We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Evening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portvcale Lounge - CLOSED

Portvcale Lounge
43 St James Parade, Bath BA1 1UQ , England
01225424321
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $11 - $27
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Welcome to Portvcale Lounge, a relaxed and laid back Portuguese restaurant/bar in the centre of the world heritage city of Bath. It's family run and the food is freshly cooked by the mother. Traditional "petiscos" and cataplanas as well as other main dishes like "bacalhau a Bras" or "Frango Piri Piri", followed by a exquisite list of wines from the North, Centre and South of Portugal. Also to try are the different types of Sangria (Red, White and Champagne)and the different freshly baked desserts on offer daily.Come and indulge yourself to one of the oldest gastronomies in the world...the Portuguese.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fantastic Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Warm, friendly, family run restaurant.

Amazing tasty food and the chef really cares about if you have enjoyed yourself and her food (such a rare occurrence in this day). We were made very welcome right from the start and although some things were not available from the tapas menu there was still plenty of choice.

Service was fast, the food was delicious and hot when served and I will definitely be back for more....and a chocolate pudding which the chef promises to be amazing which I'm sure it will be.

I would definitely recommend a visit to this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    33
    18
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
exeter
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a lovely place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We were warmly welcomed from mum (Ines) at the start of a lovely lunchtime meal. Antonio, her son followed up with a really useful introduction to Portuguese food and wines. The food was clearly freshly cooked using produce they knew well and recipes that seemed traditional. We asked them to recommend what we should eat and that worked very well. The starter - crab with a hint of whiskey was gorgeous. This was followed by pork and clams, a classic with the pork cooked just right, mussels, stuffed peppers and baked salt cod. All really good and just right for lunchtime. The wines worked very well with the food. Thank you so much!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent food and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Don't be put off by the location, as the food is home cooked by the Portuguese mum and served by her son who is chatty and friendly, and enthusiastic about the food and the wine. Although a couple of things on the menu weren't available, there was still plenty of choice. We shared 6 starters between 2 of us, which made for a very good meal. Although we did order puddings, mum had gone home by then and puds were from the fridge, but still delicious. We enjoyed our evening here more than our lunch at a well reviewed Italian restaurant the next day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlonaK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely food, nice to have an authentic Portuguese restaurant in Bath”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is a family-run restaurant - mum is the cook and son is the waiter. The food has a home cooked feel about it and is delicious. The drinks are also great. We ordered lots of 'tapas' and shared, and enjoyed every single dish. The service is very friendly, not to mention child friendly.

In the evening, it has the feel of a bar, with great cocktails, so I would also recommend it for relaxed drinks, with a few delicious tapas on the side of course!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and great owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Went with my husband on our overnight trip to Bath. The hotel concierge recommended this place to us, and it was a great find! We went for lunch and chose from the tapas menu. All four of our dishes were phenomenal and the chocolate mousse for dessert was fantastic. For lunch the special is two tapas for under ten pounds whoa drink. Definitely worth it. Plus we got some amazing conversation with Antonio and his mother who are the owners. Will definitely come here next time we are in Bath.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portvcale Lounge also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portvcale Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.