a little disappointed that staff didn't offer any maps or city information for Bath on arrival - and also there was very little tourist information in reception. I understand the hotel caters for business travellers too, but it seems a missed opportunity not to ask your hotel guests whether they would like a map of Bath and to recommend local attractions/restaurants/bars around the city....

My hotel room was a double with a sofa bed. The room and en suite were both clean. My only complaint over the hotel room was the lack of storage space for clothes etc. Although not a huge problem for me as I was staying on my own, I imagine it would be a tight squeeze for two or three of you in that room to store your belongings!! I also found the bathroom storage space a tight squeeze too, however, that might be due to the amount of products I use!!

I was very happy at the air conditioning / temperature control in the room which was well used due to hot weather and hotel room window not opening fully (due to health and safety standards I'm sure and not a maintenance problem). Other than that slept very well at night; hotel not too noisy as out of main city area and a very comfortable bed!

Breakfast was provided as part of the room rate. The hotel offered a continental breakfast between 6.30am and 9.30am during the week. I have to say I felt quite rushed to eat my cereal by 9.30am and would have preferred if breakfast could have possibly continued until 10am - taking into account some guests are on vacation not business and don't want to be rushed!! Nevertheless, all things considered I had a good stay and would stay in this hotel again and another Holiday Inn Express, too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANCHESTER
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Good hotel ideal location for Bath. check in was good arrived half an hour before check in and room was ready. Standard rooms for Holiday Inn - all clean. We were given a map by the receptionist who recommended a short cut to the city centre. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenRedpath, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following on from your stay.

I am pleased to hear you found our location to be useful, although not directly in the city centre, it is easily accessible by foot as you have mentioned.

I'm glad you also enjoyed our complimentary breakfast whilst with us, I hope it set you off on the right foot for the day.

Thank you again for your comments. and we wish to welcome you back to us in the near future

Regards,

Emma Fowles
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Staff are very friendly and the room was clean and okay for two parents and two children. Not too far to walk into the city centre which has limited parking anyway. One of the best things was the Little Lime Lounge cafe / restaurant across the road from the hotel. We were able to have an excellent meal without dealing with the extremely busy and crowded city centre restaurants. I recommend this as an option for a family of four if you can get by in one family room and check the Tripadvisor reviews for the Little Lime Lounge.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenRedpath, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Firstly, thank you for such an encouraging review. We thrive on guests reviews and this also helps us to ensure we are meeting all of our guests needs and expectations.

I am delighted to see you had a comfortable nights stay with us and our staff were able to advise yourselves when looking for a place to eat. They are all very knowledgeable of the area and pride themselves in this.

It also pleasing to see our location was ideal when visiting Bath, only being several minutes walk from the city is very useful, especially when you don’t want the congestion and city centre noise.

Thank you again; I hope we are able to accommodate you in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed there with the family for 2 nights, on points collected through the years on the IHG program.
Let's face it; Bath can be viewed in a day and unless of any other reasons, it would not make sense to stay longer. On this basis the HI Express would be a good choice; you would want a decent room, to rest and refresh, clean and quiet and all these attributes are offered.
The rooms are very clean and at least our room smelled and felt fresh from the moment we entered to the moment we left. Do not expect anything different to other HIE, the layout and furnishings are the same; once you visited one, you visited all.
The £6 a day parking charge is nothing compared to the rip off parking charges at the town centre.
As other reviewers mentioned, breakfast can be a bit of a challenge and queues should be expected. For free breakfast, l would say it was perfectly adequate.
The hotel is the Express version, hence do not expect to be upgraded. However, l was expecting to be asked about complimentary paper but this was overlooked, l suppose.
It took us 10mins to walk to the town centre, even when we had to drag our over-inquisitive 4yr old.
Overall, l would rate our stay as very good and comfortable. We would return in the future if there is such opportunity.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenRedpath, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Express Bath. It is through feedback from our guests that we are able to improve standards and services which we deliver to all our guests.

I’m pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to our lovely city of Bath and that our convenient location to the central tourist attractions and shops were suitable for you. With most attractions only a 10 minute walk away, we are definitely the right hotel choice as a good base for a weekend away.

With our hotel being so popular within Bath, it does result in our breakfast becoming very busy especially as it is complimentary. We do encourage our guests to avoid the peak breakfast times to ensure a pleasant experience is had by all.

Car parking within Bath can be extremely expensive so for us to offer a great value £6 for an overnight charge including up to 4pm on the day of departure, is definitely great as it allows you to catch up on the last minute shopping! I’m glad you found this to your satisfaction!

Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Express Bath in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This hotel is fine. We got a really good rate via "Superbreak". £175 for 3 people, 2 nights b and b. Not bad compared to similiar hotels in this area. It does what it says on the tin, clean fairly comfortable accommodation, decent sized shower room, quite large screen TV, tea and coffee making facilities with access to plenty of supplies of milk tea and coffee etc. in the foyer.The foyer also has a microwave for guests use.
Breakfast was a bit of a scramble. It was busy. A long line of folk were being held up by a couple who were taking forever to decide what they wanted and then to stock up for the day!!! Food passable no complaints really.
We found a shortcut to the city centre by going through the Sainsburys garage forecourt over the road and then going through Green Park Station. It only took us 5 to 10 minutes using this route.
The staff are the best thing about this hotel, very, very helpful, genuine and with good local knowledge.
Recommended for a budget stay in Bath.

Room Tip: Rooms at the ends of the corridors are quieter, no passing traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenRedpath, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Express Bath. It is through feedback from our guests that we are able to improve standards and services which we deliver to all our guests.

I’m pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to our lovely city of Bath and that our convenient location to the central tourist attractions and shops were suitable for you. With most attractions only a 10 minute walk away, we are definitely the right hotel choice as a good base for a weekend away.

With our hotel being so popular within Bath, it does result in our breakfast becoming very busy especially as it is complimentary. We do encourage our guests to avoid the peak breakfast times to ensure a pleasant experience is had by all.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Express Bath in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

- Generally a nice hotel. Do not expect much.
- Room was clean - no prob with that.
- It had no wardrobe but it did have some hangers.
- Free in-room coffee / tea prep.
- Bathroom was good and very clean. It didn't have separately shampoo - conditioner - shower gel, instead it had the one for all attached in the wall but that was ok with me.
- Even though i haven't used that, I have noticed that it has a big car parking so it must be very good for families going there by car.
- It is aprox. 12-15 min walk from the city center.
- About 15-17 min walk from "Bath Spa" train station.
- There is a small Sainsbury’s just across the street or a huge one if you walk 3-4 min.
- Close to Royal Victoria park and other sightseeing points of interest.
- I wouldn't say that it is a great value for money but comparing to other hotels during for that bank holiday, it was the cheapest (descent) one.
- Unfortunately, breakfast was very small (quantity wise). Quality was ok. There was a coffee machine as well so that you can prepare your favorite coffee.
- Over-crowded morning buffet. Because of its small size, many times you had to wait in the queue in to be serve yourself.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BathDeputyManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent comments posted on Trip Advisor, we value all feedback from our guests.

I am pleased to hear you found our rooms to be clean, our housekeeping staff take great pride in delivering high cleanliness levels and will be delighted to read your kind comments.

Please accept my apologies that you found our breakfast area to small. We do have a limited space within our Great Room, so we do try to pre warn all guests when the busiest times are to avoid such queues. I am pleased that you enjoyed the quality of our offerings and the option to make your favorite coffee.

Thank you for feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bath

Address: Lower Bristol Road / Brougham Hayes, Bath BA2 3QU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Bath 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the popular Holiday Inn Express Bath hotel and explore Bath's historic city centre on foot. Holiday Inn Express Bath's modern interior contrasts with its warm, honey-coloured Bath stone exterior. We're a short stroll from the historic city centre, where you can take your time with a relaxing session at Thermae Bath Spa. We are also close to Bath Spa train station for regular trains to London Paddington and Bristol Airport is a 40-minute drive. We're 10 minutes' drive from meetings at Bath's 3 Ministry of Defence offices and the University of Bath campus. Bath Spa University is only 5 minutes from Holiday Inn Express Bath by car. Avoid the traffic when visiting Helphire Group PLC and Amdocs, minutes away on Lower Bristol Road. The convenient Holiday Inn Express Bath is a 10-minute walk to the elegant Pump Room at the Roman Baths and the Grade I-listed Royal Crescent. Learn how the city inspired one of England's favorite writers at nearby Jane Austen Centre. Kids love mini-safaris at Longleat's rambling estate, a 30-minute drive away. Wake up to sausages, baked beans, scrambled eggs and more as part of the free breakfast buffet and watch Bath come to life from the windows of the airy Great Room. Our friendly Front Desk team will give you information on day trips to Glastonbury and Stonehenge. 60 onsite parking spaces are available at a charge and allocated on a first come first served basis. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book direct with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bath Hotel Bath
Bath Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Bath

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Bath, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.