We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and drinks with a view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jacob's Coffee House

Jacob's Coffee House
6 Abbey Churchyard, Bath BA1 1LY, England
01225 758132
Improve this listing
Ranked #82 of 459 Restaurants in Bath
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Bedford, UK.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food and drinks with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We've eaten here a few times and although its expensive, you get what you pay for. The drinks and the food are delicious. This time I washed my food down with a superfood smoothie. Utterly devine! And the big plus for my wife who is pregnant, is that they do non chemical decaf coffee!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    29
    3
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great selection of cake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Lovely coffee House situated right in the centre of the main tourist area. The cake choice here is great, so hard to choose. Delicious cake, lovely seating area, didn't feel rushed at all and great for people watching!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great coffee & croissants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Have had coffee a few times here and it never disappoints. Great coffee, friendly staff & great selection of cakes. This morning we had the ham & cheese croissants. Absolutely delicious. Had to hold myself back from eating another one!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Three of us stopped in on a very cold but sunny day. Were looking for a good warm up and boy, did we find it! The hot chocolate was absolutely fantastic! Thick, rich, creamy and not too sweet. It was like drinking a gourmet chocolate bar. All the pastries looked fabulous! We all tried something different and everyone was please. I understand they have an upstairs with a great view of the center of Bath. Will have to check that out next time. The place is cute and cozy and the service was friendly and fast and excellent! Hope I get to come backs someday!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best coffee I've ever had.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Yes yes yes, it's expensive and usually quite busy but you do get some of the best views in Bath. Most importantly though, and I write this as someone who has made a habit of drinking every different kind of coffee I can lay my hands on, particularly in cafes, around the UK, and around the world, and who must be approaching the tens of thousands in terms of number of cups drunk, that the cup of hot, black single-estate super-dooper (the expensive stuff) coffee that I had here was THE BEST CUP OF COFFEE I HAVE EVER DRUNK. So to sum up, fantastic coffee, incredible views, does anything else really matter?

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jacob's Coffee House also viewed

 

Been to Jacob's Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jacob's Coffee House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.