We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance and luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De Montalt Wood

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
De Montalt Wood
Save
You added De Montalt Wood to your Saves list
Summer Lane, Bath BA2 7EU, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Tea & Cakes on Arrival
Ranked #37 of 193 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Elegance and luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The reviews are not wrong - this B&B was outstanding and the best we have experienced. Ann and Charles are truly wonderful and welcoming hosts and as previous reviewers suggest, we left feeling that we had made new friends. From the magnificent gardens to the sumptuous room (complete with large bathroom), the attention to detail was superb. We could not recommend this B&B more highly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peregrinans, Owner at De Montalt Wood, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Meredith and Rob: You booked your stay with us, a long time in advance, all the way from Australia, when we had only been open for 2 months. I am so pleased we justified your faith in us.

I wish you had stayed a little longer and I could have had the chance, Meredith, to hear you accompany yourself to an Aria or little Lieder on the grand piano! Rob, I hope you take some great photos back with you.

Thank you for taking the trouble to send us a lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
34
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

De Montalt Wood had been recommended to us by our son as a fabulous place to stay. We went a couple of weeks ago and everything we had been told about the place was true - and more! We were welcombed warmly by Ann and Charles (and Piddles their little dog) and invited down to the lounge to have a cup of tea once we had unpacked. We were then treated to homemade cake and biscuits - yummy! The house is beautiful with many lovely features befitting a house built in 1884. The bedroom and bathroom were large, elegant and very tastfully fitted - the bed was one of the most comfortable we have ever slept on! Everything about our stay was fantastic - from the tea tray in the bedroom (complete with chocolates) to the out of this world breakfast, with homemade jam! We only had 2 nights here but wished it had been longer. We left feeling that not only had we been pampered and refreshed - we had made 2 new friends in Ann and Charles! We will be back.....!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peregrinans, Owner at De Montalt Wood, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Lynda, thank you so much for your lovely review. It is easy to “Pamper” guests when, like you and David, they are so friendly and appreciative. Having enjoyed the occasion of your son staying with us, it was fun to meet the parents , too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed here with friends over a wedding weekend, and must confess that I thought De Montalt Wood would be just 'one of the B&Bs' on the invitation directory. From the moment I arrived, it was clear I was very wrong indeed. I have stayed in a number of smart bed and breakfasts around the UK, and can say that this was leagues ahead of any I have sampled. The pre, peri and post stay service delivered by the effortlessly charming Charles and Ann was impeccably slick and quite simply 7-star. I stayed in the Tulip Room which is tastefully and recently decorated, with charming 'old English' furnishings combined with state of the art fixtures and fittings in both the bedroom and bathroom. The bed (super king) was possibly the most comfortable I have ever slept in, and bathroom was spacious and spotless; with modern fittings and Molton Brown smellies in the bath/shower.

Breakfast really does deserve a special mention. Taken in their jolly smart dining room, we ate like kings! There is a self-service table for 'starters', comprising delicious home-grown rhubarb compote, fresh fruit, seeds, nuts, cereals and juices. We all opted without hesitation for the Full English - enough to satisfy any appetite, and all locally sourced and simply delicious ingredients. Eggs to order, sausage, bacon, fried bread, mushrooms, tomatoes on the vine, and the most amazing black pudding.

I have never written a TripAdvisor review in my life, but this place really does deserve a special mention, and I can highly recommend it to anyone wishing to explore Bath and its surrounding countryside. I will definitely be returning in the very near future!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Have just returned from a night at De Montalt Wood and i only wish we had stayed longer. From the moment we arrived to the moment we sadly had to leave we were looked after so well and couldn't have asked for better hospitality! The room was large and elegant and the bed was unbelievably comfortable. Certainly the best breakfast i have ever had, the rhubarb compote was delicious and the full English with the award winning black pudding was on a new level. Charles and Ann made us feel so welcome and we will certainly be returning here soon. I couldn't recommend De Montalt Wood more highly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We just returned from a fantastic stay at De Montalt Wood under the hospitality of Charles and Ann, a lovely couple who made us feel very welcome and well looked after. Everything about our stay was magical- (the beautiful yet modern room), the surroundings, the history and the warmness of our hosts. The place oozed Englishness with lots of little touches (my favourite Green and Blacks chocolate & lovely lavender shower gel) and felt like a real English experience. Highly recommended for those wanting to relax and get away from it all as well as those wanting a real UK experience.

Room Tip: Be quick to book as there are only a few rooms available- hence making it a relaxing place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peregrinans, Owner at De Montalt Wood, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you Sandra, your infectious enthusiasm makes our vocation for being in the Bed and Breakfast business all the more worthwhile.

It was a real pleasure to have you both. If Iddles our Jack Russell could speak he would say so too!

So glad the rain held off for you canal-side trip up the Avon valley to Bradford-on-Avon and thank you for your feedback.

We hope to see you again before too long.

Best wishes

Charles and Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London uk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Sadly, my daughter and I, only spent one night in this beautiful, historical house. We were welcomed by Charles who showed us to our large, light and luxurious Tulip bedroom with a pristene en suite bathroom of great modern style. Anne, who has a history of excellence in the field of hospitality, provided a deliciously home made breakfast and both Charles and Anne were hugely accommodating from the moment we arrived. We will most certainly return to this delightful oasis.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of two rooms on offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peregrinans, Owner at De Montalt Wood, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you so much for you lovely review.

It was a great pleasure to welcome you both. Ann and I we were most flattered and gratified by your friendly enthusiam.

We do hope you will drop by again to our "delightful oasis" and, on your next visit, will have time to tarry a little longer!

Best wishes

Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

This is a beautiful house set back in several acres of grounds (including the surrounding woods as we were informed). The hosts were so very welcoming and really could not do enough - they obviously enjoy getting to know their guests. My girlfriend and I had come to Bath for a long weekend, and finding this nice intimate B&B (there are only two guest rooms) added a lot to our enjoyment of our trip. No expense has been spared on the room, from the super-king size bed to the his-and-hers sinks and a fantastic "large-head" shower. The breakfast was something special too - there was a large choice and good quality ingredients. We're sorely tempted to go back to Bath simply to stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Tulip Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to De Montalt Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Montalt Wood

Address: Summer Lane, Bath BA2 7EU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful period house built in 1848 completely refurbished for our new B & B venture January 2012. 2 Elegant Bedrooms, spacious and South facing each with their own exclusive luxury Bathrooms. Having previously owned an award winning hotel, we know how to give our customers a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Standing in our own 17 acres of woods and garden and yet we are only 10 minutes from the centre of Bath. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Montalt Wood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.