We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some say to survive it: You need to be as mad as a hatter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mad Hatter's Tea Party

The Mad Hatter's Tea Party
5 Orange Grove, Bath BA1 1LP, England
+44 1225 466733
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 43 Coffee & Tea in Bath
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Step into Wonderland and join the Tea Party. Come and join us for breakfast, lunch or afternoon tea in our quirky, friendly tea room. A favourite with visitors to Bath, we pride ourselves on a welcoming atmosphere; delightful homemade food and lovingly handcrafted cakes and scones. We cater for all types of Hatters and welcome everyone who has a love of good food and a bit of a quirky side. Located behind the Abbey, we are away from the bustle of the high street. So come and join the friendly staff for a truly Mad Hatter Tea Party.
Traralgon, Australia
Top Contributor
286 reviews 286 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
461 helpful votes 461 helpful votes
“Some say to survive it: You need to be as mad as a hatter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Imagine my delight when I found this café in Bath. I HAD to go inside and explore. It's terribly quaint , with beautiful paraphernalia to remind you of Lewis Carroll's book. I had tea and sandwiches here and both were presented in a delightful manner on mismatched crockery, which simply added to the experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    45
    17
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Small and sweet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stopped here for a very late lunch on our first day in Bath. There wasn't much choice for a sandwich with it being so late but what we did have was very nice...as was the cake afterwards! They have a good choice of teas and coffee and the waitress was very down to earth with us. Only a small place so a bit of a tight squeeze as was the toilet area. Able to use the Big Ben Discount card to get our cakes at a reduced price.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Tea and Scones with cream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Very small space inside, but we enjoyed the Tea and scones with cream. We were there with premium tours and our guide recommended them, we were not disappointed. It was our first tea and scones with cream and we left happy, service was friendly and cheerful.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice host and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

It's a small tea house in Bath, with a good variety of delicious dishes and a very friendly host, which makes the time spent there enjoyable and worthy.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Was recommended by Tastecard so popped in for afternoon tea. Fantastic service provided and cheerful conversation from Darren even when he was dealing with a difficult customer. More than happy to support independent tea shops like this

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mad Hatter's Tea Party also viewed

 

Been to The Mad Hatter's Tea Party? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mad Hatter's Tea Party, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.